Home Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on Cyclingnews.com

Giro finale
Photo ©: Bettini

 MTB index page for all MTB content

Sunshine Cup #1 - 1

Larnaca, Cyprus, February 26, 2006

2005 results    Results

Beckingsale takes Sunshine Cup

Oli Beckingsale leads
Photo ©: Mike Hadjioannou
(Click for larger image)

British rider Oli Beckingsale (Giant Racing Team) was the winner of the Sunshine Cup 2 International MTB race in Cyprus. A field of 48 men and 19 women in the elite categories were present at the first MTB event in the island of Cyprus. The race conditions were very good, with sunshine and the temperature around 20 degrees. On the start line there were most of the best European riders and also riders form the USA looking to get in some racing before the North American season kicks off.

From the beginning the team mates in team Giant, Oli Beckingsale and Roel Paullisen led the race with Michael Weiss and Bart Brentjens chasing. Beckingsale was stronger and attacked Paullisen on the fast uphills to make a gap of some seconds which grew in the last lap. Behind also strong was the Dutch rider Bas Peters who finished 3rd. In the women Sabine Spitz left no chance for the others. She led the race form the beginning with Bernadine Boog chasing at a near distance. Third place was the Swiss Petra Henzi.


For a thumbnail gallery of these images, click here

Images by Mike Hadjioannou/www.bikincyprus.comm


Elite Men

1 Oli Beckingsale (GBr)           1.56.56
2 Roel Paulissen (Bel)               0.22
3 Bas Peters (Ned)                   0.34
4 Bart Brentjens (Ned)               0.59
5 Michael Weiss (Aut)                1.45
6 Karl Platt (Ger)                   3.13
7 Moritz Milatz (Ger)                3.33
8 Friedeman Schmude (Ger)            3.50
9 Stefan Sahm (Ger)                  3.53
10 Simon Richardson (GBr)            3.56
11 Rudi Van Houts (Ned)              4.37
12 Christof Bischof (Swi)            4.54
13 Jochen Kass (Ger)                 5.08
14 Magnus Darvell (Swe)              5.52
15 Sergiy Rysenko (Ukr)              7.33
16 Jeremy Horgan - Kobelski (USA)    8.13
17 Ian Field (GBr)                   8.30
18 Steffen Thum (Ger)
19 Bjorn Brems (Bel)                 8.40
20 Hans Becking (Ned)                9.47
21 Ruud Rentmeester (Ned)            9.54
22 Igor Bogdan (Ukr)                10.35
23 Dror Pekatch (Isr)               10.36
24 Oleksandr Yakymenko (Ukr)        12.01
25 Jochen Coconcelli (Ger)          12.34
26 Max Macdonald-Oste (Swe)         12.35
27 Marco Schatzing (Ger)            15.11
28 Quincy Vens (Bel)                15.43
29 George Fattas (Cyp)              15.58
30 Ian Bibby (GBr)                  16.14
31 Mikael Salomonsson (Swe)         16.20
32 Andi Weinhold (Ger)              18.46
One lap behind  
33 Tim Wijnants (Bel)
34 Marios Athanasiades (Cyp)
35 Nikodemos Protopapas (Cyp)
Two laps behind  
36 Per Kumlin (Swe)
37 Paul Beales (GBr)
38 Mehmet Sevinc (Tur)
Three laps behind  
39 Mehmet Silahsor (Tur)
40 Mustafa Cevdet (Tur)
DNF Frank Schotman (Ned)
DNF Steven Roach (GBr)
DNF William Cooper (GBr)
DNF Vladislavs Neroznaks (Lat)
DNF Jelmer Pietersma (Ned)
DNF Hannes Genze (Ger)
DNF Phil Spencer (GBr)
DNF Frank Lehmann (Ger)
Elite Women
1 Sabine Spitz (Ger)              1.52.43
2 Bernardine Boog (Ned)              0.42
3 Petra Henzi (Swi)                  3.05
4 Ariele Meurs Van (Ned)             4.10
5 Katrin Schwing (Ger)               7.19
6 Ivonne Kraft (Ger)                 8.12
7 Adelheid Morath (Ger)             10.58
8 Heather Irmiger (USA)             13.23
9 Elina Sophocleous (Cyp)           14.26
10 Ilke De Jongh (Bel)              16.14
11 Katrin Leumann (Swi)             16.31
12 Inbar Ronen (Isr)                54.17
One lap behind  
13 Liliya Zaytseva (Ukr)
14 Nataliya Krompets (Ukr)
15 Cassandra Perkins (USA)
Two laps behind  
16 Elena Aristidou (Cyp)
17 Serife Akcan (Tur)
Three laps behind  
18 Jelena Petrova (Lat)
19 Marina Theodorou (Cyp)