Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Dauphiné Libéré
Photo ©: Sirotti

 UCI codes explained

27th Thüringen-Rundfahrt (U23)- 2.7.1

Germany, May 4-9, 2002

Main Page    Results    Previous stage    Next stage

Stage 2 - May 5: Bad Berka - Bad Frankenhausen, 90 km

Australian team report

By Brian Stephens, AIS U23 coach

Today was a split stage of the Thüringen Rundfahrt with an 89 km road stage in the morning and a 12km mountain time trial in the afternoon. Rory Sutherland went after the mountain sprints in the morning stage and was 2nd in the first cat 2 climb. He didn't place in the following one which was enough to retain the jersey.

The race split over the first climb when the bunch went immediately into cross winds. Rory was the only one of ours to make the front group of 46 riders which came in together with the sprint being won by Mickail Timochine from Vellutex.


1 Mickail Timochin (Rus) Vellutex Zoccorinese          2.04.26
2 Steffen Lockan (Ger) ISPO Lotusan Cottbus
3 Bas Giling (Ned) Rabobank Espoirs
4 Tilo Schüler (Ger) RG Giant Frankfurt/M
5 Gregory Rast (Swi) Swiss National Team
7 Jan Hollitzer (Ger) Optik Delker Udo Bölts
8 Theo Eltink (Ned) Rabobank Espoirs
9 Stefan Zoss (Swi) Team Hörmann-Romers
10 Maarten Lenferink (Ned) Team Tegeltoko
11 Rasmus Dyring (Den) Danish National Team
12 Daniel Musiol (Ger) Landesverband Berlin
13 Christian May (Ger) Mapei Bayern
14 Mart Louwers (Ned) Rabobank Espoirs
15 Jochen Käß (Ger) German MTB Team
16 Thijs Zonneveld (Ned) Team Tegeltoko
17 Christian Knees (Ger) Vermarc Sportswear Köln-Porz
18 Martin Mares (Cze) PSK Remerx
19 Martin Schmid (Ger) Mapei Bayern
20 Michael Demin (Den) Danish National Team
21 Paul Martens (Ger) ISPO Lotusan Cottbus
22 David Orvalho (Ned) Team Tegeltoko
23 Michael Baumgartner (Swi) Team Hörmann-Romers
24 Mark Fitzgerald (USA) US National Team
25 Thomas Ziegler (Ger) TEAG Team Köstritzer
26 Niels Kammerer (Ger) Mapei Bayern
27 Jan Pokrandt (Ger) ISPO Lotusan Cottbus
28 Mathieu Heijboer (Ned) Team Tegeltoko
29 Waldemar Schmidt (Ger) Vermarc Sportswear Köln-Porz
30 Brian Vandborg (Den) Danish National Team
31 Armin Krahl (Ger) Landesverband Berlin
32 Bernhard Kohl (Aut) Austrian National Team
33 Jonathan McCarty (USA) US National Team
34 Thomas Rohregger (Aut) Austrian National Team
35 Thomas Oredsson (Den) Danish National Team
36 Michael Creed (USA) US National Team
37 Norbert Poels (Ned) Team Tegeltoko
38 William Frischkorn (USA) US National Team
39 Stefan Nägelin (Swi) Team Hörmann-Romers
40 Pieter Weening (Ned) Rabobank Espoirs
41 Jost Posthuma (Ned) Rabobank Espoirs
42 Rory Sutherland (Aus) Australian National Team
43 Artjom Botschkarew (Ger) Vermarc Sportswear Köln-Porz
44 Frank Van Dulmen (Ned) Team Tegeltoko
45 Jens Mouris (Ned) Rabobank Espoirs
46 Matthias Roblick (Ger) ISPO Lotusan Cottbus
47 Frank Vorrath (Ger) Wiesenhof SC DHfK Leipzig           3.49
