Home Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on Cyclingnews.com

Bayern Rundfahrt
Photo ©: Schaaf

 UCI codes explained

Results & reports from the UK

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to Cyclingnews

Untitled Document

Surry league #1
Eddy Soens memorial
Surry league #2
Surry league festival




London Cyclo-Cross League race 4

October 20, 2002

Holmes wins hard battle in Nat Series rehearsal

By www.Londoncyclesport.com

Round four of the 2002/2003 Mosquito/Kinesis London Cyclo-Cross League was held at The Howard School, Derwent Way, Rainham, Kent on Sunday.


Rain was always close at hand, but it never really set in and the course remained in good condition with little mud plugging needed. Once the groove was set the riders were able to sustain fast laps, although if any got cocky they could find themselves losing it on the grass off-camber banks and turns.

A number of London League front runners were busy racing at the National Trophy round 2 at Cheltenham, which meant that others had an opportunity to shine.

The senior race saw a stirring fight between Matt Holmes (Arctic RT), Jon Sharpe (Saucony), Steven Price (De Laune) Warrick Spence (Bikepark), Matt Starey (Pearson Cycles), GS Invicta duo Ben Lockwood and Jon Lyons, and Phil Rayner (Halfords Bikehut).

Just a fraction back from the leading group was a line of riders that included Gary Hipwell (Rugby Velo), Anthony Muir (Wigmore CC), Rob Purcell and Ivan Jordan (Omega RT).

With a fast pace being set on the November National Trophy course, Holmes and Sharpe began to move away from the battle being conducted by Spence, Price, Starey and Lockwood.

As the race progressed Sharpe was unable to keep close contact with Holmes whilst gaps had developed between Price, Spence, Starey and Lockwood who was now falling back. It was tense stuff as 3rd, 4th and 5th spot tried to chase each other down. On one lap gains would be made, but on the next it would be lost.

Holmes crossed the line to win after 9 laps and just under a minute later Sharpe did the same. Price never gave up hope of catching Sharpe and was rewarded with 3rd with Spence a little while later, Spence making his cross debut was happy with his race and had learnt that it's best to spin rather that turn big gears. Starey was next up and Lockwood 6th.

Emma Wood (London Phoenix) rode away from teammates Abigail Armstrong and Stevie Betts to win the women's category. Graham Parkin (Team 2000) was best Veteran.


1 Matt Holmes (Arctic RT)
2 Jon Sharpe (Saucony)
3 Steven Price (De Laune CC)
4 Warrick Spence (Bikepark)
5 Matt Starey (Pearson Cycles)
6 Ben Lockwood (GS Invicta)
7 Jon Lyons (GS Invicta)
8 Phil Rayner (Halfords Bikehut)
9 Gary Hipwell (Rugby Velo)
10 Anthony Muir (Wigmore CC)
11 Rob Purcell (GS Invicta)
12 Ivan Jordan (Omega RT)
13 Darren Santer (ERV / Bianchi)
14 Adrian Lyons (GS Invicta)
15 Graham Parkin (Team 2000)
16 Andy Seltzer (East Grinstead CC)
17 Neil Simpson (London Phoenix)
18 Peter Bareford (Arctic / Shorter / Rochford)
19 Pat Hayes (PCA Orbea)
20 Ben Paton (Anglia Sport)
21 John Wood (Finsbury Park CC)
22 Douglas Fox (Crawley Wheelers)
23 Dan Rudd (De Laune CC)
24 Richard Munday (Addiscombe CC)
25 Paul Warner (Team Darenth)
26 Alan Duncan (GS Invicta)
27 Barry Martin
28 Matt Gallagher (London Phoenix)
One lap behind
29 Ryan Hill
30 Rob Kennison (Team 2000)
31 Tom Wilson (GS Invicta)
32 J Terrell
33 Andy Taylor (Crawley Wheelers)
34 Kevin Martin (Team Darenth)
35 Glen Hord (Cyclepathix)
36 Harvey Pope (Medway Velo Club)
37 Tom Underhill
38 Neal Marrin (Finsbury Park CC)
39 Rogan Hornsby (Catford CC)
40 David Steele (London Phoenix)
41 Mark Wyer (London Phoenix)
42 DH Smith (Catford CC)
43 Emma Wood (London Phoenix)
Two laps behind
44 Rick Matthews (cyclo-cross.com)
45 Mark Glowinski (VC Londres)
46 David Curniek (? Medway Velo Club)
47 Konrad Manning (Finsbury Park CC)
48 Abigail Armstrong (London Phoenix)
49 Dan Empson
50 Nick Franklin (Addiscombe CC)
51 Francis Thompson (Rugby Velo)
52 Stephanie Betts (London Phoenix)
53 Anna Glowinski (VC Londres)
54 Alex Protasivk (Addiscombe CC)
Under 10's
1 Sam Johnson (VC Deal)
2 Max Sykes (VC Deal)
3 Ryan Frost (Victory CC)
4 Tom Kennison (Victory CC)
5 Liam White (VC Deal)
6 Jacob Kennison (Victory CC)
7 Tyler Lemmon (Victory CC)
8 Joshua Parkin (Victory CC)
9 Serena Butler (VC Deal)
Under 12s
1 Martin Stolton (Victory CC)
2 James Wade (VC Deal)
3 Michael Butler (VC Deal)
4 Sam Johnson (VC Deal)
5 Samantha Bryant (Team Darenth)
6 Sam Milu (Ciclos Uno)
7 Max Sykes (VC Deal)
8 Josh Brown (Victory CC)
9 Tom Kennison (Victory CC)
10 Ryan Frost (Victory CC)
11 Jordan Clark (Victory CC)
1 Tom Smart (VC Deal)
2 Alex Paton (VC Deal)
3 Joe Tickner (Victory CC)
4 Kurt Warner (Team Darenth)
5 Chris Richardson (VC Deal)
6 Oliver Fritter (Victory CC)
7 Katy Wade (VC Deal)
8 Thomas Tutton (Team Darenth)
Previous results from the UK