Home Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on Cyclingnews.com

Bayern Rundfahrt
Photo ©: Schaaf

 MTB index page for all MTB content

Chequamegon Fat Tire Festival - NE

Wisconson, USA, September 15 - 16, 2007


Lalonde and Zander win Chequamegon 40

Jesse Lalonde (Gary Fisher 29/BKB) made history by winning the Chequamegon 40 on a singlespeed. He powered away from his competition on the final hard climbs and finished at Telemark Resort solo, in the lead, ahead of former champions Brian Matter (PCW/Trek) and Steve Tilford (HRRC/Trek).

Lalond also rode a 29er - he had selected a 36-16 gear. "It was only a matter of time," Lalonde said about his singlespeed win according to a press release from the promoter. Lalonde's younger brother Marko also rode a singlespeed to a fourth place finish.

In the women's race, Susan Haywood (Trek/VW), who was leading much of the race with a 30 second advantage, faded in the closing miles and was overtaken by Jenna Zander (Cannondale). Team-mate Lea Davison (Trek/VW) also caught the duo with half a kilometer to go, but she ended up in third.

"It was a super strategic race," said Travis Brown (Trek/VW) who rode a cyclo-cross bike in the event. "It would string out, then regroup, like a road race." The course was reportedly fast, which kept the men's pack together for much of the race. The top three women also finished within 15 seconds of each other.

Cable Crit and Rough Stuff races

The Cable Criterium and the Rough Stuff races were also held over the weekend. Doug Swanson (Trek / VW) won his fifth edition of the criterium by attacking hard and racing solo to the finish. Swanson holds the fastest record time for the Chequamegon 40 was riding strong Sunday after struggling Saturday. "I was happy I could pull it off today," Swanson said. "Yesterday, I felt good for about ten minutes at a time."

Jesrin Gaier (Specialized) beat Swanson's team-mate Tristan Schouten for second. "I was feeling good the last two laps," said Gaier of his ride in the miss-and-out style race. Earlier in the day, Schouten had defeated Swanson in the qualifying race's final sprint. Schouten is the only rider to beat Swanson in the Cable Criterium since 2001.

Jenna Zander (Bear Naked/Cannondale) also won the women's criterium ahead of Kyia Malenkovich (Headmethod/Cannondale) by half a second and SyRae Welkie.

John Manders won the Rough Stuff orienteering event ahead of Michael Gerke, who has done all of the 25 Chequamegon Fat Tire Festivals. Gerke has won the race four times in the past. Melissa Dupke took the women's event by over 20 minutes.


Chequamegon 40

Men Overall
1 Jesse Lalonde (Gary Fisher 29/BKB)       2.11.50
2 Brian Matter (PCW Cycling)                  0.07
3 Steve Tilford (HRRC/Trek)                   0.13
4 Marko Lalonde (Gary Fisher 29/BKB)          0.14
5 Jeff Hall (Salsa)                           0.17
6 Travis Brown (Trek/VW)                      0.33
7 Cole House (Endeavor Cycles)                0.38
8 Ian Stanford (A&F Pro Development)          0.44
9 Mike Phillips (Alterra/Specialized)         0.49
10 Chris Peariso                              0.53
Women Overall
1 Jenna Zander (Bear Naked/Cannondale)     2.26.01
2 Susan Haywood (Trek/VW)                     0.08
3 Lea Davison (Trek/VW)                       0.12
4 Kyia Malenkovich (Headmethod/Cannondale)    2.01
5 Sara Kylander-Johnson (Trek/VW)             2.59
Cable Criterium

1 Doug Swanson (Trek/VW)                      7.20
2 Jesrin Gaier (Specialized)                  0.02
3 Tristan Schouten (Trek/VW)                  0.04
1 Jenna Zander (Bear Naked/Cannondale)        4.46
2 Kyia Malenkovich (Headmethod/Cannondale)    0.01
3 SyRae Welkie                                0.34
Rough Stuff Rendezvous

1 John Manders                               40.25
2 Michael Gerke                               3.06
3 Ken Statz                                   3.15

1 Melissa Dupke                              45.16
2 Pam Dercks                                 23.36
3 Amy Statz                                  27.08