Home Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on Cyclingnews.com

Dauphiné Libéré
Photo ©: Sirotti

 MTB index page for all MTB content

2nd Wildside MTB - NE

Tasmania, Australia, February 1-4, 2003

Main Page    Results    Previous Stage    Next Stage

Stage 4 - February 2: Montezuma Falls, 28 km

Taberley still leads; Patterson looks unstoppable

Day two of Wildside MTB saw a few thrills and spills as competitors tackled the toughest stage of the event in the morning with some steep declines in the Stirling Valley.

Riders encountered very fast sweeping tracks in stage two with spectacular scenery through Montezuma Falls and were challenged by muddy and wet track conditions.

In stark contrast to yesterday it was hot and they were hurting, but still smiling at the finish from the sheer adventure.

A total of 40 gruelling kilometres were covered in total over the two competition stages and 12 kilometres in the cruising to reach Zeehan on the west coast of Tasmania.

Sid Taberlay (Tas) continued his winning streak taking out stage three, but he couldn't get pass Paul Rowney (NSW) in stage four who took line honours by just one second.

Eleanor Patterson (Tas) appears unstoppable in the women's section and has now won all four stages over the two days of competition.

In the men's under 23 category Trent Lowe (Vic) has shown fine form today winning both stages of his category.

Sid Taberlay still remains overall race leader at this stage with the conclusion of day two.

The action continues tomorrow as riders' head through to Spray Tunnel and Granville Harbour, which includes a 200m long tunnel through a hill especially, lit for the occasion.


1 Paul Rowney (NSW)            1.00.04
2 Sid Taberlay (TAS)              0.01
3 Garth Hennessy (NSW)            0.32
Men Under 23
1 Trent Lowe (VIC)             1.01.29
2 Jai Crawford (TAS)              0.06
3 Peter Hatton (NSW)              2.49
Men Open
1 Paul Rowney (NSW)            1.00.04
2 Sid Taberlay (TAS)              0.01
3 Garth Hennessy (NSW)            0.32
Men Masters
1 Rob Eva (VIC)                1.06.52
2 Saul Britton (NSW)              5.10
3 Darren Cook (TAS)               6.19
Men Veterans
1 Hans Dielacher (VIC)         1.12.27
2 Brian Scarborough (SA)          5.50
3 Kerry Ryan (VIC)                6.22
Women Under 23
1 Julie Borschmann (VIC)       1.32.31
2 Sam Jesney (TAS)                7.07
3 Rowena Headlam (TAS)           14.06
Women Open
1 Eleanor Patterson (TAS)      1.15.11
2 Jaci Low (SA)                   0.40
3 Rosemary King                   4.58