Home Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on Cyclingnews.com

Dauphiné Libéré
Photo ©: Sirotti

 UCI codes explained

Results & reports from the UK

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to Cyclingnews

Untitled Document

Surry league #1
Eddy Soens memorial
Surry league #2
Surry league festival




Mosquito/Kinesis London Cyclo-Cross League #7

Team Darenth, Temple School, Strood, November 17, 2002

Spence regains form with League win

By www.londoncyclesport.com

We say a massive thankyou to Paul Warner, Rob Kennison, Clive Jenns, Team Darenth and all at Temple School for organising round 7 at the last minute (see Paul's words below).

The course weaved around the school playing fields and although flat it was not uninteresting and a few wayward footballs kept us all on our toes, there were even sections of singletrack. Rain had made the grass slippy and it was a fast course.

Warrick Spence (Bikepark.co.uk) had won at round 6 at Hillingdon and although he was brought down to earth at the London Championships (check out his report at the BP site) he was keen to continue his new cross career with another win.

Spence went straight to it and set off at a pace that one could match, trying to stay on were Steve Price (De Laune), Marcos Schier, Jon Sharpe (Saucony) and Ben Lockwood (GS Invicta).

Spence's lack of cross experience showed as he lost time on the tricky bits and then would make gains on the straights, but as he became more comfortable he stopped losing time. Price and Sharpe looked the most likely to do anything about Spence whilst Schier was also showing a lack of cross skills and had lost time. Price gave up the chase and pulled out saying that it wasn't his day. Schier was now matching speed with skill and had caught and passed Sharpe to take 2nd at over a minute down on Spence. Sharpe in turn was 3rd with Lockwood 4th at over 3 minutes.

Carl McDonagh (Brixton Cycles) was top veteran and placed 5th after a great ride. Abigail Armstrong was best woman and there were no Juniors.

The 4th round of the National Trophy Series had taken away many riders and we are looking forward to a real battle when they return for the joint London and Eastern League meeting at Eastway on November 24.


Seniors/Women/Juniors/Veterans, 8 laps
1 Warwick Spence (Bikepark)                             52.56
2 Marcos Schier                                         1.08
3 Jon Sharpe (Saucony)                                   2.27
4 Ben Lockwood (GS Invicta ELO)                          3.22
5 Carl McDonagh (Brixton Cycles)                         5.19
6 Paul Hayes (PCA Orbea)
7 Daniel Rudd (De Laune CC)
8 Niel Simpson (London Phoenix)
9 Shawn Blatay (Finsbury Park CC)
10 Douglas Fox (Crawley Wheelers)
11 Paul Warner (Team Darenth)
12 Alan Duncan (GS Invicta)                            1 Lap
13 Malcolm Fawcett (London Phoenix)
14 Ray Coop (VC Deal)
15 Rob Kennison (Victory CC)
16 Graham Parkin (Team 2000)
17 Matthew Lewis (London Phoenix)
18 Paul Buckley (Wigmore CC)
19 Barry Martin (Team Darenth)
20 Graham Freer (Finsbury Park CC)
21 Kevin Martin (Team Darenth)
22 Tom Underhill (u/a)
23 Daniel Berry (London Phoenix)
24 Anthony Muir (Wigmore CC)
25 Mark Wyer (London Phoenix)
26 J Gilyl (GS Invicta)
27 Jonathan Hemming (Addiscombe CC)
28 Konrad Manning (Finsbury Park CC)
29 D Steele (London Phoenix)
30 Harvey Pope (Medway Velo)
31 Stuart Reilly (VC Deal)
32 Andy Clements (London Fire Brigade)
33 Barry Allen (London Phoenix)
34 Neal Marrin (Finsbury Park CC)
35 Mark Wade (VC Deal)                                   2 Laps
36 Roger Hornsby (Catford CC)
37 David Smilt (Catford CC)
38 Abigail Armstrong (London Phoenix)
39 Daniel Bell (London Phoenix)
40 Michael Ansell (Festival RC)
41 Jim (rear red light) Whenman (Team Darenth)         3 Laps
42 Clare Hansell (Deal Tri)
Under 10s
1 Sam Johnson (VC Deal)
2 Max Sykes (VC Deal)
3 Nat Jarvis (Team Darenth)
4 Josh Thompson (VC Deal)
5 Atticus Hansel (Deal Tri)
6 Tom Kennison (Victory CC)
7 Liam White (VC Deal)
8 Kieran Reilly (VC Deal)
9 Ryan Jackelman (Team Darenth)
10 Josh Parkin (Victory CC)
11 Sebastian Hansel (Deal Tri)
12 Jacob Kennison (Victory CC)
13 Gretel Warner (Team Darenth)
14 Serena Butler (VC Deal)
Under 12s
1 Michael Butler (VC Deal)
2 Brett Jackelman (Team Darenth)
3 James Wade (VC Deal)
4 Daniel Layton (Team Darenth)
5 Sam Johnson (VC Deal)
6 Samantha Bryant (Team Darenth)
7 Josh Browne (Victory CC)
8 Emma White (VCL)
DNF Tom Kennison
DNF Kieran Rielly
Youth/U14, 3 laps
1 James Coop (VC Deal)                               21.37
2 Robert Whenman (Team Darenth)
3 Tom Smart (VC Deal)                                 1.10
4 Billy-Joe Whenman (Team Darenth)
5 Alex Paton (VC Deal)
6 George Thomas (Crawley Wheelers)
7 Joe Tickner (Victory CC)
8 Kurt Warner (Team Darenth)
9 Chris Richardson (VC Deal)
10 Tom Tuker (u/a)
11 Katy Wade (VC Deal)
Previous results from the UK