Home Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on Cyclingnews.com

Mont Ventoux
Photo ©: Sirotti

 MTB index page for all MTB content

MTB World Cup DH 4X #1 - CDM

Vigo, Spain, May 11-13, 2007

Main Page    Results   Overall standings    Previous Stage   Next Stage

Stage 6 - May 12: 4X Elite men final

Gee, what a race!

By Greg Johnson

Great Britain's Gee Atherton (Animal Commencal)
Photo ©: Frank Bodenmuller
(Click for larger image)

British rider Gee Atherton made the most of his rivals' misfortune to take an impressive victory in the Elite Men's 4X final. The Animal Commencal team rider used the simplest of tactics, which his world champion rivals couldn't replicate, to win the event: that tactic was to stay upright.

The pace was hot from the get-go, with Atherton bursting into the lead by the first corner with multiple world champion Brian Lopes and reigning world champion Michael Prokop close behind. Some 20,000 spectators turned out for the event at Vigo's spectacular new 4X circuit and the riders didn't fail to impress, putting on a nail biting and crash-ridden final.

American Brian Lopes goes down hard...
Photo ©: Frank Bodenmuller
(Click for larger image)

"The circuit is very fast and, because of that, there were too many falls," said eventual winner Atherton. "To gain, I took advantage of Michal Prokop's error in the final."

Prokop ended any hopes he held of winning the event after a spectacular fall from grace which saw the Czech Republican rider hit the ground after miscalculating a jump. He wasn't the only lead rider to bite the dust, with American Lopes also feeling gravity's effect in full force in a spectacular multi-rider tumble. The duo recovered to finished third and second respectively.

"I jumped too long and I could not control the fall," explained Prokop of his incident.

Gravity Group's Netherlands rider Joost Wichman was the four rider across the line.

France's Aurelien Giordanengo showed off
Photo ©: Frank Bodenmuller
(Click for larger image)

After being the second quickest qualifier for the event, Australia's Jared Graves finished one step off the podium in sixth place. Top qualifier Dan Atherton (Animal Commencal) couldn't carry his opening form into a strong final result and finished the event in 13th place.


For a thumbnail gallery of these images, click here

Images by Maria Muina

Images by Frank Bodenmuller/PhotoSport International


1 Gee Atherton (GBr) Animal Commencal                               
2 Brian Lopes (USA)                                                 
3 Michal Prokop (Cze)                                               
4 Joost Wichman (Ned) Gravity Group                                 
5 Romain Saladini (Fra)                                             
6 Jared Graves (Aus)                                                
7 Roger Rinderknecht (Swi)                                          
8 Will Longden (GBr) Team Mbuk Santacruz                            
9 Johannes Fischbach (Ger) Ghost International Racing Team          
10 Sidney Gerber (Swi)                                              
11 Michael Hannah (Aus) Cannondale The Cut                          
12 Dominik Gspan (Swi)                                              
13 Dan Atherton (GBr) Animal Commencal                              
14 Kamil Tatarkovic (Cze) Kona Les Gets                             
15 Guido Tschugg (Ger) Ssangyong-Fusion Pro Team                    
16 Tomas Slavik (Cze)                                               
17 Filip Polc (Svk) Gravity Group                                   
18 Jurg Meijer (Ned) Dolphin Bike Team                              
19 Scott Beaumont (GBr) Rocky Mountain Uk                           
20 Camille Beaulieu (Fra)                                           
21 Daniel Auerswald (Ger)                                           
22 William Evans (GBr)                                              
23 Borja Carrasco Morera (Spa)                                      
24 Lewis Lacey (GBr)                                                
25 Aurelien Giordanengo (Fra)                                       
26 Adrian Kiener (Swi)                                              
27 Martin Ogden (GBr) Stendec Racing                                
28 Daniel Yeomans (GBr)                                             
29 Robin Wallner (Swe)                                              
30 Carmine Falco (Fra)                                              
31 Antonio Ferreiro Pajuelo (Spa) Massi                             
32 Rafael Alvarez De Lara Lu (Spa)                                  
33 Greg Minnaar (RSA) Team G-Cross Honda                            
34 Lukas Mechura (Cze)                                              
35 Christopher Van Dine (USA) Cannondale The Cut                    
36 Duncan Ferris (GBr)                                              
37 Luke Strom (Aus) Ssangyong-Fusion Pro Team                       
38 Premek Tajchman (Cze)                                            
40 Jordan Gould (GBr) Stendec Racing                                
41 Mario Sieder (Aut)                                               
42 Thomas Warmuth (Aut) Team Hotec / Rsp                            
43 Bostjan Volf (Slo) Arb? Rsp Downhill Racing Team                 
44 Patricio Herrero Dura (Spa)                                      
45 Nicolas Gspan (Swi)                                              
46 Daniel Prijkel (Ned)                                             
47 Sascha Meyenborg (Ger)                                           
48 Nathan Rennie (Aus) Santa Cruz Syndicate                         
49 Dave Wardell (GBr) Gt / Burgtec                                  
50 Georg Engel (Aut)                                                
51 Dimitri Jeziorek (Fra)                                           
52 Stephen Taylor (GBr) Stendec Racing                              
53 James Norton (GBr) Stendec Racing                                
54 Guido Dracone (Ita)                                              
56 Richard Cunynghame (GBr) Mtb-Direct.Co.Uk                        
58 Andrew Neethling (RSA)                                           
59 Cole Bangert (USA)                                               
60 Peter Fernbach (Aut) Arb? Rsp Downhill Racing Team               
61 Jesus Castellanos Torres (Spa)                                   
DNF Cedric Gracia (Fra)