Home Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on Cyclingnews.com

Mont Ventoux
Photo ©: Sirotti

 UCI codes explained

2007 Capital Cross Classic - C2

Reston, Virginia, USA, December 2, 2007

Main Page    Results   Overall standings     Next Race

Race 1 - December 2: Elite Women, 40 minutes

Bruno Roy wins race and series

Maureen Bruno Roy (IF/Wheelworks/SRAM presented by General Catalyst) came and conquered not only the season-ending Capital 'Cross Classic, but also the 2007 Verge MAC SRAM season championship. Though weather forecasts were predicting rain, snow, sleet and freezing rain, the weather turned out to be nicer than the previous day's windy and bitterly cold race.

One thing that didn't change was the domination of the elite women's field by Bruno Roy. Just as she did the day before in Carlisle, Pennsylvania, Bruno Roy charged from the gun, established a lead before barrier preme on the first lap, and just rode away. In a strange twist, Bruno Roy became the third woman to sweep both halves of Verge MAC's three weekend doubleheaders. Kerry Barnholt swept both the Granogue and Wissahickon races in October, and Georgia Gould swept both days of the New Jersey weekend in November. But Bruno Roy, fresh off her World Cup debut and another seventh place finish in France, not only swept the final weekend, but scored highly in all six races against the best in American cyclo-cross to win the Verge MAC title.

Bruno Roy took the win ahead of Erica Yozell Miller (FORT Factory Team) and Betsy Shogren (FORT Factory Team).


1 Maureen Bruno Roy (USA) IF/Wheelworks/SRAM presented by General Catalyst                     41.59
2 Erica Yozell Miller (USA) FORT Factory Team                                                   0.33
3 Betsy Shogren (USA) FORT Factory Team                                                             
4 Melanie Swartz (USA) Velo Bella - Kona                                                        0.53
5 Catherine Walberg (USA) Team Kenda Tire                                                       2.00
6 Libbey Sheldon (USA) Tokyo Joe's                                                              2.11
7 Cheryl Sornson (USA) Trek VW East Coast                                                       2.38
8 Jessica Hill (USA) Trails End Cycling Co                                                      3.51
9 Jennifer Maxwell (USA) TEAM KENDA TIRE                                                        4.42
10 Lisa Vible (USA) C3-Sollay.com                                                               5.15
11 Diane Grim (USA) C3-Sollay.com                                                               6.08
12 Beth Mason (USA) C3-Sollay.com                                                               6.33
DNS Lauren Costantini (USA) Sycip Racing                                                            
DNS Amy Breyla (USA) FORT Factory Team                                                              
DNS Kristine Church (USA) Human Zoom/ Pabst Blue Ribbon                                             
DNS Arley Kemmerer (USA) Hub Racing                                                                 
DNS Tammy Ebersole (USA) Evolution Racing                                                           
DNS Lesley Chown (Can) St.Catharines C.C.