Home Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on Cyclingnews.com

Giro finale
Photo ©: Bettini

 UCI codes explained

FLC Squawker Cup #1 - NE

Dolores, Colorado, October 18, 2008


Brown schools the field

By Doug LaMunyon

Two-time single-speed world champion, Travis Brown (Trek), put on two clinics as the sport of cyclo-cross introduced itself to the people of Southwest Colorado along the banks of the Dolores River. Prior to the first race in the two-day event, Brown led a group through an introduction to the skills and techniques needed in the cross discipline. After the clinic, he grabbed his belt driven single-speed and, once again, showed everyone how it is done, winning the Men's A race by a hefty margin.

The course wound between the baseball and soccer fields in Dolores' Joe Rowell Park, but the difference maker came after a short run-up onto the river levee. After remounting for the gravel straight on the sixth lap, Brown accelerated into a headwind across the levee and split the lead group of four into a duo with Joey Thompson (Rocky Mountain Chocolate Factory)—the only rider able to respond. Brown attacked and was able to gap Thompson with three laps to go, and then he spent the last two laps padding his lead.

The course also suited women's winner, Carmen McNellis (Aaron's). McNellis went to the front from the gun and had a gap before the first obstacle. The road pro had to push through a solo workout as she eventually lapped the small field.

"The course was great," McNellis said after the race, "It was made for a roadie."



1 Carmen McNellis (Aaron's)
2 Stephanie Swan
3 Anne Cheeney (Durango Devo)
4 Martha Iverson (Durango Wheel Club)
5 Tina Dominic

Men A

1 Travis Brown (Trek)
2 Joey Thompson (Rocky Mountain Chocolate Factory)
3 Whit Johnson
4 Grant Berry (Rocky Mountain Chocolate Factory)
5 John Stephens (Fort Lewis College)
6 Greg Lewis (Directory Plus/Trek)
7 Ryan Barthel (Rocky Mountain Chocolate Factory)
8 Alister Ratcliff (Fior di Fontta)
9 Chad Cheeney
10 Kenny When (SRAM)
11 Robin Guillaume
12 Michael Carroll (Durango Wheel Club)
DNF Brendan Schafer

Men B

1 Jonathon Delacey (Durango Wheel Club)
2 Tom Miller (Ciclistas del Rio)
3 Steve Lamont (DCCX)
4 Jeff Fox (Ciclistas del Rio)
5 Jess Arie
6 Eric Malone (Durango Wheel Club)
7 Alex Dossin (Cycle Loft)
8 Brian Bluemle (BSK Law/Bike World)
9 James Temte
10 Beau Savage (Durango Wheel Club)
11 Wayne Natolskie (Kokopelli)
12 Brandon McNellis (Hobbit House)
13 Richard Bagienski (3D Racing)
14 Eric Burris (Durango Wheel Club)
15 Joe Burtoni Jr.
DNF Walt Axthelm (Durango Wheel Club)
DNF Tom Hoefer (Durango Wheel Club)

Mens 40+ 

1 Joe Burtoni (Durango Wheel Club)
2 Robert Sonora (Durango Wheel Club)
3 James Deaton (3D Racing)