Competitive Cyclist
Full Speed Ahead
3T Designs

USA Cycling Mountain Bike National Championships - CN

Mt. Snow, Vermont, USA, July 17-22, 2008

Main Page    Results   Overall standings            Previous Race  Next Race

Race 19 - Sunday, July 20: Elite men short track  

Bishop wins his second USA championship

By Dave McElwaine in West Dover, Vermont

Jeremiah Bishop (Trek/VW)
Photo ©: Dave McElwaine
(Click for larger image)

Jeremiah Bishop (Trek/VW) won the national title at Mount Snow in a tactical battle with the country's best short track racers. Barry Wicks (Kona) rode a very smart race to finish second while Carl Decker (Giant) rode in third. Decker narrowly beat Jeremy Horgan Kobelski (Gary Fisher/Subaru), and his team-mate Adam Craig in a sprint finish.

"I got the hole shot and after we settled in the first lap my heart rate came down," said Bishop. "I then had some chances to attack. I attacked once and it didn't work. Then I saw Ryan (Trebon) was a little closer to us and I said one more."

Bishop also won the United States of America National Marathon Championship two weeks ago in Breckinridge, Colorado. Earlier in the season he had raced in the Cape Epic on the African continent, a race that took him a very long time to recover from. Bishop's World Cup season was so disappointing that he pulled the plug on going to the World Championships in Italy last month.

Adam Craig (Giant)
Photo ©: Dave McElwaine
(Click for larger image)

Bishop took some time off to regroup and recover. Ever since he came back to racing, he has had some of the best form of his life.

Trebon went off the front of the race, as is often the case. However this time Bishop decided not to waste his energy closing down the gap. "I did the least amount of chasing today of the three short tracks I have done this year," said Bishop.

Wicks benefited from team-mate Trebon's early attack. "When Ryan went it gave me an excuse to sit in which is pretty nice," he said. "Luckily, even when we brought him back and Jeremiah attacked, Adam was dead set on riding on the front.

"Then with three laps to go I said it was now or never," added Wicks.

How it unfolded

Podium (L-R): Jeremy Horgan Kobelski (Gary Fisher/Subaru), Barry Wicks (Kona), Jeremiah Bishop (Trek/VW),
Photo ©: Dave McElwaine
(Click for larger image)

Trebon attacked at the gun and Todd Wells (GT/Pacific) took up the chase for a several laps. Decker, Wicks, Colin Carres (U-23 National Team), and Craig were chasing hard behind.

Giant team-mates Decker and Craig could be seen working together in the chase group by lap six. Bishop began to make his presence known as he moved up from the back of the group. Bishop led the chase one lap later and tried to close down a 300 foot gap to Trebon.

The lead had shrunk to 200 feet by lap nine and behind Trebon, it was Decker leading the charge with Wicks, Craig, Horgan-Kobelski, and Bishop, who had slipped to the back of the group. Trebon gave up the lead a lap later, allowing the race to come back together.

Bishop almost immediately counter-attacked and opened a 150 foot lead over Craig, Decker, Wicks, and Horgan-Kobelski. Trebon was riding in sixth place at this point. Craig could be heard asking the other chasers for help pulling with two laps remaining. During a temporary slowdown, Trebon again attached himself to the back of the group.

Wicks successfully attacked the chasers on lap 14 and sailed on to second place behind Bishop. Decker got around the final 180 degree bend in front of the other chasers, beating both Horgan-Kobelski and Craig to the line to take third place.


For a thumbnail gallery of these images, click here

Images by Dave McElwaine/www.trailwatch.net

Images by Jamie Lau/www.jamielau.com


1 Jeremiah Bishop (USA) Trek/VW                      24.16
2 Barry Wicks (USA) Kona                              0.08
3 Carl Decker (USA) Giant MTB Team                    0.11
4 Jeremy Horgan-Kobelski (USA) Subaru-Gary Fisher     0.13
5 Adam Craig (USA) Giant MTB Team                     0.19
6 Ryan Trebon (USA) Kona                              0.32
7 Ross Schnell (USA) Trek/VW                          0.37
8 Sam Schultz (USA) Subaru-Gary Fisher                0.39
9 Cody Peterson (USA) Scott Bicycles                  0.40
10 Samuel Koerber (USA) Gary Fisher 29Er Crew         0.42
11 Tim Allen (USA) Voodoo                             0.46
12 Andy Schultz (USA) Kenda Titus Hayes               0.58
13 Jesse Lalonde (USA) Gary Fisher 29/T6/Bkb              
14 James Driscoll (USA) Floridifrutta                     
15 Colin Cares (USA) U23 National Team                    
16 Tad Elliott (USA) U23 National Team                    
17 Robert Marion (USA) Kenda Titus                        
18 Thomas Turner (USA) Outspokin Bicycles                 
19 Troy Wells (USA) Tokyo Joes                            
20 Ben Thompson (USA) Sobe-Cannondale                     
21 Travis Livermon (USA) Kobold Watch Comp                
22 Mcconnell Franklin (USA) Team Devo                     
23 Marko Lalonde (USA) Gary Fisher 29/Bkb/T6              
24 Michael Broderick (USA) Kenda/Seven Cycles             
25 Christian Favata (USA) Favatas Table Rock              
26 Travis Woodruff (USA) Momentumendurance.Com            
27 Chris Peariso (USA) Adventure 212 /Titus               
28 Mitchell Hoke (USA) Tokyo Jos                          
29 Stephen Ettinger (USA) Black Diamond Sports Therapy    
30 Charles Pendry (USA) Inland - Btd                      
31 Dana Weber (USA) Trek VW/Westcoast                     
32 Ethan Gilmour (USA) U23 National MTB Team              
33 Mike Phillips (USA) Adventure 212/Specialized          
34 Ryan Woodall (USA) Industrynine/Powerbar               
35 Kyle Hammaker (USA)                                    
36 Kevin Bradford-Parish (USA) Lapierrebikes.Com          
37 Michael Simonson (USA) Bells Brewery/Quiring Cycles    
38 Blake Zumbrunnen (USA) Revolution/Crank Bros           
39 Alex Grant (USA) Rocky Mountain Bicycles               
40 Bryan Alders (USA) Mona-Vie/Cannondale                 
41 James Williams (USA) Sobe/Cannondale                   
42 Bryan Fawley (USA) Park Place Lexus                    
43 Aaron Snyder (USA) Scotts Bikes                        
44 Spencer Paxson (USA) Team S&M Young Guns               
45 Mitchell Peterson (USA) Mona Vie/Cannondale            
46 Ryan Iddings (USA) Lapierre                            
47 Jay Richards (USA) Salsa/Maplelag Resort               
48 Menso De Jong (USA) Metromint Cycling/Santa Cruz       
49 Lucas Livermon (USA) Inland Construction               
50 Matt Rotroff (USA) Btd/Inland Construction             
51 Colin Osborn (USA) Team Bikeparts.Com                  
52 Alex Ryan (USA) Kobold/Cannondale                      
53 Matt Freeman (USA) Cyclery Usa/Gary Fisher             
54 Mike Joos (USA) Bikeman.Com                            
55 Dave Harrison (USA) Reddrox/Tamarack Resort            
56 Greg Carpenter (USA) Devo                              
DNS Drew Edsall (USA) Endurancefactor.Com/Scott           
DNS Jeff Schalk (USA) Trek VW- East                       
DNS Erik Tonkin (USA) Kona Les Gets                       
DNS Sam Jurekovic (USA) U23 National Team                 
DNF Todd Wells (USA) Gt Bikes                             
DNF Chris Peterson (USA) Devo                             

Back to top