Home Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on Cyclingnews.com

Bayern Rundfahrt
Photo ©: Schaaf

 UCI codes explained

Kansai Cyclo-cross meeting Miami Round - C2

Ritto-city, Japan, November 25, 2007

2006 results   Results   Past winners

National champs dominate on sandy curcuit

By Kei Tsuji

Keiichi Tsujiura (Bridgestone Anchor)
Photo ©: Hideaki Takagi
(Click for larger image)

Japan's only UCI category two cyclo-cross race held on the shores of Lake Biwa. Five time Japanese champion, Keiichi Tsujiura took out the men's event while current women's national champion, Ayako Toyooka, who has been busy racing a number of world cup races this season took out the womens event.

Held on Miami beach, the 51 strong field of men set off on the grueling sandy course, with many opting to ride on the harder sand found in the water where available.

Shortly after the start, Tsujiura's attack left the rest of the field merely to watch the national champions jersey ride away from them. Behind, two riders from Suwako Racing, Atsushi Maruyama and Masanori Kosaka chased hard, but the gap grew gradually. Masahiko Mifune (Matrix Powertag) recovered from a poor start, passing all but Tsujiura top finish a strong second.

The furious pace set by Tsujiura, who is now aiming to attend some World Cup and Super prestige events, was such that only 14 riders were able to finish. could reach the finish. The champion declared a strong motivation for coming World Cup and Superprestige races.

Current women's national champion, Ayako Toyooka, fresh from racing the World cup rounds in Europe, was too strong for the women's field showing her experience by soloing to finish.


For a thumbnail gallery of these images, click here

Images by Hideaki Takagi


Elite men

1 Keiichi Tsujiura (Jpn) Bridgestone Anchor                1.08.39
2 Masahiko Mifune (Jpn) Matrix Powertag                       2.05
3 Masanori Kosaka (Jpn) Suwako Racing                         2.21
4 Atsushi Maruyama (Jpn) Suwako Racing                        2.26
5 Ikemoto Shinya (Jpn) Wakokiki                               2.35
6 Yu Takenouchi (Jpn) Trek                                    2.51
7 Kentaro Eshita (Jpn) Team M/X Salsa                         3.30
8 Seigo Yamamoto (Jpn) Kai Racing                             4.47
9 Katsunori Irie (Jpn) Shimano Drinking                       4.53
10 Yudai Izawa (Jpn) Bee Club                                 5.15
11 Daisuke Yano (Jpn) Independent Fabrication                 7.36
12 Hiroshi Funaoka (Jpn) Testach Racing                       8.13
13 Shinji Kubo (Jpn) Foobar Network                           8.28
14 Masashi Matsui (Jpn) Shimano Drinking                      9.37

Elite women

1 Ayako Toyooka (Jpn)                                         37.23
2 Michiko Shimura (Jpn) Equipe Azumino                         2.01
3 Kaoru Fukai (Jpn) BMC                                        6.16
4 Waka Isaka (Jpn) Cowboy                                      6.29
5 Sayaka Sato (Jpn) bicinoko.com                               6.34
6 Yukari Nakamura (Jpn) Nakagawa A.S.K' Design                 7.42
7 Tamami Kubota (Jpn) Strada R                                 9.11
8 Tomoka Iwata (Jpn) Club Silbest                             10.50

Past Winners

2006 Keiichi Tsujiura (Jpn) Bridgestone Anchor