Home Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on Cyclingnews.com

Bayern Rundfahrt
Photo ©: Schaaf

 UCI codes explained

Results & reports from the UK

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to Cyclingnews

Untitled Document

Surry league #1
Eddy Soens memorial
Surry league #2
Surry league festival




London Cyclo-Cross League #3

Dover, October 13, 2002

Blunt battles back from mechanical mishaps

By www.Londoncyclesport.com

Round three of the 2002/2003 Mosquito/Kinesis London Cyclo-Cross League was held at Crabble Athletic Club, Dover on October 13.


A string of riders came through on the completion of lap 1 led by Stuart Blunt (Corridori) with Matt Holmes (Arctic RT), Mark Russell (VC Meudon), Ian Field (San Fairy Ann) Steven Price (De Laune), Steve Hamblin (Folkactive) and Mick Bell (London Fire Brigade) wheel to wheel.

Blunt was able to gain a slight lead until his chain became jammed in his rear wheel and as Blunt disentangled himself and trapped his thumb in the process, Holmes went away from the rest.

A hurried judgement would have declared Holmes the winner at this point as his lead looked like it would take him to victory, but Blunt was now back in the action and he set a string of very fast laps to catch and pass Holmes to win by over 30 seconds.

The battle for 3rd was a classic, Mark Russell had crashed and was fighting to get back onto the wheels of Field, Price, Bell and Hamblin. As Russell began to catch the trio, first Hamblin fell off the pace and then Bell, leaving Price and Field to race tooth and nail to the line. Russell went past Bell and Hamblin to catch Price and Field, leaving both behind as he rode to 3rd.

At the line it was Blunt, Holmes, Russell with a sprint settling 4th in favour of Field over Price. Next up was Bell who took the Vets race. Behind these riders there were more battles being keenly fought and the spectators were treated to plenty of last lap action.

Ian Field was top Junior and Abigail Armstrong (London Phoenix) was top woman after fighting to get her confidence back after crashing heavily at Eastway the previous day.


The Youth race featured a great battle for victory between London Cross youth riders David Wood (VC Deal) and Nick Stacey (Catford CC). Leading London League youth rider James Coop (VC Deal) was forced to pull out after crashing whilst in 3rd spot.

For the first part of the race Wood and Stacey swapped the lead neither faltering on the tricky stretches of the course, but Wood was the one who had that extra something and he had built a comfortable lead at race end.

Andrew Griffiths (Lee Valley Youth) was best Under 14 and he led the chase in 3rd spot. In turn William Thompson (Bike Plus) was not for off 3rd spot's wheel taking 4th from Tom Smart (VC Deal). Amy Thompson (Bike Plus) wsa top girl mixing it as usual with the boys.


