Home Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on Cyclingnews.com

Giro finale
Photo ©: Bettini

 UCI codes explained

Stumptown Classic - C1

Portland, Oregon, USA, October 8, 2005

2004 Results    Results    Past winners

Trebon, Bessette win opener of 2005 US Gran Prix

By Paul Salvucci, USA Cycling.org

Ryan Trebon (Kona Les Gets)
Photo ©: Russ and Nancy Wright
Click for larger image

Under nearly perfect race conditions, the opening round of the 2005 Crank Brothers US Gran Prix of Cyclocross saw victory fall to two of North America's strongest cyclocross racers. Ryan Trebon (Kona-Les Gets) and Lyne Bessette (Cyclocrossworld-Louis Garneau) won the Elite Men's and Women's races, respectively, at Saturday's Cannondale Stumptown Cyclocross Classic in Portland, Ore.

Freshly healed from a broken wrist that ended his summer mountain bike race season, Trebon dashed off the front on the first lap of the Elite Men's race with teammate, and fellow Oregonian, Barry Wicks in tow. The two Kona riders never looked back, solidifying their lead by midway into the 60-minute race. As the lap cards wound down, it was Trebon, the defending US Gran Prix champion, who broke free to claim the win. Adam Craig (Giant), another Oregon resident, rounded out the top three after a slow start.

Lyne Bessette (CycloCross World/Louis Garneau)
Photo ©: Russ and Nancy Wright
Click for larger image

While she did it without the benefit of a teammate, Bessette's win was no less impressive in the Elite Women's event. Considering it was the Canadian's first big cyclocross race in over two years, the dominant win was that much more noteworthy. Bessette and local hero Ann Knapp (Kona) took control of the race early, establishing a solid gap in the open three laps. But some technical problems bedeviled Knapp midway through the race, and while she chased back to within 20 second of Bessette, the former US National Champion was forced to be satisfied with runner-up position. California's Barbara Howe (Velo Bella) rounded out the podium.

Six-time US National Champion Jesse Anthony (Team Clif Bar) proved why he wears the stars-and-stripes of the defending U-23 National Champion. Anthony finished 8th overall and top U23, ahead of Troy Wells (TIAA-Cref). TIAA-Cref teammates Alex Howes and Danny Summerhill proved a potent combo in the junior men's race, vanquishing defending national champ Bjprn Selander (Alan) to third. Howes coasted in for the win with a comfortable margin while Summerhill outsprinted Selander for second. In the masters 35+ race, Dale Knapp showed some of the same speed that kept him at the top of the elite division for so many years. Knapp dominated the masters field, with Richard Feldman and John Gallagher taking second and third, respectively.

The US Gran Prix of Cyclocross continues on Sunday with the Rad Racing Gran Prix of Cyclocross from Fort Steilacoom Park in Tacoma, Wash.


For a thumbnail gallery of these images, click here

Images by Russ and Nancy Wright/www.abbiorca.com

Images by Brian Zeck


Elite Men
1 Ryan Trebon (Kona Les Gets)                      
2 Barry Wicks (Kona Les Gets)                      
3 Adam Craig (Giant Bicycle)                       
4 Mark McCormack (Team Clif Bar)                   
5 Tim Johnson (Cyclocrossworld-Louis Garneau)      
Elite Women
1 Lyne Bessette (Cyclocrossworld-Louis Garneau)    
2 Ann Knapp (Kona)                                 
3 Barbara Howe (Velo Bella)                        
Under 23 Men
1 Jesse Anthony (Team Clif Bar)                    
2 Troy Wells (TIAA-Cref)                           
3 Tommy McGrath                                    
Junior Men
1 Alex Howes (TIAA-Cref)                           
2 Danny Summerhill (TIAA-Cref)                     
3 Bjorn Selander (Alan Factory)                    
Masters 35+
1 Dale Knapp                                       
2 Richard Feldman                                  
3 John Gallagher                                   

Past winners


2003 Erwin Vervecken (Bel) Spaar Select
2002 Todd Wells (USA) Mongoose


2003 Alison Dunlap (USA) Luna
Gina Hall (USA) Cliff Bar
Past winners by Mario Stiehl, www.world-of-cycling.com