Home Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on Cyclingnews.com

Bayern Rundfahrt
Photo ©: Schaaf

 MTB index page for all MTB content

NORBA series #3 - E2

Mt Snow, Vermont, USA, June 21-22, 2003

Main Page    Results    Previous Race  

Race 4 - June 22: Downhill

Streb and Garcia too fast

By Kristy Scrymgeour

Marla Streb (Luna Chix) and Cedric Gracia (Siemens-Cannondale) won the Downhill event at Mt Snow today on a course that was altered due to wet, slippery conditions. Both winners agreed with the decision of the organizers to change the course, acknowledging that the "Yard Sale" would be too dangerous in the wet, especially with a World Cup event coming up in a week's time.

Gracia won the event in a time of 4 minutes 21 seconds despite losing his saddle during the ride. The time was 0.3 seconds faster than that of Australian Nathan Rennie (Iron horse) and 0.5 seconds faster than Greg Minnar (Haro-Lee Dungarees).

In the women's event, it was Streb who took the win in a time 5 minutes 16 seconds just 0.5 second ahead of Japanese rider Mio Suemasa (Trek-Volkswagen). Kathy Pruitt (Luna Chix) 5'26. Streb also won the event last week at Snowshoe Valley, so this win puts her in the lead of the Norba series after three rounds. Streb was happy with her ride, explaining the ride afterwards. "The course was still a little loose, at one point, my rear wheel was ahead of my front wheel, I was basically riding backwards," she said. "I had a couple of close calls, but ended up finding great success."

After round three current points leaders include, Jimena Florit (RLX-Ralph Lauren) and Ryder Hesjedal (Subaru-Gary Fisher) in the cross country and Sue Haywood (Trek-Volkswagen) and Jermey Horgan-Kobelski (RLX-Ralph Lauren) in the short track. In the gravity events, Jill Kintner (Staats), and Eric Carter (Mongoose-Hyundai) sit atop the mountain cross standings while Streb and Chris Kovarik (Intense-Fox) lead the downhill.


Images by Andy Lee/www.usacycling.org


Pro Men 
1 Cedric Gracia (FRA) Siemens-Cannondale   4:21.8 
2 Nathan Rennie (AUS) Iron Horse-Madcatz   4:22.1 
3 Gregg Minaar (RSA) Haro-Lee Dungarees    4:22.3 
4 Mick Hannah (AUS) Haro-Lee Dungarees     4:26.3 
5 Dustin Adams (CAN) Giant-Pearl Izumi     4:27.9 
6 John Kirkaldie (NZL) Maxxis              4:30.2 
7 Sam Hill (AUS) Iron Horse                4:33.1 
8 Nathan Rankin (NZL) Tioga Orange         4:33.6 
9 Joel Panozzo (AUS) WTB-Santa Cruz        4:34.2 
10 Rich Houseman (USA) Intense Tires       4:34.9 
Pro Women
1 Marla Streb (USA) Luna Chix              5:16.9 
2 Mio Suemasa (JPN) Trek-Volkswagen        5:17.4 
3 Kathy Pruitt (USA) Luna Chix             5:26.1 
4 Fionn Griffiths (GBR) Foes Azonic        5:29.8 
5 Sabrina Jonnier (FRA) Intense            5:32.8 
6 Dawn Bourque (USA) Dried Plums-Orbitz    5:37.2 
7 Tai-Lee Muxlow (AUS) Tioga Orange        5:37.7 
8 Bernadita Pizarro (USA)                  5:40.9 
9 Melissa Buhl (USA) KHS                   5:43.4 
10 Claire Buchar (CAN) Balfa               6:01.3