Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Giro finale
Photo ©: Bettini

Winter Nationals - ABA BMX Pro Series #5 - NE

Black Mountain BMX track, Poenix, Arizona, USA, March 23 - 25, 2007

Saturday results   Sunday results  

Stumpfhauser dominates ABA Winter nationals

California's Randy Stumpfhauser dominated the AA Pro races at the fifth ABA Pro Series round: the Winter Nationals held at Black Mountain BMX track in Phoenix, Arizona. Stumpfhauser trumped the opposition by taking victory in both Saturday and Sunday's AA Pro races.

'Stumpy' held of Khalen Young and Bubba Harris in the opening AA Pro race of the weekend, with the pair taking second and third respectively. In the second AA Pro race, Harris moved up to take second place while Young could only manage fifth. SE Bikes' Javier Colombo took the final podium position in the second race.

In the Girls Pro category Alise Post opened the weekend on a high note with a dominate victory in Saturday's race. Redline Factory Team's Kimberly Hayashi took second place from Unbound/Intense's Stephanie Barragan.

Post's luck had run out by the second day of competition, however, with a crash in an early race putting her behind the eight-ball for her final. Post bounced back and claimed victory in her final, however the first corner crash proved costly in the day's overall points with Terra Nichols claiming victory by just a single point.

Nichols sneak through to the top spot meant Hayashi was forced to settle for third place.


Winter Nationals #1

AA Pro    

1 Randy Stumpfhauser (GT)
2 Khalen Young (Hillbrick/Deep Burn)
3 Bubba Harris (Redline Factory Team)
4 Warwick Stevenson (Kuwahara)
5 Mike Swearinger (Unbound/Intense)
6 Tyler Brown (Avent/Bombshell)
7 Cristian Becerine (Free Agent)
8 Joshua Oie (Staats Challenge Racing)

Girls Pro

1 Alise Post (Formula/Monster Factory)
2 Kimberly Hayashi (Redline Factory Team)
3 Stephanie Barragan (Unbound/Intense)
4 Amanda Geving (Troy Lee Designs)
5 Erika Short (Psykopath Industries)
6 Afton Schrimpf (Intense Racing)
7 Cassie Bushnell (FMF)
8 Courtney Tomei (MOM)
A Pro

1 Michael Weatherford (Bellflower Bicycles)
2 Fabian Hernandez (Intense Racing)
3 Joey Bradford (GT)
4 Jason Morris (Felt/Extreme Sports/HBR)
5 Michael Kapes (J & R Bicycles)
6 Takuro Nishioka (Team Benkeimaru)
7 Josh Ziehl (505 Racing)
8 Kevin Jones (Fullerton Bikes/MLR)

Pro Open    

1 Brandon Meadows (Intense/Socko)
2 Michael Fenwick (Specialized)
3 Jarrett  Kolich (Avent/Bombshell/Maxxis)
4 Cesar Micael
5 Arnaud Dubois
6 Warwick Stevenson (Kuwahara)
7 Randy Stumpfhauser (GT)
8 Cristian Becerine (Free Agent)

Pro Cruiser

1 Tyler Brown (Avent/Bombshell)
2 Nate Berkheimer (Diamondback)
3 Kenth Fallen (Supercross)
4 Thomas Fernandez (505 Racing)
5 Chris Jones (505 Racing)
6 Eric Rupe (GT)
7 Billy Anderson (Action Sports Depot)
8 Karl Clark (Supercamp/Shimano/Momdad)

Veteran Pro

1 Jason Carnes (Redline Factory Team)
2 Jason Silva
3 Mike Gul (Socko Energy)
4 Chad Street (Intense/Phantom/Ontrac)
5 Drew Downey (Redman/Yamaha)
6 Bob O`Gorman (Spinners-Redline)
7 Chris Ham (Answer Factory)
8 Todd Parry (Socko Energy/GHP)

Winter Nationals #2

AA Pro

1 Randy Stumpfhauser (GT)
2 Bubba Harris (Redline Factory Team)
3 Javier Colombo (SE Bikes/No Wimps)
4 Brandon Meadows (Intense/Socko)
5 Khalen Young (Hillbrick/Deep Burn)
6 Steven Cisar (Redman/Yamaha/Rockstar)
7 Jarrett Kolich (Avent/Bombshell/Maxxis)
8 Cristian Becerine (Free Agent)

Girls Pro

1 Terra Nichols (Intense/Phantom/Ontrac)
2 Alise Post (Formula/Monster Factory)
3 Kimberly Hayashi (Redline Factory Team)
4 Afton Schrimpf (Intense Racing)
5 Erika Short (Psykopath Industries)
6 Stephanie Barragan (Unbound/Intense)
7 Cassie Bushnell (FMF)
8 Amanda Geving (Troy Lee Designs) 

A Pro

1 David Herman (Answer Factory)
2 Joey Bradford (GT)
3 Jason Morris (Felt/Extreme Sports/HBR)
4 Fabian Hernandez (Intense Racing)
5 Michael Weatherford (Bellflower Bicycles)
6 Alan Hudson (Psykopath Industries)
7 Billy Anderson (Action Sports Depot)
8 Anders Gronsund (Redline-Norway)

Pro Open    

1 Javier Colombo (SE Bikes/No Wimps)
2 Luke Madill (GT/Red Bull)
3 Steven Cisar (Redman/Yamaha/Rockstar)
4 Fabian Hernandez (Intense Racing)
5 Jarrett  Kolich (Avent/Bombshell/Maxxis)
6 Arnaud Dubois
7 Derek Betcher (Haro)
8 Brandon Meadows (Intense/Socko)

Pro Cruiser    

1 Kenth Fallen (Supercross)
2 Eric Rupe (GT)
3 Billy Anderson (Action Sports Depot)
4 Thomas Fernandez (505 Racing)
5 Chris Jones (505 Racing)
6 Nate Berkheimer (Diamondback)
7 Karl Clark (Supercamp/Shimano/Momdad)
8 Trevor Fay (Staats Challenge Racing)
Veteran Pro

1 Jason Carnes (Redline Factory Team)
2 Todd Parry (Socko Energy/GHP)
3 Chris Ham (Answer Factory)
4 Drew Downey (Redman/Yamaha)
5 Darrin Mitchell (Redman/Yamaha)
6 Eric Rupe (GT)
7 Pierre Sauze
8 Mike Gul (Socko Energy)