Home Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on Cyclingnews.com

Mont Ventoux
Photo ©: Sirotti

 MTB index page for all MTB content

Sunshine Cup #1 - E1

Larnaca, Cyprus, February 20, 2005


Swedish dominate opening race of the Euro season

Fredrik Kessiakoff (Siemens/Cannondale)
Photo ©: David Elmfeldt
Click for larger image

The new European MTB calendar 2005 has started in Cyprus on the 20th of February with the first of the three events of the Sunshine Cup Series, which is organized by Delta Wings Leisure and the Cyprus Cycling Federation.

The race, which covered a 35,5 km distance around Stavrovouni Mountain, was a fast start for many top European mountain bikers. The good weather (20 degrees), the clear sky and the nice scenery offered the riders a nice event to start the season.

On the start line were many top European and American riders, including world number one Roel Paulissen, Manuel Fumic, Fredrik Kessiakof, Ivonne Kraft and many others. From the beginning, the Swedish team, which has chosen Cyprus for their preparation, led the race and Frederik Kessiakof of the Siemens Cannondale team took the lead followed by his compatriot Emil Lindgren of team Bianchi Agos. This order was kept until the finish line, where for the third place there was a sprint finish between Roel Paullisen (GIANT int MTB team) and Calle Friberg of Bikin’Cyprus Int. MTB team, with Paulissen coming up trumps. Fifth was the U23 World Champion Manuel Fumic.

Ivonne Kraft
Photo ©: David Elmfeldt
Click for larger image

In the women's race, Swedish rider Maria Ostergreen won the race ahead of Cypriot Elina Sophokleous (Bikin’Cyprus Int. MTB team) and third, Katrin Josefson, also from Sweden. Fourth was Ivonne Kraft (Fuji Bikes team).

The racing season continues with more events in Cyprus as follows:

February 27: 5th Voroklini Int MTB Race E1 – XC-OX
March 4-6: 9th Afxentia Stage Race D2
March 13: Sunshine Cup #2 Ag. Georgios Alamanos E1 XC-OX
March 27: Sunshine Cup #3 Lythrodontas Macheras E1 PP
April 3: National Marathon Championships
April 9: Cyprus Challenge PP (Masters And Juniors)
April 10: UCI World Cup Marathon #1


For a thumbnail gallery of these images, click here

Images by David Elmfeldt/www.elmfeldt.com


Elite Men

1 Fredrik Kessiakoff (Swe) Siemens Cannondale            1.15.09
2 Emil Lindgren (Swe) Bianchi Agos                          1.08
3 Roel Paulissen (Bel) Giant Int Mtb Team                   3.03
4 Calle Friberg (Swe) Bikin'cyprus Int Mtb Team                 
5 Manouel Fumic (Ger) German National Team                  3.41
6 Phillip Spencer (GBr)                                     5.15
7 James Ouchterlony (GBr)                                   5.45
8 Richard Mccauley (Irl) Fuji Bikes                         7.07
9 Tobias Witzak (Ger)                                       7.22
10 Olaf Rochow (Ger)                                       10.22
11 Nikodemos Protopapas (Cyp) Bikin'cyprus Int Mtb Team    13.24
12 Giorgos Fattas (Cyp)                                    17.26
13 Andreas Reischl (Ger)                                   19.02
14 Marco Pheiffer (Ger)                                    22.32
15 Marios Athanasiades (Cyp) Bikin'cyprus Int Mtb Team     24.29
16 Mehmet Sevinc (Tur)                                     25.25
17 Mustafa Cevdet (Tur)                                    26.13
18 Mehmet Silahsor (Tur)                                   29.29
19 Salih Yalizat (Tur)                                          
DNF Nick Agate (USA)                                            
DNS Fredrik Modin (Swe)                                         
DNS Zsolt Vinczeffy (Hun)                                       
DNS Oleg Bimbash (Ukr)                                          
DNS Walter Torsten (Ger)                                        
DNS Andreas Danielsson (Swe)                                    
Elite Women
1 Maria Ostergren (Swe)                                  1.30.12
2 Elina Sophocleous (Cyp) Bikin'cyprus Int Mtb Team         4.52
3 Catrine Josefsson (Swe)                                  10.15
4 Ivonne Kraft (Ger) Fuji Bikes                            14.24
5 Antroulla Kyprianou (Cyp)                                28.15
6 Elena Aristidou (Cyp)                                    31.42
7 Marina Theodorou (Cyp)                                   33.57