Home Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on Cyclingnews.com

Giro finale
Photo ©: Bettini

 UCI codes explained

Internationale Veldritten op de Koppenberg (GvA Trofee #1) - C1

Oudenaarde, Belgium, November 1, 2008

Main Page    Results   Overall standings    Previous Race   Next Race

Race 2 - November 1: U23 Men

Walsleben triumphs in Koppenberg mud bath

By Brecht Decaluwé in Melden, Belgium

Philipp Walsleben wins solo at the Koppenberg
Photo ©: Isosport
(Click for larger image)

One day ahead of the European championships in Liévin most U23 big guns skipped the Koppenbergcross in order to be fresh the next day. That wasn't the case though for German Philipp Walsleben who easily captured the win in Oudenaarde ahead of his Belgian team-mate Sven Verboven and Kevin Cant.

Walsleben had a gap of thirty seconds on his closest rival, but early on in the race there was another rider who was able to match the German's speed around the Koppenberg. Daniel Summerhill rode in the lead together with Walsleben for two laps before bad luck threw him out of the race.

The American was slowly losing pressure in his rear tyre, and since his spare bike had a broken shifter the race was over for the man from Colorado. Winner Walsleben explained that Summerhill was an unexpected strong rider in the race. "I didn't know that he punctured," Walsleben reacted when asked about Summerhill. "I was surprised by his performance, especially his running is great," Walsleben said.

The German expressed the hope to recover quickly from the efforts in the mud bath on the Koppenberg in order to battle for the win in Liévin. Meanwhile Summerhill, a former junior silver medalist at the world championships, was getting warm in the van together with compatriot Bjorn Selander who finished eleventh in Oudenaarde.

Words couldn't describe how the two young riders felt, but seeing them steaming from the cold while covered with mud said it all. The look in Summerhill's eyes when asked whether he felt he would have been able to follow Walsleben spoke volumes. "Yeah, I wasn't planning to let him go," Summerhill said.

Selander complained about the lack of grip in the mud bath during the first half of the race. "I wasn't getting anywhere," Selander said. "Once I had my other tyres I felt much better and I was moving up positions as well." The duo wasn't 100% sure whether they would be racing on Sunday or not. Certainly Summerhill and Selander wouldn't be racing in Liévin where the European championships are held. The Americans may race in Veghel-Eerde where the Superprestige race is held, but the opposition there will not be strong due to the championships.


For a thumbnail gallery of these images, click here

Images by Brecht Decaluwé

Images by Isosport


1 Philipp Walsleben (Ger)                             49.23
2 Sven Verboven (Bel)                                  0.31
3 Kevin Cant (Bel)                                     1.03
4 Marcel Meisen (Ger)                                  1.33
5 Dave De Cleyn (Bel)                                  1.47
6 Jan Denuwelaere (Bel)                                1.58
7 Stef Boden (Bel)                                     2.31
8 Dries Dewit (Bel)                                    2.48
9 Robert Gavenda (Svk)                                 2.55
10 Rudy Kowalski (Fra)                                 3.00
11 Bjorn Selander (USA)                                3.12
12 Thomas Vernaeckt (Bel)                              3.17
13 Gianni Denolf (Bel)                                 3.35
14 Michiel Dieleman (Bel)                              3.40
15 Kaj Slenter (Ned)                                   4.00
16 Sven Beelen (Bel)                                   4.01
17 Kristof Cop (Bel)                                   4.14
18 Jan Van Zeebroeck (Bel)                             4.36
19 Mauro Gonzalez (Spa)                                4.52
20 Marco Minnaard (Ned)                                5.00
21 Kristof Zegers (Bel)                                5.11
22 Robby Cobbaert (Bel)                                5.34
23 Arnaud Van den Abeele (Bel)                         5.55
24 Jonatan Bervoets (Bel)                              6.10
25 Mark Smit (Ned)                                     6.24
26 Dries Pauwels (Bel)                                 6.36
27 Bart Hermans (Bel)                                      
28 Dennis Verhoeven (Bel)                              6.45
29 Jeffrey Depuydt (Bel)                               6.49
30 Henryk Cardoen (Bel)                                7.20
31 Simon Geets (Bel)                                   7.32
32 Laurent Moulin (Bel)                                7.39
33 Jelle Brackman (Bel)                                7.55
34 Tom Desmet (Bel)                                    8.30
35 Dimitri Stevens (Bel)                               8.58
36 Bart Barkhuis (Ned)                                 9.09
37 Jonas De Boey (Bel)                                 9.21
38 Thomas Boeckx (Bel)                                10.35
39 Dany Lacroix (Bel)                                      
1 lap behind
40 Cristian Izquierdo (Bel)                                
41 Cees de Ridder (Ned)                                    
42 Laurens Libbrecht (Bel)                                 
43 Amadeusz Rodzinski (Pol)                                
44 Kenneth Speltinckx (Bel)                                
45 Lorenzo Messine (Bel)                                   
46 Mateusz Chmurzewski (Pol)                               
47 Jordan Becquet (Bel)                                    
48 Sonny Vangerven (Bel)                                   
49 Jean-Baptiste Taleux. (Bel)                             
U23 standings
1 Philipp Walsleben (Ger)                                25 pts
2 Sven Verboven (Bel)                                    22
3 Kevin Cant (Bel)                                       19
4 Marcel Meisen (Ger)                                    17
5 Dave De Cleyn (Bel)                                    16
6 Jan Denuwelaere (Bel)                                  15
7 Stef Boden (Bel)                                       14
8 Dries Dewit (Bel)                                      13
9 Robert Gavenda (Svk)                                   12
10 Rudy Kowalski (Fra)                                   11
11 Bjorn Selander (USA)                                  10
12 Thomas Vernaeckt (Bel)                                 9
13 Gianni Denolf (Bel)                                    8
14 Michiel Dieleman (Bel)                                 7
15 Kaj Slenter (Ned)                                      6
16 Sven Beelen (Bel)                                      5
17 Kristof Cop (Bel)                                      4
18 Jan Van Zeebroeck (Bel)                                3
19 Mauro Gonzalez (Spa)                                   2
20 Marco Minnaard (Ned)                                   1