Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Mt Hood Classic
Photo ©: Swift

 UCI codes explained

The Festival of Speed - NE

Orlando, Florida, USA, March 8-9, 2003

Main Page     Results     Next Stage

Stage 1 - March 8: Lake Eola Criterium, 100 km (shortened to 80 km due to poor weather)

Ivan Dominguez lights it up on a crash marred day

Team Saturn report by Giana Roberge

On the other side of the country from the Pomona Valley Stage Race, the second NRC event of the 2003 calendar was contested, The Festival of Speed, kicking off today in Orlando with the Lake Eola Criterium. The downtown criterium was slated to be raced 100 kilometers, but was slightly shortened to 80 kilometers due to the weather. The rain let up just in time for the field to begin racing, however, the saturated and slippery streets proved hazardous for many with a crash a lap for the first half of the race, and some like Saturn's Rahsaan Bahati crashing twice.

Roughly halfway through the race, a seven man break separated itself from the field, with two of 7-Up's riders driving the pace. 7-Up's strongmen, John Lieswyn and Bryce Jones, were intent on working over Saturn's sprinter Ivan Dominguez as best as possible before the final sprint. However, as the remaining twenty laps wound down, Dominguez was able to cover every attack the two 7-Up riders threw his way. With three laps to go a lag occurred, allowing the field that had sat at 25 seconds most of the race to make contact on the final corner.

But by then it was too late, and the seven men were already winding up for the sprint, with Ivan Dominguez coming by Bryce Jones for the win. Tomorrow's South Port Park Circuit Race is scheduled for 112 kilometers on a flat three kilometer circuit, and may very well again end with the strong speed demons having their way with the rest of the peloton.


Men Pro 1/2
1 Ivan Dominguez (Saturn Cycling Team)                  1.06.00
2 Brice Jones (7 UP/Maxxis)
3 Martin Gilbert (Volkswagen Trek)
4 Frank Travieso (Aerospace Engineering Group)
5 Chris Frederick (Aerospace Engineering Group)
6 Karl Bordine (Colavita-Bolla)
7 Dan Larson
8 John Lieswyn (7 UP/Maxxis)
9 Juan Jose Haedo (Colavita-Bolla)
10 Jason Snow
11 Kevin Monahan (7 Up/Maxxis)
12 Mark McCormack (Saturn Cycling Team)
13 Ricardo Hernandez (Jet Network/Home Financing Cent)
14 Jeff Hopkins (Jittery Joe's)
15 Rahsaan Bahati (Saturn Cycling Team)
16 Gustavo Artacho (Colavita-Bolla)
17 Paul Kavan (Jet Network/Home Financing Cent)
18 Doug Ziewacz (7 UP/Maxxis)
19 Philip Elliott (XRS Racing)
20 Steve Mlujeak (US Armed Forces)
21 Oscar Pineda (7 UP/Maxxis)
22 Luca Fagundes (Spin City Cycling)
23 Joshua Carter (Spin City Cycling)
24 Mike Zingaro
25 James Sweeney
26 Zach Reed (Spin City Cycling)
27 Ralph Clemente
28 TBC
29 Shaun Moffett
30 Chad Hartley (Jittery Joe's)
31 TBC
32 Joe Miller (KED-Bianchi-Fiat)
33 Andy Woodruff
34 Greg Wolf (Colavita-Bolla)
35 Chris Foster
36 Kurt Garin (Jittery Joe's)
37 Tyler Wren (Colavita-Bolla)
38 Earl Bradley (Bob's Bicycle)
39 Nelson Angulo (Jet Network/Home Financing Cent)
40 TBC
41 Joseph Alachoyan (Ideal Tile/Brielle Cyclery)
42 Shawn Willard (Colavita-Bolla)
43 Micahel Norton (North Jersey Bike Club)
44 Darrell Cunningham (Ford Cycling)
45 Jose Valdivia (Jet Network/Home Financing Cent)
46 Derek Goulet (Ford)
47 Ivan Franco (Jet Network/Home Financing Cent)
48 Curtis Juteram (Aerospace)
49 Mike House (West Virginia Elite)
50 Michael Luther (Colavita-Bolla)
51 Stephen Spencer (D&R Sportivo/Dolce Vita)
52 Patrick Diver (Orlando Road Club)
53 Gunther Hermanni (Damiani)
54 Marc Anderson (Locos PTI)
55 TBC
56 Jake Rosenbarger (Jittery Joe's)
57 Wayne Scott (Winners Edge/Bermuda)
58 Joe Fernandez
59 Scott Hartley (Ford Cycling)
60 Sebastien Alexandre (Colavita-Bolla)
61 Steve Gilligan (Aerospace ENG)
Women 1/2
1 Tina Mayolo (Diet Rite)                               1.04.08
2 Allie Warfel
3 Kathleen Billington
4 Megan Esmonde
5 Tina Elliot
6 Rebecca Clark
7 Kori Kelly (Diet Rite)
8 Cybil DiGuistini (Diet Rite)
9 Elizabeth Wencel-Stone (Andante)                         0.01
10 Katie DeGouvrey
11 Elizabeth Morse (Orlando Velo/Ford Racing)
12 Cindy Musselwhite (Out Spoken)
13 Robin Kavan
14 Leslie Welch
15 Jeraldine Boettchor (Treasure Coast)
16 Rachel Massey (Ford Outfitters)
17 Karen Blamick (Outspoken)
18 Sandi Davies (Naples Velo)                              3.00
19 Rachael Hallum                                          5.00