Home Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on Cyclingnews.com

Dauphiné Libéré
Photo ©: Sirotti

 UCI codes explained

UK National Trophy #3 - C2

Ipswich, Great Britain, October 26, 2008

2007 Results    Results

Oldham storms to victory

By BikeRadar

Series leader Ian Field (Hargroves Cycles) had to settle for third spot after Paul Oldham (Hope Factory Racing) stormed to a dramatic victory at Chantry Park in Ipswich. Lancashire-based Oldham, last year's National Trophy winner, made the most of his 500-mile round trip with a narrow victory which closes the gap on Field to just six points.

The course and conditions were well suited to Oldham's style of riding, with plenty of mud, but he finished only five seconds ahead of Jody Crawforth (Arctic Premier RT) and nine seconds before third-placed Ian Field (Hargroves Cycles).

Those three had been together for much of the race and stayed together until the final circuit, where Oldham made his move with 300-400 yards to go and held his advantage to the line.

"I'm well happy to win," said Oldham. "It was a great course and just the sort of conditions I like. It was muddy but still rideable.

"I thought it would have split early on but for some reason the three of us stayed together, once we had shaken off the Science in Sport riders.

"It makes the title race interesting now it's tough at the top. But I wouldn't want to be in Ian's position, because everybody has a bad day in yellow at Mallory Park, where the next round is."

With this year's series having six rounds - one more than usual - it is still wide open, with Field leading with 140 points from Oldham on 134 and Crawforth on 128.


Elite/Under 23
1 Paul Oldham (Hope Racing)                  
2 Jody Crawforth (Arctic Premier)            
3 Ian Field (Hargroves Cycles)               
4 Ian Wilkinson (Science in Sport - Trek)    
5 Dave Collins (Science in Sport - Trek)     
6 Rob Jebb (Wheelbase)                       
7 Stuart Wearmouth (Picarsso Pulman)         
8 Stuart Bowers (Hargroves Cycles)           
9 Oscar Vazquez (Spain)                      
10 Tomas Vernackt (Asfra Flanders)           
1 Sue Clarke (Science in Sport)              
2 Annie Last (www.zepnat.com)                
3 Nikki Harris (wielerteam de sprinters)     
4 Ruby Millar (Junior)                       
5 Isla Rowntree (Stourbridge cc)             
6 Marie Stuart (Team Chance)                 
7 Nina Davies (Ogmore Valley Wheelers)       
8 Rachel Moss (Ford CC)                      
9 Louise Day (Fat Birds CC)                  
10 Anna Buik (Thetford MTB Racing)           
1 Max Sykes (VC Deal)                        
2 Alistair Slater (Bourne Wh)                
3 Joshua Papworth (Wyre Forest)              
4 Alec Briggs (Arctic Premier)               
5 Luke Grivell-Mellor (Mid Shropshire Wh)    
6 Hugo Humphrieys (Lee Valley Youth CC)      
7 Sam Lowe (Go Spex Sports)                  
8 Hugo Robinson (Ipswich BC)                 
9 Patrick Scarboro (Citihub)                 
10 Taylor Johnstone (Team de Ver)            
1 Hanna Payton (Stourbridge CC)              
2 Bethany Cumpton (Halesowen)                
3 Amy Roberts (Lifeforce)                    
1 Geoff Giddings (Thule)                     
2 Chris Young (JD Cycles)                    
3 Antony Green (GA Cycles)                   
4 Mathew Denby (www.zepnat.com)              
5 Andrew Shaw (Thule EAS)                    
6 Phil Roach (Rugby Velo)                    
7 Noel Clough (Fietsen Tempo)                
8 Kenny Johnson (Science in Sport)           
9 David Stevens (Triangle RT)                
10 Steve Barnes (www.zepnat.com)             
Men 50+
1 Ian Wright (Wyre Forest)                   
2 Roy Hunt (Colnago Ergon)                   
3 Malcolm Cross (Hargroves Cycles)           
Junior men
1 Sam Harrison (Cwmcarn Paragon)             
2 Oliver Webster (JD Cycles)                 
3 Paul Young (JD Cycles)                     
4 Daniel Mclay (Univega.co.uk)               
5 David Nichols (Glendene CC)                
6 William Verney (Felt Racing)               
7 Thomas Lowe (Go Sports Spex)               
8 Thomas Moses (SSC Cyclesport)              
9 Luke Newby (Diss)                          
10 Matthew Cook (Mildenhall CC )