Home Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  
Teams Home
TT1 teams
2004 Teams Database
Pro Team Tech 2004

Recently on Cyclingnews.com

Giro finale
Photo ©: Bettini

Road Season Preview 2004

January 19, 2004

Crédit Agricole

Crédit Agricole presentation

French Division I team Crédit Agricole has presented a substantially revamped roster to tackle the 2004 racing season. 10 new riders have been signed by the team, which has lost big hitters Stuart O'Grady and Jens Voigt, among others. The acquisition of New Zealand sprinter Julian Dean, French all rounder Patrice Halgand, Russian climber Alexandre Botcharov, British track world champion Bradley Wiggins, French sprinter Damien Nazon and Kazakhs Dmitriy Muravyev and Andrey Kashechkin will strengthen the team that already boasts Christophe Moreau and Thor Hushovd in its ranks.

Hushovd will be the team's leader for the classics, and also wants to contest the green jersey at the Tour de France. Moreau is the team's main GC rider, while the arrival of Dean and Nazon will certainly bolster Crédit Agricole's sprinting stocks.

"Our calendar is centred on the Tour de France," team manager Roger Legeay told the press. "But we are also interested in the other French stage races and the Coupe de France races."

Crédit Agricole will sponsor the team until at least the end of 2005, but is so far extremely happy with the level of exposure that cycling has brought it.

Credit Agricole team roster

Cruising with Crédit Agricole