Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Dauphiné Libéré
Photo ©: Sirotti

Pacific Oceania Ranking Series #8 - C3

Auckland, New Zealand, March 10, 2007

Results    Photography   

Graves takes two on the trot

By Richard McLachlan in Auckland, New Zealand

Luke Madill leads the charge.
Photo ©: Don Clinch
(Click for larger image)

New Zealand watched as Jared Graves (Toowoomba) took his second consecutive UCI victory this weekend at the Papakura BMX track in Auckland. Coming from lane eight, Graves took the lead down the first straight and out of the first turn again where he stayed for the remainder of the race. Graves win follows on from the victory he took last in the Canberra UCI round.

Following in second place was sole Kiwi finalist Marc Willers. The New Zealand rider broke away from the pack in pursuit of Graves after the second turn, chased by Luke Madill (Penrith) who finished in third.

Graves' latest victory extends his lead at the top of the elite men's rankings for the Oceania Series. Fellow Australian Khalen Young (Campbelltown) holds second place in the standings, trailing Graves by eight points. Willers' second place position at the weekend's round boosts him from seventh into fifth in the overall rankings.

Series leader Sarah Walker
Photo ©: Don Clinch
(Click for larger image)

In the elite women's class, New Zealand's top female rider Sarah Walker was unstoppable once again with her sixth win. Walker now cements her position at the top of the Oceania Rankings. Australia's Tanya Bailey (Perth) finished in second followed by Ayaka Miwa for third in the final standings for the day.

Joshua Webb took another victory in the junior men's class followed by Steven Janssen (Nerang) who moved into second after Michael Williams (NZ) and South Australian, Matthew Willoughby came together on the second turn. New Zealand's Victoria Hill took the junior women's class undefeated followed by Candice Armstrong for second.

BMX riders are keen to return to New Zealand for Round 9 of the Pacific Oceania Rankings Series which will be held over Easter at the country's newest track in Albany, designed and created by Olympic track designer Tom Ritzenthaler.


For a thumbnail gallery of these images, click here

Images by Don Clinch


Elite men

1 Jared Graves
2 Marc Willers
3 Luke Madill
4 Khalen Young
5 Steven Wong
6 Kamakazi
7 Sifiso Nhlapo
8 Billy Jolliffe

Elite women

1 Sarah Walker
2 Tanya Bailey
3 Ayaka Miwa
4 Tanya Thiele
5 Serena Kastermans
6 Scarlett Hagen
7 Theresa Bates

Junior men

1 Joshua Webb
2 Steven Janssen
3 Christopher Westwood
4 Matthew Willoughby
5 Axel Jones
6 Michael Williams
7 Zac Webb
8 Wayne Pottow

Junior women

1 Victoria Hill
2 Candice Armstrong
3 Jenni Conway
4 Paige Hickling
5 Morgane Brierly