Home Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on Cyclingnews.com

Giro finale
Photo ©: Bettini

 UCI codes explained

Sportsbook.com Cyclo-Cross - C3

Lancaster, USA, November 2, 2002


Wells and Vardaros chalk up wins at Sportsbook.com's Lancaster 'Cross

Todd Wells (Mongoose/Hyundai) and Marc Gullickson (Mongoose/Hyundai) came to town and on a fast, open course, put on another impressive display of teamwork.

On the first lap, a lead group formed that included Wells, Gullickson, Johannes Huseby (Independent Fabrications) and Jeremiah Bishop (Trek). As the pace quickened, Huseby was the first casualty, falling slightly off the pace. Once the group was down to three, Bishop attacked but his move was covered by Wells. Bunny-hopping the Sportsbook.com barriers, Bishop attacked again, and was again matched by Wells. Wells then counter-attacked, Gully bridged to Wells and Bishop was left all alone as the Mongoose teammates cranked up the speed.

Huseby, riding in forth rode a steady race and slowly reeled in Bishop. Hitting a section of barriers together, Huseby got a break when Bishop went down hard after a mis-timed bunny-hop. Huseby moved into third spot and never looked back. U23 rider Josh Anthony (CyclocrossWorld.com) and Jeff Weinert (Independent Fabrications) battled back and forth for fifth place the entire race.

At the line it was Wells crossing first, followed by Gullickson. Huseby held on for third, Bishop took fourth and fifth came down to a sprint finish that was won by Weinert.

In the Elite Women's race, Christine Vardaros (SallySpicer.com) got the hole shot at the start and was able to establish a comfortable gap over Charmian Breon (Freddie Fu) and Erin North (Trek). Amber Itle (University of Pennsylvania) settled into forth place. Behind Itle, a three way battle for fifth place was unwinding. Josie Shew (First State Velo Sport), Sami Fournier (Snow Valley) and Kristy Scheffenacker (Snow Valley) were waging a fierce battle until Scheffenacker stumbled in the sandpit. Shew and Fournier capitalized on her mistake and opened a gap she couldn't close.

Vardaros maintained her lead as the laps counted down even though Breon and North were putting in a valiant effort to catch her. Vardaros took the win and Breon had to settle for second. North took third and Itle rode a strong race for fourth. Current Mid-Atlantic Verge Series leader, Josie Shew, won the race for fifth place

U.S. Junior National Champion Jesse Anthony (Saturn Development) took the win in the Junior's race. Ohio rider, Phil Noble (Airborne) rode a great race to win the Masters 35+ race and Fred Wittwer (CRC/Extreme) won the Masters 45+ race.


Images by Matt Beaugard/www.lacticacid.org


1 Todd Wells (Mongoose)                                      57.28
2 Marc Gullickson (Mongoose)                                  0.02
3 Johannes Huseby (Independent Fabrication/CCB/VW)            1.09
4 Jeremiah Bishop (Trek vW)                                   1.39
5 Jeff Weinert (Independent Fabrication)                      2.43
6 Josh Anthony (Cyclocross World)
7 Ryan Trebon* (Highlands Cycling)                            3.10
8 Ryan Leech (Guys)
9 Gunnar Shogren (Guiness)
10 Michael Yozell (Guys bicycle club)                         2.58
11 Kris Auer (LSV Trek)                                       3.30
12 Sean Groom (Snow Valley)                                   3.32
13 Jonathan Bruno (Quad Cycles)
14 Leslie Leach (Club Wissahickon)                            4.01
15 Brandon Dwight (Excel Sports/Ritchey)                      4.13
16 Charles Storm (Cycling Spoken Here)                        4.42
17 Adam Meyerson (NCC/Bikereg.com)                            5.34
18 Jonathan Card (Cane Creek/Kavik Bicycles)
19 Ransom Weaver (Guys)
20 Joe Reynolds (Wissahickon)
21 Phil Noble (Airborne)
22 Jeremy Walker (Suburban Homes)                             5.43
23 Bill Elliston (Jaeger)                                     6.30
24 Jd Boilideau (NCC/Bikereg.com)                             7.04
25 John Hanson* (NECSA)                                       7.15
26 Gregory Wittwer* (charlottesville racing club)
27 David Allen (KHSnm.com)                                    8.01
28 Greg Ferguson (Wissahickon)                                8.47
29 Al Senft (Northern Kentucky Flyers/Montgomery Cyclery)
dnf Bobby Lea* (Team Fuji)
dnf John Riedel (Independent Fabrication)
dnf Ethan Townsend (Red Rose Rockets)
dnf Skip Menard (Snow Valley)
dnf Eric Slick (Monkey Hill)
dnf Ryan Dewald (Beans)
dnf Troy Wells* (Kingston Cyclery)
* = Under 23
1 Christine Vardaros                                         43.42
2 Charmian Breon                                              1.40
3 Erin North (Trek/VW)                                        2.36
4 Amber Itle (Wissahickon)                                    3.00
5 Josie Shew (FSVS)                                           3.59
6 Sami Fournier (Snow Valley)                                 4.06
7 Kerry Litka (Wheelsworks)                                   4.14
8 Kristy Scheffenacker (Snow Valley)                          4.15
9 Kristine Oesterling (Trek/VW/JBL)                           4.17
10 Thais Dasilva (Dogfish)                                    5.48
11 Erica Miller (Wissahickon)                                 6.01
12 Bonni Stoeckl (Evolution)                                  6.50
13 Lisa Vible (First State Velo Sport)                        7.32
14 Jill Morgan (Evolution Pro Bike)                           7.45
15 Tammy Ebersole (Evolution)                                 8.05
16 Sue Heckler (Evolution Pro Racing)                         9.58
17 Christine Saraceni (Mambo Kings)                          10.30
dnf Donna Anderson (Evolution Racing)
dnf Kelly Yoder (Freddie Fu)