1 Stuart Blunt (Corridori)
2 Matt Holmes (Arctic RT)
3 Mark Russell (VC Meudon)
4 Ian Field (San Fairy Ann CC)
5 Steven Price (De Laune CC)
6 Mick Bell (London Fire Brigade)
7 Richard Masters (Wigmore CC)
8 Steve Hambling (Activ Folkestone)
9 Carl McDonagh (Brixton Cycles)
10 Mark Burden (London Phoenix)
11 Chris Remnant (VC Meudon)
12 Matthew Starey (Pearsons Cycles)
13 Dan Butcher (Arctic RT)
14 Steve Castle (GS Invicta)
15 Graham Parkin (Team 2000)
16 Neil Simpson (London Phoenix)
17 Barry Martin (Team Darenth)
18 Nick Franklin (Addiscombe)
19 Adrian Lyons (GS Invicta)
20 Richard Munday (Addiscombe)
21 Pat Hayes (PCA Orbea)
22 Paul Warner (Team Darenth)
23 Mark Cole (Addiscombe)
24 Alan Duncan (GS Invicta)
25 Steven Griffiths (Lee Valley CC)
26 Daniel Berry (London Phoenix)
27 Chris Attwell (GS Invicta)
28 Kevin Martin (Team Darenth)
29 Martin Lloydd (ERV)
30 Rob Kennison (Victory CC)
31 Harvey Pope (Medway Velo)
32 Glenn Hord (Cyclepathix)
33 Malcolm Fawcett (London Phoenix)
34 Ben Johnson (London Phoenix)
35 Graham Stacey (Catford CC)
36 Stuart Reilly (VC Deal)
37 David Steele (London Phoenix)
38 Mark Wade (VC Deal)
39 Mark Wyer (London Phoenix)
40 Marek Glowinski (VCL)
41 Dan Empson (Unattached)
42 Roger Hornsby (Catford CC)
43 Abigail Armstrong (London Phoenix)
44 Jim Whenman (Team Darenth)
45 Stephanie Betts (London Phoenix)
46 Bob Griffiths (Lee Valley CC)
47 Claire Ansell (VC Deal)
48 Debbie Knott (Icknield RC)
1 Ian Field (San Fairy Ann CC)
2 Steven Griffiths (Lee Valley Youth CC)
1 Mick Bell (London Fire Brigade)
2 Carl McDonagh (Brixton Cycles)
3 Chris Remnant (VC Meudon)
4 Graham Parkin (Team 2000)
5 Barry Martin (Team Darenth)
6 Paul Warner (Team Darenth)
7 Daniel Berry (London Phoenix)
8 Harvey Pope (Medway Velo)
9 Glenn Hord (Cyclepathix)
10 Graham Stacey (Catford CC)
11 Stuart Reilly (VC Deal)
12 Mark Wade (VC Deal)
13 Marek Glowinski (VCL)
14 Roger Hornsby (Catford CC)
15 Jim Whenman (Team Darenth)
16 Bob Griffiths (Lee Valley CC)
1 Abigail Armstrong (London Phoenix)
2 Stephanie Betts (London Phoenix)
3 Claire Ansell (VC Deal)
4 Debbie Knott (Icknield RC)
1 David Wood (VC Deal)
2 Nick Stacey (Catford CC)
3 Andrew Griffiths (Lee Valley Youth CC)
4 William Thompson (Bike Plus)
5 Tom Smart (VC Deal)
6 Rob Whenman (Team Darenth)
7 Billy Joe (Whenman Team Darenth)
8 Amy Thompson (Bike Plus)
9 Kurt Warner (Team Darenth)
10 Alex Paton (VC Deal)
11 Chris Richardson (VC Deal)
12 Katy Wade (VC Deal)
13 Tom Tutton (Unattached)
Under 14
1 Andrew Griffiths (Lee Valley Youth CC)
2 Tom Smart (VC Deal)
3 Billy Joe (Whenman Team Darenth)
4 Amy Thompson (Bike Plus)
5 Kurt Warner (Team Darenth)
6 Alex Paton (VC Deal)
7 Chris Richardson (VC Deal)
8 Katy Wade (VC Deal)
9 Tom Tutton (Unattached)
Under 12
1 Joe Perrett (Lee Valley Youth CC)
2 Michael Butler (VC Deal)
3 Martin Stolton (Victory CC)
4 Daniel Layton (Team Darenth)
5 Sam Johnson (VC Deal)
6 Rebecca Thompson (Bike Plus)
7 Samantha Bryant (Team Darenth)
8 Spencer Stevens (Victory CC)
9 James Wade (VC Deal)
10 Jessica Rix (Lee Valley Youth CC)
11 Max Sykes (VC Deal)
12 Josh Breune (Victory CC)
13 Graham Barnes (Victory CC)
14 Tom Kennison (Victory CC)
15 Greg Verryden (VC Deal)
Under 10
1 Sam Johnson (VC Deal)
2 Max Sykes (VC Deal)
3 Josh Thompson (VC Deal)
4 Liam Stolton (Victory CC)
5 Tom Kennison (Victory CC)
6 Sam Harris (VC Deal)
7 Liam White (VC Deal)
8 Atticus Hansell (VC Deal)
9 Joshua Parkin (Victory CC)
10 Jacob Kennison (Victory CC)
11 Serena Butler (VC Deal)
12 Gretel Warner (Team Darenth)
Previous results from the UK