Home Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on Cyclingnews.com

Mont Ventoux
Photo ©: Sirotti

 UCI codes explained

North Carolina Grand Prix 2 - C2

North Carolina, Hendersonville, USA, November 18, 2007

2006 Results    Results


Manderfield and Hamblen Victorious in North Carolina

By Janet Trubey

It seemed an almost unanimous decision from all racers spoken to, that the course for the North Carolina Grand Prix is fast and fun. As on the previous day, the elite racers set out on the same course that had a mix of tight grassy turns, elevation changes with a tough hill that posed as a problem for all but the elite riders, a churned up sand pit, and the running track start and finish. While both the elite fields saw different winners from the day before, Jon Hamblen (RGM Watches/Richard Sachs) is no stranger to wins in North Carolina.

As one of the frequent racers in the NC series, Winston-Salem resident, Hamblen took the win in style alongside yesterday's winner and team-mate Justin Spinelli. After a warm up lap that included being the lead motto for the kids' race, Hamblen used the number one call up to get off to a fast start. But it was Matt Shriver (Jittery Joes) who took the hole shot to the grass. As the field snaked along on the first lap, little separation occurred and the lead changed several times. A few laps into the race it looked like the day's strongmen were in a group of seven comprised of Hamblen, Spinelli, Shriver, Steve Tilford (KCCX/Verge), Taylor Carrington (Turin Bicycles/CTS), Jonny Sundt (Kelly Benefit Strategies) and Charlie Pendry (Back to Dirt/Inland Construction).

Although the seven riders were constantly attacking one another, no single rider was able to break out of the group and gain a big enough lead to stay away. Hamblen and Spinelli had planned to wear down the leaders by one towing their rivals, but the group was so strong that they were still all together when they entered the final lap. Hamblen was clearly frustrated as no one seemed to want to race but he was unable to break free from the group on his own. In the final lap, Pendry was the first to fall off the pace, and the six remaining entered the sandpit in single file. It was Spinelli and Hamblen that were the quickest back on their bikes and onto the track with a small gap. With Carrington closing in on them they had no time to discuss who would take the win, and so Spinelli gifted the race to his team-mate, Hamblen, since he had won the previous day. Carrington came in third, followed by Sundt, Shriver, and then Tilford.

Just as the men had a lead group stay together from start to finish, so too did the elite women. Difference was the lead group was practically the entire field. With small numbers in the women's field, it was six women who kept an eye on each other throughout the race. Kelly Jones (Sugoi/Cannondale/Bontrager) who won on Saturday was clearly being watched by Betsy Shogren (Fort Factory), Catherine Walberg (Team Kendra Tire), Cara McCauley and Kim Sawyer (BMW- Bianchi). Little did they know that also hiding in the lead group was the current Collegiate Women's National Points Race Champion, Kacey Manderfield (Lees McRae), and this race was setting up to be a field sprint on the running track finish. With the crowd from Lees McRae cheering her on, Manderfield took the sprint from Jones. Shogren rounded out the podium in third.


Elite men
1 Jonathan Hamblen (Rgm Wathces-Richard Sachs)       55.57
2 Justin Spinelli (Rgm Wathces-Richard Sachs)             
3 Taylor Carrington (Turin Bicycles - Powerbar)       0.03
4 Jonathan Sundt (Kelly Benefit Strategies/Medif)     0.06
5 Matt Shriver (Jittery Joe's)                        0.19
6 Steve Tilford (Team Kccx/Verge)                     0.25
7 Nathan Wyatt (Carolina Fatz/Sram/Santa Cruz)        0.48
8 Charles Pendry (Inland Construction - Btd)              
9 Travis Livermon (Cycling Spoken Here)                   
10 Nicholas Waite (Kbs/Medifast Pro Cycling Team)     1.04
11 Joshua Johnson (Big Shark Racing)                  1.10
12 Andy Applegate (Landrover / Cannondale)            1.14
13 Oscar Clark (Land Rover/Siemens Home Applia)       1.39
14 Evan Hyde (Ridley)                                 2.35
15 Charlie Storm (Inland Construction - Btd)          2.39
16 Nathan Rice (Big Shark)                            2.53
17 James Schneider (Sonic Cyclocross/Jittery Joes)    3.01
18 John Degele (Inland Construction - Btd)            3.09
19 Jacob Fetty (Myogenesis/Thebikegame Dot Com)       4.00
20 Aaron Bradford (Lees-Mcrae College)                4.11
21 Josh Whitmore (Carolina Tri - Ryobi Tools)         4.21
22 Matt Rotroff (Inland Construction - Btd)           4.37
23 Joshua Stevens (Inland Const. Btd)                 5.14
24 Alex Ryan (Land Rover/Cannondale)                  6.16
25 Tristan Cowie (Brevard College)                    7.41
1 lap down
26 Bryan Schoeffler (Ridley Factory Team)                 
DNF Rich Harper (Abercrombie Fitch)                       
Elite women
1 Kacey Manderfield (Lees-McRae Cycling Team)        42.01
2 Kelly Jones (Sugoi / Cannondale / Bontrager)            
3 Elizabeth Shogren (Fort Factory Team)                   
4 Catherine Walberg (Team Kenda Tire)                     
5 Cara Mccauley (BMW - Bianchi)                           
6 Kimberly Sawyer (BMW - Bianchi)                     0.07
7 Angelina Stevens (Inland Const. Btd)                4.40
8 Hadley Trotter (Unc)                                6.19