Home Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on Cyclingnews.com

Giro finale
Photo ©: Bettini

 UCI codes explained

Results & reports from the USA

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to Cyclingnews

Jacksonville Classic
Penney Farms Road Race
Port of Catoosa Spring Crit
Jefferson Cup Road Race
Spin City Criterium
Spin City Circuit Race
OBRA Banana Belt Road Racing Series #2

Washington Cup #2
Pure Austin Pace Bend Road Race
Ronde Ohop Circuit Race
Jack Frost Time Trial
UCSD Boulevard Road Race

JAR Tour of the Bahamas
RMR #2
CU criterium

Bob Hansing Cup #1



Boss Cross #3

Kansas City, Kansas, October 31, 2004

While the front of the day's feature races didn't produce much drama, there was still plenty of great racing at the series finale of Boss Cross 2004. Course designer Gregg Rupp used the natural features of Leo Alvey Park in Kansas City, Kansas to stir up a mix of technical challenges and high speed rollercoaster terrain that left racers both smiling in grimacing in pain.

In the Men's A event, serier winner Shadd Smith (HRRC/MacClaren) won again in dominating fashion. Shadowed early by Bill Marshall (Team X), Smith again found that extra gear that he's famous for and soloed to victory. But the fun was far from over. Behind Smith, Marshall, Adam Mills (HRRC/MacClaren), Ian Kirby (Team X), David White and Eric Prim (BikeSource) formed a high speed train in pursuit of Smith. Trading the lead several times during the race and putting on a great show for the spectators, the five seemed chained together until the final laps when small gaps opened. First to drop from the pace was White, followed shortly by Prim. The remaining three stayed together until two laps to go when some very smooth work by Mills through the 3 + 1 barriers allowed him to open a gap and take second with Kirby a strong third.

Men's B winner Jonathan Collins ended any speculation about his race early. A great start allowed him to settle in with a chase pack of A riders and open a wide margin over his opponents. But as with the A race, the battle behind was the real story. This time, teammates Dean Parker and Chris Hall (Team X) battled through the length of the race for the second place spot and the series championship. Some solid teamwork allowed the two to open a large gap on the rest of the field and at the line it was Hall taking second and securing the series championship.

As the winners walked away with prizes from series sponsor Boulevard Brewing, Midwest Cyclery, Voler and Vittoria, all agreed that the 2004 edition of Boss Cross was one to remember.


1 Shadd Smith (HRRC/MacClaren)
2 Adam Mills (HRRC/MacClaren)
3 Bill Marshall (Team X)
4 Ian Kirby (Team X)
5 Eric Prim (BikeSource)
6 Tige Lamb (KC Multisport)
7 David White (unattached)
8 George Gurgis (Wolf Pack Cycling)
DNF Andy Lucas (Team X)
1 Jen Tilley (Sunflower)
2 Tammy Spray (Free State Racing)
3 Teresa Jarzemkoski (BRBC)
4 Stacie Tripodi (Lanterne Rouge)
Masters 40+  
1 Andy Lucas (Team X)
2 Catherine Walberg (Kenda)
3 Pat Houtakker (KCOI)
4 Mike Classen (Cowtown Cycling)
5 Todd Davis (KCOI)
6 Keith Walberg (Wheatland)
7 Larry Spray (Free State Racing)
8 Mark Thomas (BRBC)
9 Dan Hansen (LBC/Highgear)
10 Bill Anderson (Team X)
11 Mike Berning (Midwest Boulevard)
12 Marko Girard (unattached)
13 Greg Cummins (Midwest Boulevard)
Masters 60+  
1 Jim Witt (unattached)
1 Chase Williams (Fat Tire)
2 JT Matthews (unattached)
3 Alex Edwards (Santa Fe Trails)
4 Justin Matthews (unattached)
First Timers  
1 Andrew Van Blauveun (unattached)
2 Kerry Jones (unattached)
3 Crystal Koetting (unattached)
1 Jonathan Collins (unattached)
2 Chris Hall (Team X)
3 Dean Parker (Team X)
4 David Pitt (Cowtown Cycling)
5 Matt McKillip (Free State Racing)
6 Mike Palitto (Team X)
7 Tony Stewart (KCOI)
8 Walt Bleser (KCOI)
9 Brendan Jenks (KC Multisport)
10 Damian Almanza (Cowtown Cycling)
11 Jim Coggins (Bicycle Shack)
12 Pat Houtakker (KCOI)
13 Shane Jones (unattached)
14 Sean Jackson (Team X)
DNF Lyle Reynolds (KCOI)
DNF Mike Classen (Cowtown Cycling)
DNF Eric Carter (unattached)
DNF Craig Harding (Midwest Boulevard)
DNF Joe Vohland (unattached)
DNF Jen Tilley (Sunflower)
1 Steve Kerr (unattached)
2 Brian Williams (Fat Tire)
3 Matt Staub (unattached)
4 Jeff Unruh (Wheatland)
5 John Schlesselman (unattached)
6 Mike Heenan (unattached)
7 Mike Cole (unattached)
8 Telford Crisco (unattached)
9 John Oberrieder (unattached)
10 Ted Moore (unattached)
11 Tyler Henson (Whole Wheel Velo Club)
12 David Matthews (unattached)
13 Jeffery Bishop (unattached)
14 Monte May (Midwest Boulevard)
15 Brian Robinson (unattached)
16 Steve Culver (unattached)

Local results 2004