Home Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on Cyclingnews.com

Giro finale
Photo ©: Bettini

 UCI codes explained

Angell Park & Speedway 'Cross - NE

Wisconsin, USA, November 18, 2007


Matter and Schneider triumphant at Angell Park Speedway

By John Ericsson

Adam Bergman and Brian Matter
Photo ©: John P. Ericsson
(Click for larger image)

Sun Prairie, Wisconsin's Angell Park & Speedway has emerged as one of the Upper Midwest's toughest 'cross courses. For 2007 the promoters laid out a fast and tough loop that included a run through the now famous tunnel of cheering fans in the Beer Garden, a long and steep climb and some challenging technical sections. The dry weather allowed a run on the clay racing oval. This was race #10 in the 11 race Wisconsin-Planet Bike CX Series, and with only the state championships remaining and the points battles for the series to be fought.

About halfway through the 1/2/3 men's race, Brain Matter (PCW), singlespeeder Marko LaLonde (Bare Knuckle Brigade) and Adam Bergman (Colavita-Sutter Home) were able to get away. On the last lap Matter, fresh off his win at the Iceman Cometh mountain bike race, dropped the hammer and took the win, with LaLonde close on his heels for second and Bergman close behind in third.

In the women's 1/2/3 race, Kristin Wentworth (Kenda) and Samantha Schneider (Mesa) powered away from the pack early and rode together most of the race. Schneider took the win with Kristin close behind and Anna Young (Regent Cycling) leading the chase group in third.

The Wisconsin-Planet Bike Cyclo-cross State Championships will be held Sunday, December 2, in Hales Corners Park. This new venue will offer up a challenge to racers and will conclude the Wisconsin CX series.


For a thumbnail gallery of these images, click here

Images by John P. Ericsson


Elite men

1 Brian Matter (PCW)                      
2 Marko LaLonde (Bare Knuckle Brigade)    
3 Adam Bergman (Colavita-Sutter Home)     
4 Kurt Refsnider (Fort Factory)           
5 Paul Ellis (St Paul)                    
Elite women

1 Samantha Schneider (Mesa Cycles)        
2 Kristin Wentworth (Kenda Tire)          
3 Anna Young (Regent Cycling)             
4 Abby Strigel (Polska)                   
5 Kaitlin Antonneau (Nova IS Corp)