Home Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on Cyclingnews.com

Mt Hood Classic
Photo ©: Swift

 UCI codes explained

13th Ciclocross Ciudad de Valencia - C2

Valencia, Spain, December 14, 2008

2007 Results    Results    Past winners

Suárez wins tight race against Yus

Isaac Suárez (Cantabria Infinita-BH) won the Ciclocross of the city of Valencia in a tight sprint against Unai Yus (Aidazu Lankide). Oscar Vázquez (Aquagest C.C.) was third, 13 seconds back. Constantino Zaballa Gutierrez (Povoa Cycling Club) finished in fourth half a minute later. The field consisted entirely of Spaniards.

Yus was not disillusioned with his second place. "I had a lot of fun during the race and I felt well." Yus acknowledged the strength of Suárez. "I tried to attack Suárez during the last lap, but it was impossible." In the end, it was a small detail in the last corner that decided the race. "I had to go into the turn with my foot unclipped and Suárez passed me."

A group of five quickly sped away from the others and Suárez, Yus, Zaballa, Vázquez and Mauro Montan battled it out for victory. Going into the last lap, Zaballa and Montan were the first to get dropped. Vázquez was the next to surrender to the high speeds, leaving the duo of Suárez and Yus to fight for glory.


1 Isaac Suárez (Spa) Cantabria Infinita-BH               1.01.30
2 Unai Yus (Spa) Aidazu Lankide
3 Oscar Vazquez (Spa) Aquagest C.C.                         0.13
4 Constantino Zaballa Gutierrez (Spa) Povoa Cycling Club    0.30
5 Mauro González (Spa) Aquagest C.C.
6 David Seco Amundarain (Spa) Froiz Spiuk                   1.21
7 David Lozano (Spa) MSC Bikes Team                         1.32
8 Santiago Armero (Spa) La Valldigna Manc                   1.47
9 Joseba León (Spa) Ciclos Maestre
10 Xavier Carnicer (Spa) Massi                              2.22
11 Alex Izquierdo (Spa) Campo Ditec-Cos                     2.33
12 Luis Hurtado (Spa) Valencia PCR                          2.43
13 Eduardo Recassens (Spa) Seleccion Catalana               2.51
14 Diego Martinez (Spa) Enbici                              2.57
15 Jorge Rodriguez (Spa) Yuste - Zirauna                    3.17
16 Antono Suarez (Spa) Cantabria Infinita-BH                3.29
17 Sergio Mantecon (Spa) Cemelorca Seguros                  3.40
18 David Nadal (Spa) Roleauto-Upgrade                       3.44
19 Raul Ballester (Spa) Valencia PCR                        3.58
20 Manuel Frances (Spa) Moixent Equip Ciclismo              4.18
21 Daniel Guerrero (Spa) Villanueva Castel                  4.20
22 Julian Adrada (Spa) Bicicletas Mo                        5.51
23 Daniel Alej. Moreno (Spa) Bicicletas Salchi
24 Ricardo Anto Monar (Spa) Cosaor Costa Azah
25 José-M Merce (Spa) Roleauto-Upgrade
26 Eloy Anton (Spa) La Valldigna Manc
27 Jofre Grau (Spa) Roleauto-Upgrade
28 Fco.José Gerico (Spa) Bcpicassent
29 Carlos Gerico (Spa) Bcpicassent
30 Jose Domin Cadavieco (Spa) Udias Paraiso Nat
31 Fernando Gerico (Spa) Valencia Pcr
32 Roberto Carl Perez (Spa) Bcpicassent
33 Javier Mico (Spa) Moixent Equip Cic
34 Santiago Perales (Spa) Radical Bike CC
35 Manuel Martin (Spa) Yuste - Zirauna

Past winners

2007 Unai Yus (Spa) Zuyano Club C