Home Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on Cyclingnews.com

Mt Hood Classic
Photo ©: Swift

 MTB index page for all MTB content

NORBA national series #1 (NE)

Big Bear, California, May 10-12, 2002

Main Page   

Day 3 - May 11: Downhill

Another one for Chausson; Kovarik leads Aus/NZ blitz

By Rob Karman

No surprises as Anne Caroline Chausson (Volvo/Cannondale) won the women's downhill race handily by six seconds over her countrywoman Sabrina Jonnier (Intense). American favorite Missy Giove (Global) qualified first, but had trouble from the get go in the final and could only muster 19th.

In the men's race many of the top favorites slid out in the second to last turn. Some commented that it had been watered down in practice and was therefore tackier than it was in the final. Top qualifier Chris Kovarik had no trouble with it though and bettered his qualifying time by two seconds. The startlingly quick Aussie was one of five Australasians in the top ten - four Aussies and Kiwi John Kirkcaldie.



1 Anne-Caroline Chausson (Volvo/Cannondale)   3.27.82
2 Sabrina Jonnier (Intense)                   3.34.11
3 Marla Streb (Luna Women)                    3.34.65
4 Tracy Moseley (Kona)                        3.35.07
5 Lisa Sher (Chumba Wumba)                    3.36.77
6 April Lawyer (Maxxis)                       3.37.70
7 Tara Llanes (Yeti/Pearl Izumi)              3.38.79
8 Vanessa Quin (Intense)                      3.39.60
9 Kathy Pruitt (Zeal Optics)                  3.40.28
10 Tai-Lee Muxlow (Dirtworks)                 3.40.65
1 Chris Kovarik (Intense)                     3.08.00
2 John Kirkcaldie (Maxxis)                    3.10.40
3 Dustin Adams (Giant)                        3.11.60
4 Jared Rando (Foes/Azonic)                   3.12.00
5 Mick Hannah (Haro/Lee Dungarees)            3.12.90
6 Colin Bailey (Maxxis Tires)                 3.13.20
7 Myles Rockwell (Giant)                      3.13.70
8 Eric Carter (Mongoose/Hundyai)              3.14.60
9 Joel Panozzo (SunRace/Santa Cruz)           3.14.70
10 Nathan Rankin (Foes/Azonic)                3.15.00

back to top