Home Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on Cyclingnews.com

Giro finale
Photo ©: Bettini

 MTB index page for all MTB content

Oceania Mountain Bike Championships & Australian Open - CC

Thredbo, NSW, Australia, March 23-25, 2007

Main Page    Results    Previous Race   Next Race

Race 7 - March 25: Elite Under 23 Cross Country

Avery takes revenge in men's U23

Shaun Lewis was fourth in U23
Photo ©: Evan Jeffery
(Click for larger image)

In the Under 23 division New Zealand's Clinton Avery lead from start to finish to take out his first Oceania title. The Commonwealth Games representative completed the six laps in 1:58:09 to reverse last year's placing that saw Australian Shaun Lewis take out the title with Avery second.

Lewis looked to have second all sewn up until a wheel problem in the final lap saw the young rider loose about six minutes, causing him to finish a disappointing fourth.

Second was strong Victorian rider Daniel McConnell flying the flag for Australia with a ride of 2.01.29. Fellow teammate Lachlan Norris took a well deserved third.

U23 women shown up by U19 rider

The Under 23 women raced alongside Under 19 riders such as New Zealand's Samara Sheppard, who had an impressive time of 1.24:11 for three laps, a quicker time than the Under 23 riders who still had one extra lap to go.

The Under 23 winner after four laps was Australian Under 23 Cross Country Champion Lindsay Gorrell. South Australia's Terry Rhodes placed second.


Under 23 Men

1 Clinton Avery (NZl) Bike New Zealand                                          1.58.09
2 Daniel McConnell (Aus) SA.com MTB Team                                           3.20
3 Lachlan Norris (Aus) SA.com MTB Team                                             5.34
4 Shaun Lewis (Aus) SA.com MTB Team                                                7.30
5 James Maebus (Aus) Giant Bicycles, VIS, Michelin, BikeNOW, TEC Helmets, MUM      9.43
6 Ben Henderson (Aus) Mongoose Bikes                                              13.18
7 Daniel Johnston (Aus) Merida Bikes, Advance Traders, NTIS, Raceface Clothing    14.38
8 John Gray (NZl) Bike New Zealand                                                18.14
9 Joey Esterhuyzen (Aus) Western Sydney MTB Club                                  26.34

Under 23 Women

1 Lindsay Gorrell (Aus) McGee's Cycling Store, TREK, Clarence St Cyclery        1.59.06
2 Therese Rhodes (Aus) Jax Sport                                                   6.22