Home Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on Cyclingnews.com

Dauphiné Libéré
Photo ©: Sirotti

 MTB index page for all MTB content

Sunshine Cup #2 - E1

Governors Beach, Cyprus, March 13, 2005


Bogdan battles to beat them on the beach

Elina Sophokleous
Photo ©: Sunshine Cup
Click for larger image

Perfect weather greeted the second round of Cyprus' Delta Wings Leisure Sunshine Cup at Governors Beach, Limassol. Thirty riders from seven different countries raced on the famous white rocks of the area.

From the start Igor Bogdan (Ukraine) showed that he would like to celebrate his birthday with one more win in the Cyprus MTB events. He escaped alone early in the race to be joined later by his team mate Sergei Risenko and Christof Bishoff (Switzerland). The group grew up to five riders with James Otcherlony (Great Britain) and Spencer Phillip (Great Britain) joining the three leaders on the second lap. The same group led the race until the last lap when the final battle lines were drawn, and Bogdan managed to pull away from Bischof to take a slender, hard-fought victory.

In the women's race the things were much clearer as Elina Sophokleous (Bikin’Cyprus Int MTB Team) led from the start, followed by Ireland's Jenny McCaulley and third young Cypriot Antri Kyprianou.


For a thumbnail gallery of these images, click here

Images by Sunshine Cup


1 Igor Bogdan (Ukr)           1.48.03
2 Christof Bischof (Swi)         0.14
3 Phillip Spencer (GBr)          0.15
4 Sergiy Rysenko (Ukr)           0.16
5 James Ouchterlony (GBr)        0.42
6 Oleksandr Yakymenko (Ukr)      5.22
7 Richard McCauley (Irl)         6.40
8 Grafjurg (Swi)                 6.57
9 Robert Odink (Swi)             9.14
10 Oleg Bimbash (Ukr)            9.27
11 Reto Manetsch (Swi)           9.52
12 Giorgos Fattas (Cyp)         11.29
13 Marios Athanasiades (Cyp)    17.04
14 Michael Hutter (Swi)         22.29
One lap behind                       
15 Nikodemos Protopapas (Cyp)        
16 Oleksiy Nesterchuk (Ukr)          
Two laps behind                      
17 Salih Yalizat (Tur)               
18 Mehmet Silahsor (Tur)             
Three laps behind                    
19 Mehmet Sevinc (Tur)               
20 Norman Gillan (GBr)               
DNF Vasilis Adamou (Cyp)             
DNF Timotheos Skettos (Cyp)          
1 Elina Sophocleous (Cyp)     1.33.46
2 Jenny McCaulley (Irl)          1.40
3 Antroulla Kyprianou (Cyp)     17.26
One lap behind                       
4 Elena Aristidou (Cyp)