Home Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on Cyclingnews.com

Dauphiné Libéré
Photo ©: Sirotti

 UCI codes explained

Georgia Cross Series #1 - NE

Conyers, Georgia, USA, October 21, 2007


Record turnout for season opener

By Adam Jones

The 2007 Georgia Cross Series opened with a record turnout at the Conyers Cyclo-cross race. With Georgia in a drought the course was dry and fast. The finishing straight was slightly downhill and into the wind keeping the races together for much of the day.

The men's 1/2 field saw a tight battle with the top three sprinting it out to finish only inches apart. Young Oscar Clark nipped Thomas Turner and Tim Barrett at the line to show he's ready to be the next king of 'cross.

The women's race was won by Kim Sawyer who went from the gun and was determined to show the men who owned the course. Sawyer soloed away for the victory with Ellen Carroll and Holly Longley chasing to finish second and third.

The racing continues next weekend at Fort Yargo State Park in Winder, GA which held the largest race of the year last year.


For a thumbnail gallery of these images, click here

Images by Trish Albert/www.southeasterncycling.com


Men 1/2
1 Oscar Clark (FFCC)                              
2 Thomas Turner (Bear Naked Cannondale)           
3 Tim Barrett (Myogenesis)                        
4 Casey Magner (Myogenesis)                       
5 Dave Howe (Camp Highland)                       
6 Christian Parrett (FFCC)                        
7 Tristian Cowie (Dahlonega Wheelworks)        
8 Daryl Sawyer (Van Dessel)                       
9 Ryan Barnett (Blue Comp Cycles)
10 Andrew Johnson (Cycle Youth)         
Women 1/2/3
1 Kim Sawyer (BMW Bianchi)                        
2 Ellen Carroll Cycleworks                        
3 Holly Longley Sorella Cycling                   
4 Kristin Keim ( Cycleworks)                      
5 Susie Council                                   
6 Alison Lowry (Sorella Cycling)                  
7 Marin Benson (Birchwood)                        
9 Kari Lindner (Sorella Cycling)                  
9 Trish Albert (OTR Cycling)                      
Men 3
1 Tim Owens (Peachtree Bikes)                     
2 Nate Sibley (Peachtree Bikes)                   
3 Sean Harper (Myogenesis)                        
4 Jesse Morse (Neptune)                           
5 Alex Clifford                                   
6 Joshua Stinger (RBM)                            
7 Nick Dale (The Hub)                             
8 Travis Neumuller (Free Flite)                   
9 Brandon Amtour (APB)                            
10 David Sagat                                    
Men 4
1 William Coil                                    
2 Jansen Lindner (GTC)                            
3 Andrew Szzr                                     
4 Joe Burch (United Community Bank)               
5 Ryan Waller (Bike Center)                       
6 Yoni Pollzi (Bikeways of Tucker)                
7 Zack Durrett (Cycle Youth)                      
8 Jesse Jones                                     
9 Will McGinnis (FFCC)                            
10 Ryan Crabbe (Columbus Bike Racing)             
Women 4
1 Nancy Dalman (Dahlonega Wheelworks)             
2 Jane Hayward (N/A)                              
3 Elizabeth Lee (Augusta Cyclocross Coalition)    
4 Betsy Austin (Sorella Cycling)                  
5 Deborah Howland (Vello Bella)                   
6 Melissa Bloom (Sorella Cycling)                 
7 Stephanie Gamble-Morse                          
8 Melanie Neumuller (Free Flite)                  
9 Sharon Thomas                                   
Master 35+
1 Nate Zukas (Augusta Cyclocross Coalition)       
2 James Wansley (Cycleworks)                      
3 Robert Kuhn (Hup United)                        
4 Brendan Sullivan (e-mag Solutions)              
5 Brady Rogers (Myogenesis)                       
6 Chance Regina (Morgan Stanley)                  
7 Theron Colucci (GTC)                            
8 Sam Thompson                                    
9 Leonard Talarico                                
10 Chad Madan (Pacesetter Steel)                  
Master 45+
1 Gerard Remery (GTC)                             
2 Dan Coy (GTC)                                   
3 Torre Smitherman (GTC)                          
4 Brad Harper (Cycleworks)                        
5 Lamar Mauney (FFCC)                             
6 David Witherow                                  
7 James Behning (GTC)                             
8 Kevin McCauley                                  
9 Randy Nelson (Cycleworks)                       
10 Bobby Thrash (Addictive Cycles)