Home Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  
Ride Home


Competitive Cyclist
Chain Reaction
Full Speed Ahead
Look Cycle

2003 Red Bull Ride

Australia, January 19 - 24, 2003

The world's toughest freeride mountain bike course just got tougher

When most people see a 30 foot drop, they peer over the edge, take in the view, and then carefully back away. Next week in Jindabyne, Australia, 27 of the world's best freeriders and downhillers will see that drop and ride off it.

The RedBull Ride will give the riders a chance to take home a part of the AU$15,000 on offer, with AU$6000 for first place, for those willing to risk life and bike on an all new course.

"The new course has got a whole lot of street style urban features, like stunts, and a mix of natural rocky terrain similar to last year," says course co-designer Mike Atkins. "They're gonna get tested, let me tell you!"

The new track is longer and more technical, with a 30-foot vertical drop, a 45-foot step down gap, rhythm jumps, wall rides and a sled saw - a giant moving see-saw on rails that's never been seen before in mountain biking. Thirteen ultra-technical sections of scaffolding, dirt and rock will test bike, rider and paramedics to see who will take home first place.

The invitation only even has riders such as Cedric Gracia, World Cup Downhill Champion Steve Peat and Robbie Bourdon taking on the Aussie contingent that includes Sean McCarroll, Nathan Rennie, John Waddell and Junior World's Champion Sam Hill. 11 judges will observe the untimed event through binoculars, allowing them to view the entire course. Although they might have trouble seeing 16 year old Kyle Strait, who has managed to make the trip thanks to new sponsor Haro Bikes and his parents, who have organised home schooling to allow him to compete internationally.

Start list

   Ben Cory (Australia)
   Danny Mills (Australia)
   Dave McLaughlin (Australia)
   Grant Allen (Australia)
   Jared Rando (Australia)
   John Waddell (Australia)
   Justin Havukainen (Australia)
   Nathan Rennie (Australia)
   Sam Hill (Australia)
   Sean McCarroll (Australia)
   Shane Wode (Australia)
   Steve Marsh (Australia)
   Clinton Williams (New Zealand)
   Robbie Bourdon (Canada)
   Darren Berrecloth (Canada)
   David Watson (Canada)
   Gareth Dyer (Canada)
   Richie Schley (Canada)
   Thomas Vanderham (Canada)
   Tyler Klassen (Canada)
   Shaums March (USA)
   Kyle Strait (USA)
   Cedric Gracia (France)
   Steve Peat (UK)
   Stijn Deferm (Belgium)
   Timo Pritzel (Germany)
   Tetsuhiro Hanyu (Japan)

Past Winners

2002 1st Andrew Mills (Australia), 2nd Wade Simmons (Canada), 3rd John Waddell (Australia)