Home Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on Cyclingnews.com

Bayern Rundfahrt
Photo ©: Schaaf

 MTB index page for all MTB content

Oceania Mountain Bike Championships & Australian Open - CC

Thredbo, NSW, Australia, March 23-25, 2007

Main Page    Results    Previous Race   Next Race

Race 3 - March 24: Elite Under 19 Cross Country

Van der Ploeg dominates in Oceania U19 mens XCO

Paul Van Der Ploeg U19 menís
Photo ©: Evan Jeffery
(Click for larger image)

The Under 19 Olympic Cross Country riders headed out into heavy rain for their event. Mt Beauty's Paul van der Ploeg delivered yet another dominant display to claim the Oceania Championships Under 19 Men's title over five laps of a grueling Thredbo course.

In driving rain van der Ploeg led the field by almost two minutes after just one lap and, while his lap times gradually increased in comparison to Canberra's Nathan Hass's consistent laps, the reigning National Champion was never worried.

Hass was himself well clear of Peter Braunsteins, who spent the early laps in a battle for third with leading New Zealand rider Connor MacFarlane.

New Zealand's national champion, James Williamson, suffered in the wet conditions and was only able to finish seventh.

While the New Zealand team presented a polished squad in matching Silver Fern uniforms, it was unable to make any kind of dent on the outstanding performance of van der Ploeg, who remains unbeaten in the Under 19's division throughout the Australian season.


For a thumbnail gallery of these images, click here

Images by Evan Jeffery/www.evanjeffery.com.au


Under 19 Men

1 Paul Van Der Ploeg (Aus) Felt Bicycles, SRAM, Hutchinson                                      1.50.06
2 Nathan Haas (Aus) Orbea Australia, Actas                                                         1.46
3 Peter Braunsteins (Aus) Richmond cyclery                                                         2.26
4 Conor MacFarlane (NZl) Bike New Zealand                                                          4.07
5 Benjamin Dyball (Aus)                                                                            5.43
6 Jordan Blake (NZl) Bike New Zealand                                                              6.50
7 James Williamsonnz (NZl, Bike New Zealand                                                        8.46
8 Daniel Hallam (Aus) Advance Traders, Merida, Nerang Mountain Bike Club                           9.27
9 Scott Green (NZl) Bike New Zealand                                                               9.34
10 Alex McGregor (NZl) Bike New Zealand                                                           10.31
11 Luke Knox (Aus) Bendigo Bank Academy of Sport Villawood                                        12.56
12 Robbie Hucker (Aus) Cannondale maxxis mountain bike racing team, sram, sugoi, enervit, giro    13.38
13 Ashley Hough (NZl) Bike New Zealand                                                            14.17
14 Jonathan Coates (Aus)                                                                          15.39
15 Jarrad Burrell (Aus) Kalamunda Cycles                                                          18.12
16 George Bennett (NZl) Bike New Zealand                                                          23.02

Under 19 Women

1 Samara Sheppard (NZl) Bike New Zealand                                                        1.24.12
Two laps down
2 Kelly Hughes (Aus)                                                                            1.25.50
DNS Kate McMillan (Aus)