Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Giro finale
Photo ©: Bettini

 UCI codes explained

Results and Reports for July 13-19, 2002

United Kingdom

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to cyclingnews

Untitled Document

Surry league #1
Eddy Soens memorial
Surry league #2
Surry league festival




LVRC King of the Bowl Race 8

Milton Keynes, July 16, 2002

by Ron Day and Dick Selley (North Bucks RC).

Whilst the Tour de France riders were on the first rest day of this year's 'Le Tour' the LVRC riders in the Summer King of the Bowl series were competing in Race 8 of the twelve race series. Still new faces are appearing with a contingent down from the Midlands consisting of Keir Maris (KTM Racing) - preparing for the National Veterans Road Race this coming Sunday ; Clive Pinfold (Hatton RT) - coming back from a long spell in hospital, and Keith Barwell (Kettering CC).

It was to be the older riders that were to 'steal the show' on a warm and balmy evening. With the DEF group starting just behind the ABC group giving the 'youngsters' a one kilometre deficit on there older counterparts. With the race commissaire taking a dim view of any attempts by the older riders to jump across the gap, the ABC group started to reduce the handicap on the DEF group. First to show was local Para-Olympian Iain Cooper now riding for Bicester Millenium, who was away on his own for two laps before being bought back by the powerful Keir Maris (KTM Racing). Next to try his hand was Milton Keynes based Martin Lane(Alpha RC - Phil Corley Cycles) who also found his breakaway attempt thwated by Maris.

A flurry of counter attacks followed before a small break finally stuck. In what looked like the race winning move were Maris, Ian Cooper and Bob Varney (both Alpha RC - Phil Corley Cycles), Carl Stukenbrook (Team Milton Keynes) and Paul Thomson (Hemel Hempstead CC). With strongman Maris doing long turns on the front and Cooper, Varney and Stuckenbrook all looking pretty even, it was only Thomson, missing turns at the back, who appeared to be finding the pace a little too hot to handle.

Meanwhile, a concerted chase was getting organised from behind as a trio from the DEF race of Pinfold, Dave Benger (Aylesbury CC) and Bob Richards (Solihull CC) had caught the main group of ABC riders and drove the chase hard along with Jeremy Burke (Stevenage) among others prominent at the front. With about twenty minutes remaining the race was all back together. As the race approached five laps to go it looked like a big bunch sprint for the first time this season. But with the bunch slowing slightly Varney got a small gap for a lap before being chased down by Benger.

Varney immediately went again over the top of the climb with four to go and this time got a bigger gap. With the bunch being policed by team mates Cooper and Lane this looked like it might stick. However, it was the speed of Maris that strung the bunch out along the back straight and closed in on Varney half way up the finishing hill. Maris's speed took him upto Varney but left the remainder of the bunch struggling for his wheel. Just as it looked like it was all back together a strong turn from Maris saw him and the suffering Varney open the gap back up. Coming through with two to go Varney was glued to the rear wheel of the flying Maris, unable or unwilling to go to the front again.

The bunch now seemed resigned to their fate and as the leading duo passed through the bell Varney was still in the 'box seat' glued to the wheel of Maris. Along the back straight Varney went for a long one getting the gap and as he climbed the drag to the finish Maris sat up content with his night's efforts. The bunch sprint was a particularly quick finish with many fast finishers fighting for series points. Clive Pinfold outsprinted Dave Benger and Bob Richards for the DEF race whilst Jeremy Burke just got the better of comeback man Ian Cooper (Alpha RC - Phil Corley Cycles) closely followed by Paul Thomson and Carl Stuckenbrook.

The riders were all pleased to see organiser Ron Day back in charge after his early season crash and emergency hospitalisation. Ron is now back on his bike and getting in some steady miles with team mate Gordon Batcock (North bucks RC). The final meeting of the season on Tuesday 27th August will again be a 'fun' race followed by the now annual Awards Dinner. Last years final 'fun' race saw Team Milton Keynes duo Joe Quill and Bob Thomson taking on allcomers on Joe's forty year old tandem. Information on the Awards Dinner is available from Ron Day on 01908 501461 or Dick Selley on 01908 373241.


ABC Race
1 Bob Varney (Alpha RC-Phil Corley Cycles)
2 Keir Maris (KTM Racing)                           0.05 sec
3 Jeremy Burke (Stevenage CC)                       0.20 sec
4 Ian Cooper (Alpha RC-Phil Corley Cycles)
5 Paul Thomson (Hemel Hempstead CC)
6 Carl Stukenbrook (Team Milton Keynes)
DEF Race
1 Clive Pinfold (Hatton RT)
2 Dave Benger (Aylesbury CC)
3 Bob Richards ( Solihull CC)
4 Murray Kirton (A5 Rangers CC)
5 Keith Barwell (Kettering CC)
6 Dave Stockley (Merseyside Wheelers)                  1 lap down
ABC Overall
1 Bob Varney (Alpha RC Phil Corley Cycles)            20 points
2 Paul Freeman (Alpha RC Phil Corley Cycles)          10
3 Jeremy Burke (Stevenage CC)                          9
4 Kevin Farmer (Team Milton Keynes)                    7
5 Jeremy Mulkern (Mountain Mania RT)                   6
6 Joe Quill (Team Milton Keynes)                       5
6 Carl Stuckenbrook (Team Milton Keynes)               5
DEF Overall
1 Bob Richards (Solihull CC)                          23 points
2 Murray Kirton (A5 Rangers CC)                       15
2 Dave Benger (Aylesbury CC)                          15
4 Dave Stockley (Merseyside Wheelers)                  6
4 Dick Selley (North Bucks RC)                         6
4 Jeff Park (Aylesbury CC)                             6

Previous results from UK