Home Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on Cyclingnews.com

Bayern Rundfahrt
Photo ©: Schaaf

 MTB index page for all MTB content

Pan-American Championships - C

Aguascalientes, Mexico, October 28 - 30, 2005


Seven Pan Am medals for U.S. mountain bikers

USA Cycling

The U.S. National Mountain Bike Team collected seven medals over the weekend – two of them gold – at the Pan American Mountain Bike Championships outside Mexico City.

Mary McConneloug (Chilmark, Mass.) rode to a Pan American Championship in the elite women's race to lead an all-American podium that included a silver medal performance from Kelli Emmett (Colorado Springs, Colo.) and a bronze medal effort from Willow Koerber (Ashville, N.C.).

"I was leading in the first lap and then flatted.  Kelli, Willow and the Canadian rider passed me, and it took me awhile to get back on.  Finally in the last lap I was able to pull ahead and get a little gap.  I am thrilled with the win and I think this was a great cultural experience for everyone." McConneloug said afterwards.

McConneloug clocked a time of one hour, 55 minutes over the 30km course to finish with a 51-second advantage over Emmett and a 1:40 buffer on Koerber. Chloe Forsman (Boulder, Colo.) earned a second Pan American title for the U.S. squad with a victory in the junior women's race. Forsman bested Ecuador's Alexandra Serrano by nearly four minutes in the 20km contest and worked her way into the 8th position of the elite women's race by the time she finished after starting two minutes behind the elite field.

In elite men's competition, reigning U.S. national champion Jeremy Horgan-Kobelski (Boulder, Colo.) rode to a silver medal behind winner Deiber Esquivel of Costa Rica while compatriot Michael Broderick (Chilmark, Mass.) captured the bronze, in what was essentially a four-man race between the top-three and Todd Wells of Durango, CO.  Wells proved he was in form for his upcoming cyclocross races by running his bike into fourth place after a mechanical in the last lap.

USA Cycling U23 National Team member Sam Schultz (Missoula, Mont.) rounded out the medal count for the U.S. squad with a silver medal in the men's U23 race. Schultz finished second to Emmanuel Valencia of Mexico.


Cross Country

Elite women
1 Mary McConneloug (USA)                     1.55.35
2 Kelli Emmet (USA)                             0.51
3 Williw Koerber (USA)                          1.40
4 Patricia Singlair (Canada)                    2.49
5 Catherine Prendel (Canada)                   20.16
6 Lorenza Morfin (Mexico)                      20.18
Junior women
1 Chloe Forsman (USA)                        1.24.54
2 Alexandra Serrano (Ecuador)                   3.44
3 Gabriela Placres (Mexico)                     4.26
4 Paula Quiroz (Chile)                          8.27
5 Karina Rubio (Mexico)                        10.28
Elite men
1 Deiber Esquivel (Costa Rica)               2.03.23
2 Jeremy Horgan-Kobelski (USA)
3 Michael Broderick (USA)
4 Todd Wells (USA)
Under 23 men
1 Emmanuel Valencia (Mexico)                 2.10.46
2 Sam Schultz (USA)
3 Max Plaxton (Canada)


1 Mexico
  (Octavio Vicente, Lorenza Morfin, Emmanuel Valencia y Carlos Mayoral)
2 Chile
  (Javier Puschel, Francisca Campos, Enrique Rivera y Cristóbal Silva)
3 Argentina
  (Sebastián Blanco, Noelia Rodríguez, Carlos Gennero y Dario Gasco)

