Home Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on Cyclingnews.com

Bayern Rundfahrt
Photo ©: Schaaf

 MTB index page for all MTB content

2003 New Zealand XC Championships - E2/CN

Jentree Farm, Blenheim, April 6, 2003


Houltham and Parker-Wyndard triumph in the mud

After the Downhill mountain biking on Saturday enjoyed beautiful weather the cross country riders on Sunday had very wet and muddy conditions after heavy rain overnight. Most of the day was overcast with rain on and off leaving the sport class, who started at 9am, with a slippery and muddy course to negotiate. The experts raced at 11.30am and the track began to improve leaving a much firmer track for the pro-elites at 2.30pm.

This custom made 5.8 km lap course, just 15 minutes drive from Blenheim, is one of the best in New Zealand. It loops across a steep hillside with flat sections along river terraces and climbs in open country and through pine forest. There were several challenging sections and four stream crossings per lap.

The winner of the Pro-Elite Men was Stuart Houltham of Taupo, showing once again that he is a top NZ XC rider. Houltham won the 2003 NZ National Series title in March for the third consecutive year and now he is also the 2003 National Champion taking the title from Jason Clement of Levin. The young Marcas Roy (18 years) of Te Anau had a great race too - finishing in fourth position overall.

In the women's pro-elite Sadie Parker-Wyndard of Auckland took the 2003 National XC Champion title. Sadie represented NZ at the Commonwealth Games in Manchester and came second overall at the 2003 National XC Series. She is hoping to get overseas to race in some of the World Cup Series if she can find the funds necessary. Robyn Wong of Wellington had a great race coming in just over a minute behind Sadie for second place. Wong was the 2002 National Series Winner.

In the Expert Junior U17 class Sam Bewley of Rotorua won the 2003 National XC Champion title to go with the 2003 National Series title he won in March this year.

Matthew Dewes (Taupo) now has both titles as well - 2003 National XC Series and 2003 National XC Champion winner in the Expert Junior Men class.

Another double title winner for 2003 is in the Expert Master 50+ Men class - Robert Kennedy a Blenheim.


Pro-Elite Men
1 Stuart Houltham (Taupo)            2.11.44
2 Andrew Reid (Blenheim)                4.03
3 Tim Vincent (Nelson)                  6.32
4 Marcus Roy (Te Anau)                  8.02
5 Tim Wilding (Taupo)                   9.01
6 Mark Leishman (Palmerston North)     11.34
7 Michael Northcott (Mangakino)        22.01
8 Robin Reid (Blenheim)                1 lap
9 Jason Clement (Levin)
10 Hilton Power (Whakatane)
11 Rod Harrhy (Nelson)
12 Tim Madgewick (Christchurch)
Pro-Elite Women
1 Sadie Parker-Wynyard (Auckland)    2.16.32
2 Robyn Wong (Wellington)               1.12
3 Emma Bawtree (Nelson)                17.52
4 Brenda Clapp (Nelson)                30.38
5 Genevieve Whitson (Wellington)       1 lap
Expert Junior U17 Men
1 Sam Bewley (Rotorua)               1.47.28
2 Ryan Marshall (Levin)                 1.45
3 Clinton Avery (Rotorua)               4.03
4 Luke Newman (Lower Hutt)             14.14
5 Josh Williamson (Blenheim)           15.31
6 Aaron Perry (Rotorua)                26.22
7 Chris Sharland (Nelson)              35.01
8 Mitchell Cooper (Nelson)             45.35
9 Daniel Gillett (Wellington)          47.31
10 Trent Sherman (Wellington)        1.01.17
DNF William Lush (Te Anau)
Expert Junior U17 Women
1 Monique Avery (Rotorua)            2.29.04
DNF Hayley Robertson (Upper Hutt)
Expert Junior Men
1 Matthew Dewes (Taupo)              1.46.38
2 Nigel Cross (Rotorua)                 9.56
3 Joshua Barley (Wellington)           11.41
4 Zane Christey (Riverton)             17.45
5 Tristan Rowence (Nelson)             18.30
6 Callum Chisnall (Nelson)             23.02
7 Oliver Whalley (Nelson)              24.19
8 Brent Vlug (Rotorua)                 1 lap
DNF Leif Christensen
Expert Junior Women
1 Karina Wilkinson (Levin)           2.38.14
Expert Under 23 Men
1 Vaughn Phillipson (Hastings)       2.35.48
2 Simon Forrest (Blenheim)
Expert Senior Men
1 Andrew Merrylees (Rangiora)        2.08.28
2 Stewart Thorp (Nelson)                0.30
3 Gavin McCarthy (Upper Hutt)          12.29
4 Rod Hill (Auckland)                  15.17
5 Rodney Wallace (Palmerston North)    24.07
6 Carl Larsen (Hastings)               26.23
7 Christopher Kendall (Wellington)     26.37
8 Tim Wearing (Blenheim)               1 lap
Expert Senior Women
1 Sonia Foote (Rotorua)              2.14.39
2 Angela Eccles (Christchurch)          9.29
3 Nicole Swain (Wellington)            14.23
4 Erin Greene (Dunedin)                28.21
5 Rochelle Richards (Christchurch)     35.56
DNF Katie Collins (Taupo)
DNF Wendy Osborne
Expert Master 30+ Men
1 Michael Sanders (Christchurch)     1.57.45
2 Rob Lee (UK)                          7.30
3 Lester Settle (Christchurch)         13.43
4 Tony Harding (Hastings)              16.06
Expert Master 30+ Women
1 Pamela Thompson (Dunedin)          2.09.16
Expert Master 40+ Men
1 Jeff Lyall (Lower Hutt)            2.01.57
2 Mark Marshall (Levin)                 3.16
3 Marco Renall (Wellington)
Expert Master 50+ Men
1 Robert Kennedy (Blenheim)          1.31.01
Sport Junior Men
1 Sam McCloy (Blenheim)              0.54.14
2 Sam Reed (Blenheim)                   0.42
3 Elijah May (Blenheim)                 3.40
4 Calvin Wilson (Nelson)               16.53
5 Michael Smith (Invercargill)         21.26
6 Ben Batchelor (Hanmer Springs)       21.41
Sport Junior Women
1 Felicity Blackmore (Blenheim)      1.34.21
Sport Senior Men
1 Justin Leov (Blenheim)               54.11
2 Murray Drake (Nelson)                 8.13
3 Chris Lander (Aspley)                12.25
DNF Aaron Reardon
Sport Master Men
1 Deane Caughey (Blenheim)           1.02.04
2 Mark Grammer (Blenheim)               9.00
3 Sam Midglay (Nelson)                 19.26
4 Robbie Hill (Nelson)                 29.44
5 Trackman John (Blenheim)
DNF Peter Blackmore
Sport Master Women
1 Jo Meek (Blenheim)                 1.48.50