Home Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on Cyclingnews.com

Giro finale
Photo ©: Bettini

 MTB index page for all MTB content

11th Mitta Mitta to Mt Beauty - E2

Mt Beauty, Victoria, Australia, October 26, 2003

2002 Results    Results

BY Mikkeli Godfree

The field rolls out of Mitta Mitta
Photo ©: Mikkeli Godfree

Nick Kiraly (Mongoose - SRAM) has won the 11th Mitta Mitta to Mt. Beauty, a race that is seen as the warm-up race for the National Championships run the following week. This year's event was more prestigious given its newly gained UCI recognition for which it attracted UCI points.

A good field was in attendance and after some solid pace-making by Chris Jongewaard (Avanti) which pared down the front group to five (Jongewaard, Lowe, Kiraly, Miller and McConnell), Kiraly made his move. Only Jongewaard could follow, although it wasn't for long. Kiraly built a lead of 30 seconds by the start of the 15km bitumen run-in to Mt Beauty while Jongewaard and Lowe (Mapie-Yeti-SRAM) worked together to bring back the lone leader. Lowe off-loaded Jongewaard at Tawonga but couldn't bring in Kiraly, who held on to win by 26 seconds.


Images by Mikkeli Godfree/Freewheel Magazine

Results, 55 km

1 Nick Kiraly (Mongoose - SRAM)          1.46.56
2 Trent Lowe (Mapei - Yeti - SRAM)
3 Chris Jongewaard (Avanti)
4 Aiden Lefmann (Sobe Cannondale)
5 Brent Miller (Bianci)
6 Dan Van der Ploeg (Merida)
7 Daniel McConnell (Yeti)
8 Matthew Molan
9 Al Farley (VIS-ts)