Home Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on Cyclingnews.com

Mont Ventoux
Photo ©: Sirotti

 UCI codes explained

Cyclo-Cross World Cup #1 - CDM

Aigle, Switzerland, October 1, 2006

Results    World Cup standings

World Cup remains domain of Sven Nys

By Brecht DecaluwÚ

Sven Nys continued his supremacy in the world cup competition with a win in Aigle, Switzerland. The first round for the world cup on a muddy course was dominated by the Belgians Bart Wellens and Sven Nys. World champion Erwin Vervecken was third, colouring the podium completely in Belgian black-yellow-red.

Nys was very happy with his win: "It wasn't an easy victory," he said. "I had to fight until the end, but that allows me to enjoy the win even more than usual." Last week the Belgian champion was bothered by a few crashes and little injuries. "It was difficult to know how strong I was. If I gain some more percentages, then I'll be really happy."

Bart Wellens was the dark horse of the race as he was suspended in September for his karate-kick during last season. Together with Nys, he was the strongest rider in the race; that way he surprised many people. "It could've been even better as I felt I was in control of the race. When I wanted to attack during the last lap, I had a flat tyre."

It was bad luck for Wellens who wasn't able to sprint for the victory in Aigle. The rider from the Fidea team expects that he'll be able to match Sven Nys this year. "We'll see this movie of the race a lot this year!" he commented.

Behind the Belgians Italian Enrico Franzoi and French Francis Mourey ľ both combining cyclo cross with road racing - showed they're ready for a good season with a strong fifth and sixth place. The disappointment of the day was Belgian Sven Vanthourenhout who was riding very strongly in the previous races in September. American Jonathan Page, who was also riding well in September couldn't start in Aigle as he crashed during training on the technical course; a dislocated shoulder will keep him away from the bike for a few days.


Elite Men  

1 Sven Nijs (Bel) Rabobank                                         1.05.05
2 Bart Wellens (Bel) Fidea Cycling Team                               0.09
3 Erwin Vervecken (Bel) Fidea Cycling Team                            0.12
4 Gerben De Knegt (Ned) Rabobank                                      0.16
5 Enrico Franzoi (Ita) Lampre-Fondital                                0.32
6 Francis Mourey (Fra) Franšaise Des Jeux                             0.39
7 Zdenek Mlynar (Cze) Ac Sparta Praha                                 0.51
8 Christian Heule (Swi) Stevens Racing Team                           0.58
9 Zdnek Stybar (Cze) Fidea Cycling Team
10 Richard Groenendaal (Ned) Rabobank                                 1.06
11 Sven Vanthourenhout (Bel) Rabobank                                 1.12
12 Bart Aernouts (Bel) Rabobank                                       1.14
13 Steve Chainel (Fra)                                                1.17
14 Petr Dlask (Cze) Fidea Cycling Team
15 Radomir Simunek Jr (Cze) Palmans Collstrop                         1.46
16 Kamil Ausbuher (Cze)                                               2.05
17 Marco Bianco (Ita)                                                 2.06
18 Klaas Vantornout (Bel) Fidea Cycling Team
19 Simon Zahner (Swi)                                                 2.08
20 Florian Vogel (Swi)                                                2.14
21 Tim Van Nuffel (Bel) Stevens Racing Team                           2.18
22 Kevin Pauwels (Bel) Fidea Cycling Team                             2.27
23 Maarten Nijland (Ned) Procomm-Van Hemert                           2.45
24 Thijs Al (Ned) B&E Cycling Team                                    2.57
25 John Gadret (Fra) Ag2R Prevoyance                                  3.04
26 Ondrej Lukes (Cze)
27 David Seco Amundarain (Spa)                                        3.08
28 Malte Urban (Ger) Heinz Von Heiden Team                            3.23
29 David Willemsens (Bel)                                             3.24
30 Isaac Suarez Fernandez (Spa)                                       3.32
31 Marco Aurelio Fontana (Ita)                                        3.44
32 Milan Barenyi (Svk)                                                3.47
33 Johannes Sickmueller (Ger) Stevens Racing Team                     4.06
34 Pirmin Lang (Swi)                                                  4.12
35 Robert Glajza (Svk)                                                4.24
36 Maros Kovac (Svk) Dukla Trencin                                    4.34
37 Jan Ramsauer (Swi)                                                 4.41
38 Alexandre Moos (Swi) Phonak Hearing                                4.55
39 Alessandro Fontana (Ita)                                           4.58
40 Thorsten Struch (Ger)                                              4.59
41 Ondrej Bambula (Cze)                                               5.10
42 Finn Heitmann (Ger) Stevens Racing Team                            5.21
43 Davy Commeyne (Bel) Palmans Collstrop                              5.22
44 Wilant Van Gils (Ned)
45 Andreas Moser (Swi)                                                5.32
46 Lukas Kloucek (Cze)                                                5.36
47 Ronald Mutsaars (Ned)                                              5.54
48 Jean Christophe Peraud (Fra) Team Orbea                            6.00
49 Rafael Visinelli (Ita)                                             6.09
50 David Derepas (Fra) Jartazi-7Mobile                                6.20
51 Joachim Parbo (Den)                                                7.03
52 Jean Pierre Leijten (Ned)                                          1 lap
53 Mariusz Gil (Pol)
DNS Jonathan Page (USA) Colavita Olive
DNF Peter Presslauer (Aut) Stevens Racing Team
DNF Vaclaf Metlicka (Svk)
DNF Sascha Weber (Ger)
DNF Stefano Boggia (Ita) Ceramica Flaminia
DNF David Rusch (Swi)
DNF Claudio Astolfi (Ita)
DNF Camiel Van Den Bergh (Ned) Stevens Racing Team
DNF Luca Damiani (Ita)

World Cup standings after round 1

1 Sven Nys (Bel) Rabobank
2 Bart Wellens (Bel) Fidea Cycling Team
3 Erwin Vervecken (Bel) Fidea Cycling Team