Master 30

1 Valentín Herrera (Mexico)
2 Antonio Martín del Campo (Mexico)
3 Daniel Moreno (Venezuela)

Master 40

1 Luis Rosendo Ramos (Mexico)
2 Paul Becker (Mexico)
3 Francisco Mondragón (Mexico)

Down Hill

Elite Men

1 Mario Jarrin (Ecuador)                       2.40,406 (67.329 km/h)
2 Markolf Berchtold (Brasil)                   0.13,861
3 Antonio Leyva (Chile)                        0.18,390
4 Oscar Miguel Yunge (Chile)                   0.19,372
5 Santiago De Santiago (Argentina)             0.19,862
6 Sebastian Vazquez (Chile)                    0.21,981
7 Andres Sotomayor (Ecuador)                   0.25,398
8 Guillermo De Uslar (Mexico)                  0.26,506
9 José Luis Perez (Mexico)                     0.37,708
10 Javier Santiago (Argentina)                 0.39,283
11 Ivan Quintana (Ecuador)                     0.39,751
12 Abraham Luzania (Mexico)                    0.41,857
13 Pablo Cingolani (Argentina)                 0.43,087
14 Israel Gonzalez (Mexico)                    0.46,492
15 Diego Naranjo (Ecuador)                     0.49,638
16 Luis Felipe Caballero (Mexico)              0.55,547
17 Pedro Muriel (Mexico)                       1.12,620
18 Axayacatl Mosqueda (Mexico)                 1.57,355
19 Octavio Ortiz (Mexico)                      2.19,295
20 Francisco Daniel Trinidad (Mexico)          2.59,385
21 Keneth Zamora (Guatemala)                  21.43,741
DNF Jacaobo Calderon (Guatemala)
DNF Daniel Perez (Guatemala)

Elite Women

1 Bernardita Pizarro (Chile)                   3.28,341 (51.838 km/h)
2 Patricia Loureiro (Brasil)                   0.39,592
3 Julia Lasso Equiguren (Ecuador)              1.00,578
4 Veronica Francisca Miranda (Chile)           1.13,124

Junior Men

1 Ivan Ortiz (Ecuador)                         3.57,424 (45.488 km/h)
2 Jose Escudero (Ecuador)                      0.00,024
3 Juan Sebastian (Mexico)                      0.13,585
4 Mauricio Acuña (Chile)                       0.14,174
5 Christian Ignacio Soto (Chile)               0.19,105
6 Mario Cornejo (Ecuador)                      0.21,493
7 Jorge Alfredo Angel (Mexico)                 0.22,721
8 Juan Vintimilla (Ecuador)                    0.23,212
9 Luis Lancellotti (Brasil)                    0.27,716
10 Patricio Pereira (Ecuador)                  0.29,029
11 Pedro Armestro (Argentina)                  0.31,200
12 Alan Jurado (Ecuador)                       0.31,816
13 Javier Lopez (Mexico)                       0.35,827
14 Juan Laylle (Guatemala)                     0.39,034
15 Franklin Iza (Ecuador)                      0.39,476
16 Diego Sarmiento (Peru)                      0.43,603
17 Felipe Fernando Contreras (Chile)           0.45,730
18 Emanuel Riva (Argentina)                    0.46,526
19 Mauro Paladino (Argentina)                  0.52,541
20 Mauricio Luengas (Mexico)                   0.53,226
21 José Eduardo Bautista (Mexico)              0.53,377
22 Pedro Sereno (Venezuela)                    0.54,558
23 Diego Angel (Mexico)                        0.55,224
24 Miguel Maldonado (Mexico)                   1.01,769
25 Claudio Cagnasso (Venezuela)                1.08,836
26 Carlos Pastoriza (Argentina)                3.08,934
27 Jesús Rodriguez (Mexico)                   14.13,840
28 Adhair Compus (Mexico)                     15.03,430
DNS Arturo Pavia (Guatemala)
DNS Giancarlos Strazza (Argentina)

4 Cross

Elite Men

1 Mario Jarrin (Ecuador)
2 Markolf Berchtold (Brasil)
3 Antonio Leyva (Chile)
4 Ivan Quintana (Ecuador)
5 Sebastian Vazquez (Chile)
6 Santiago De Santiago (Argentina)
7 Pablo Cingolani (Argentina)
8 Hector Barreto (Mexico)

Elite Women

1 Bernardita Pizzarro (Chile)
2 Patricia Loureiro (Brasil)
3 Julia Lasso Equiguren (Ecuador)
4 Veronica Miranda (Chile)

Junior Men

1 Jose Escudero (Ecuador)
2 Luis Lancellotti (Brasil)
3 Christian Soto (Chile)
4 Ivan Ortiz (Ecuador)
5 Felipe Contreras (Chile)
6 Mauricio Acuña (Chile)
7 Emanuel Riva (Argentina)
8 Mario Cornejo (Ecuador)


1 Carlos Jasso (Mexico)
2 Humberto Jaquez (Mexico)
3 Felipe Vazquez (Chile)
4 Carlos Garcia (Mexico)
5 Eduardo Stain (Peru)