Home Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on Cyclingnews.com

Mont Ventoux
Photo ©: Sirotti

 UCI codes explained

Results & reports from the UK

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to Cyclingnews

Untitled Document

Surry league #1
Eddy Soens memorial
Surry league #2
Surry league festival




Eastern Cyclo-cross League #14

Eastway, London, January 4, 2003

By www.londoncyclesport.com

This was round 14 of the Eastern Daily Press/Ivan Jeckell/Eastern Cross League held at Eastway, London on January 4 and hosted by Crest CC.

It was quite a shock to attend a cross race where the sun shone and it was dry; we still shudder when we remember the National Trophy Round 5 at Rainham a few weeks ago.


Jody Crawforth (Evans RT) and Glenn Stanford (Eastern Region Velo/Bianchi UK) pulled away from a group made up of Sam Gardner (Evans RT), Russell Parkins (RT/Elmy Cycles), Matt Holmes (Arctic 2000) and Carl Davey (RT/Elmy Cycles). Holmes was to fall back and pulled out to leave Gardner, Parkins and Davey to battle for 3rd throughout.

Stanford was unable to match Crawforth's pace and had to settle for 2nd and maximum league points. At race end Crawforth's winning advantage was 1 minute, 22 secs whilst Stanford was well clear of Sam Gardner in 3rd who had gained ground in the final laps. Parkins was 4 and Davey 5th.

Top Junior was Ian Field (SFACC) who continued to show good from after his World Cup selection to take 6th when he overhauled Veteran Winner Mick Bell (London Fire Brigade).

Helen Saunders (James Hay RT) was a quality 23rd and best women.


Kristian Downs (API Resprays/Specialized/Metrow Foods) and David Wood (VC Deal) raced wheel to wheel on lap one, but on lap two Downs attacked and by lap three he had a comfortable lead over Wood.

Chasing the leading two was best Under 14 Andrew Griffiths (Lee Valley Youth CC) who took 3rd from top girl Amy Thompson (Bike Plus) who pipped her brother William after a race long fight. Just behind, William Bruce (Lee Valley Youth CC) managed to stay ahead of Abbie Thorrington (Ipswich BC).


Seniors/Juniors, 7 laps
1 Jody Crawforth (Evans RT)                               57.31.00
2 Glenn Stanford (Eastern Region Velo/Bianchi UK)            1.22
3 Sam Gardner (Evans RT)                                     2.13
4 Russell Parkins (X RT/Elmy Cycles)                         2.29
5 Carl Davey (X RT/Elmy Cycles)                              2.31
6 Ian Field (SFACC)                                          4.53
7 Mick Bell (London Fire Brigade)                            5.01
8 Nick Ainswiorth (James Hay RT)                             5.55
9 Brian Curtis (Corridori/Specialized RT)                    6.12
10 Chris Remnant (Hargroves/Trant)                           6.30
11 Ben Lockwood (GS Invicta ELO)                             6.48
12 John Wood (Finsbury Park)                                 7.23
13 Shaun Blakey (Finsbury Park)                              9.01
14 Geoff Bores (Lee Valley Youth CC)                         9.23
15 Nat Spurling (Finsbury Park)                          at 1 lap
16 Gavin Rumbles (CC Luton)
17 Carl McDonagh (Brixton Cycles)
18 Chris Bartlett (Ipswich BC)
19 Chris Gooch (Team Clean)
20 Steven Griffiths (Lee Valley Youth CC)
21 Greg Simcock (X RT/Elmy Cycles)
22 Dave Copland (Ipswich BC)
23 Helen Saunders (James Hay RT)
24 Mark Carless (Unattached)
25 Michael Dunn (Unattached)
26 Daniel Berry (London Phoenix)
27 Duncan Bryson (London Phoenix)
28 Tom Underhill (Unattached)
29 Dave Young (Crest CC)
30 Chris Jillings (Ipswich BC)
31 Carlton Ainsworth (Eastern Region Velo/Bianchi UK)
32 Graham Freer (Finsbury Park)
33 John Terrell (Unattached)
34 Andrew Granger (Willesden CC)
35 Peter Ruffhead (Artic Shorter/Rochford)
36 Konrad Manning (Finsbury Park)
37 David Steele (London Phoenix)
38 Paul Martin (Easterley)
39 Robert Smith (Ipswich BC)
40 Neil Cooper (Cycleweb)
41 Kevin Barker (Southend Wheelers)
42 Dennis Wright (London Fire Brigade)
43 Keith Richardson (Mildenhall CC)
44 Tom Bruce (Lee Valley Youth CC)
45 Ian Poole (Mildenhall CC)                            at 2 laps
46 Neil Martin (Finsbury Park)
47 Mark Wyer (London Phoenix)
48 Chris Reed (London Phoenix)
49 Roger Hornsby (Unattached)
50 Abigail Armstrong (London Phoenix)
51 Robert Griffiths (Lee Valley Youth CC)
52 Kelley Campbell (London Phoenix)
53 Dave McCardy (Lee Valley Youth CC)
54 Mike Gibbons (South Eastern RC)
55 Greg Nash (Lee Valley Youth CC)
56 Colin Towers (Lee Valley Youth CC)                   at 3 laps
DNF Matt Holmes (Artic Shorter/Rochford)
DNF George Oleman (Lee Valley Youth CC)
DNF Dave Price (Lee Valley Youth CC)
DNF Graham Stacey (Catford CC)
DNF Mick Curtis (Corridori/Specialized RT)
DNF Stephanie Betts (London Phoenix)
Youth, 3 laps
1 Kristian Downs (API Resprays/Specialized/Metrow Foods) 26.57.00
2 David Wood (VC Deal)                                       0.38
3 Andrew Griffiths (Lee Valley Youth CC)                     1.41
4 Amy Thompson (Bike Plus)                                   2.04
5 William Bruce (Lee Valley Youth CC)                        2.05
6 Abbie Thorrington (Ipswich BC)                             3.21
7 Alex Paten (VC Deal)                                       5.11
8 Paul Watts (Ipswich BC)                                    5.34
9 Carl Harris (Eastern Region Velo/Bianchi UK)               6.52
10 Jack Oleman (Lee Valley Youth CC)                        11.21
11 Adam Towers (Lee Valley Youth CC)                        13.13
12 Oliver Bruce (Lee Valley Youth CC)                    at 1 lap
13 Rafael Oleman (Youth/U14 Lee Valley Youth CC)
14 Helen Dunning (Colchester Rovers)
15 Bobby Dennis (Lee Valley Youth CC)
DNF James Jackson (Lee Valley Youth CC)
DNF Jack Dennis (Lee Valley Youth CC)
DNF Nick Stacey (Catford CC)
Under 12, 4 laps
1 Joe Perrett (Lee Valley Youth CC)                         14.08
2 John Price (Lee Valley Youth CC)                           0.43
3 Rebecca Thompson (Bike Plus)                               1.39
4 Joe Nash (Lee Valley Youth CC)                             3.11
5 Daniel Young (Lee Valley Youth CC)                         3.37
6 Jessica Rix (Lee Valley Youth CC)                          4.40
7 Sam Mills (PCA/Ciclos Uno)                             at 1 lap
8 Barnaby Nash (Lee Valley Youth CC)
9 Sam Bores (Lee Valley Youth CC)
10 Jim Lewis (Lee Valley Youth CC)
11 Beth Lewis (Lee Valley Youth CC)                      at 2 laps
Previous results from the UK