Home Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on Cyclingnews.com

Mt Hood Classic
Photo ©: Swift

 MTB index page for all MTB content

Oceania XC championships - CC

Victoria, Australia, April 2, 2005


Australian men, Kiwi women rule Oceania XC

A great competition between traditional rivals in pretty much all things sport did not disappoint today at the 2005 Oceania XC Championships held at Mt. Buller in the Victoria Alps.

Elite and junior, male and female, race categories were contested on a long loop format race course that included about 500m of climbing each lap in a lap length of 22km. A village loop of 8km was used to add time and distance to the Elite women and Junior male categories which only added to their effort.

The fields were certainly stellar with both New Zealand and Australia entering their current national champions in all the race categories contested.

While the Kiwis made a clean sweep of the Elite female class (30km), (Rosara Joseph 1h29m27s, Robyn Wong and Sonia Foote) and taking out the next 3 places, the Elite men class (44km) was convincingly dominated by Australian riders who took out the top 7 places and was won by Chris Jongewaard (1h54m53s) followed by Murray Spink and Perren Delacour.

In the Junior race categories the results were more mixed with NZ and the Aussies sharing the podium positions. The Junior female class (22km) was won by Michelle Bellamy (NZ, 1h16m39s) with Erica Oldfield (AUS) and Chelsea Wills (NZ) filling out the podium. In the Junior men's race (30km) Kiwi Clinton Avery (1h16m53s) was a clear leader over Joel Healy (AUS) and Lachlan Norris (AUS).


Elite Men (44km)
1 Chris Jongewaard (Australia)       1.54.53
2 Murray Spink (Australia)              2.05
3 Perren Delacour (Australia)           2.11
4 Daniel McConnell (Australia)          4.14
5 Aiden Lefmann (Australia)             4.44
6 Chris Winn (Australia)                7.34
7 Alistair Farley (Australia)           8.45
8 Michael  Northcote (New Zealand)      9.42
9 Wayne  Hiscock (New Zealand)         10.33
10 Shane Paton (Australia)             11.33
11 Rodney Hill (New Zealand)           13.23
12 Marcus Roy (New Zealand)            14.51
13 Michael Gilbert (New Zealand)       16.23
14 James Dickey (Australia)            18.04
15 Nick Both (Australia)               19.24
16 Timothy Madgwick (New Zealand)      20.05
17 Mark  Leishman (New Zealand)        20.37
18 Darry Stevens (New Zealand)         23.48
19 Stuart Houltham (New Zealand)       28.46
20 Timothy Elsmore (New Zealand)       30.32
One lap behind
21 James Williamson (Australia)             
22 Jason Hill (New Zealand)                 
DNF Roy Bryan (New Caledonia)               
DNF James Maebus (Australia)                
DNF Shaun Lewis (Australia)                 
Elite Women (30km)
1 Rosara Joseph (New Zealand)        1.29.27
2 Robyn Wong (New Zealand)              0.46
3 Sonia Foote (New Zealand)             2.16
4 Angela  Eccles (New Zealand)         11.37
5 Catherine Hamer (New Zealand)        13.19
6 Genevieve  Whitson (New Zealand)     13.38
7 Lindsay Gorrell (Australia)          16.28
8 Amanda Davies (New Zealand)          16.49
9 Rhonda  Pearce (New Zealand)         18.42
10 Lauren Tanzen (Australia)           26.21
11 Lee Schultz (Australia)             51.47
12 Jenni King (Australia)            1.16.39
13 Niki Gudex (Australia)                   
14 Emma Colson (Australia)                  
DNF Rebecca McConnell (Australia)           
Junior Men (30km)
1 Clinton Avery (New Zealand)        1.16.53
2 Joel Healy (Australia)                0.43
3 Lachlan Norris (Australia)            1.33
4 Cal Britten (Australia)               3.56
5 John Gray (New Zealand)               7.38
6 Aaron Perry (New Zealand)             8.38
7 Carl Jones (New Zealand)              8.46
8 Daniel Johnston (Australia)           9.52
9 Luke Mills (New Zealand)             10.57
10 Andrew Hughson (New Zealand)        12.20
11 Kerry  Mogan (New Zealand)          14.20
12 Andrew MacDonald (New Zealand)      16.52
13 Peter Joynt (New Zealand)           21.31
14 Arno D'Arcangelo (New Caledonia)    21.42
Junior Women (22km)
1 Michelle Bellamy (New Zealand)     1.16.39
2 Erica Oldfield (Australia)            1.25
3 Chelsea  Wills (New Zealand)          8.48
4 Monique Avery (New Zealand)          12.37
5 Hayley Robertson (New Zealand)       21.43
6 Kathryn Campbell (New Zealand)       26.11