48 Aaron Kemps (Aus) Australian National Team
49 Thomas Väth (Ger) RG Giant Frankfurt/M
50 Hubert Schwab (Swi) Swiss National Team
51 Arian Buchwalder (Swi) Team Hörmann-Romers
52 Sven Krauss (Ger) Hofbräuradler Stuttgart
53 Andreas Matzbacher (Aut) Austrian National Team
54 Johannes Kaiser (Ger) TEAG Team Köstritzer
55 Marco Hartmann (Swi) Team Hörmann-Romers
56 Kenan Bulich (Den) Danish National Team
57 Zdenek Zdimal (Cze) PSK Remerx
58 Matthias Russ (Ger) Hofbräuradler Stuttgart
59 Viktor Scheidt (Ger) RG Giant Frankfurt/M
60 Henning Bommel (Ger) German Track Team
61 Jochen Uhrig (Ger) Mapei Bayern
62 Steffen-Hann Greger (Ger) Hofbräuradler Stuttgart
63 Christian Grasmann (Ger) Mapei Bayern
64 Ronny Buchholz (Ger) German Track Team
65 Cornel Bachmann (Swi) Team Hörmann-Romers
66 Falk Dworatzek (Ger) TEAG Team Köstritzer
67 Frantisek Rabon (Cze) PSK Remerx
68 Hannes Genze (Ger) German MTB Team
69 Ben Johnson (Aus) Australian National Team
70 Hannes Blank (Ger) RG Giant Frankfurt/M
71 Eric Baumann (Ger) TEAG Team Köstritzer
72 Bruce-John McIntosh (Aus) Australian National Team
73 Clemens Großlercher (Aut) Austrian National Team
74 Moritz Veit (Ger) TEAG Team Köstritzer
75 Morten Knudsen (Den) Danish National Team
76 Tim Böhme (Ger) German MTB Team
77 Christoph Pleier (Ger) Mapei Bayern
78 Gregor Willwohl (Ger) Landesverband Berlin
79 Marc Altmann (Ger) Landesverband Berlin
80 Christian Müller (Ger) German Track Team
81 Robert Bengsch (Ger) German Track Team
82 Leif Lampater (Ger) Hofbräuradler Stuttgart
83 Daniel Mackey (Aus) Australian National Team
84 Sergey Lagutin (Ita) Vellutex Zoccorinese
85 Bruno Dreyer (Swi) Swiss National Team
86 Ruslan Gryschenko (Ita) Vellutex Zoccorinese
87 David Loosli (Swi) Swiss National Team
88 Marco Von Känel (Swi) Swiss National Team
89 Daniel Schlegel (Ger) German Track Team                10.06
90 Oliver Otto (Ger) Wiesenhof SC DHfK Leipzig
91 Daniel Knyss (Ger) Vermarc Sportswear Köln-Porz
92 Florian Jung (Ger) Optik Delker Udo Bölts
93 Sascha Lutz (Ger) Landesverband Berlin
94 Karl-Christop König (Ger) German Track Team
95 Thorsten Rech (Ger) Optik Delker Udo Bölts
96 Pascal Schoch (Swi) Swiss National Team
97 David Heine (Ger) Hofbräuradler Stuttgart
98 Hanjo Veit (Ger) Wiesenhof SC DHfK Leipzig
99 Roberto Canu (Ita) Vellutex Zoccorinese
100 René Anke (Ger) Wiesenhof SC DHfK Leipzig
101 Ianfranc Battaglini (Ita) Vellutex Zoccorinese
102 Dominik Preugschat (Ger) Optik Delker Udo Bölts
103 Enno Deutschmann (Ger) Vermarc Sportswear Köln-Porz
104 Jörg Diener (Ger) Optik Delker Udo Bölts
105 Gerrit Henrich (Ger) RG Giant Frankfurt/M
106 Marco Kiritschenko (Ger) Wiesenhof SC DHfK Leipzig
107 Stefan Richter (Ger) ISPO Lotusan Cottbus
108 Marc Hug (Ger) German MTB Team
109 Jonathan Davis (Aus) Australian National Team
110 Timothy Reinhart (USA) US National Team
111 Miroslav Reitermann (Cze) PSK Remerx
112 Walker Ferguson (USA) US National Team
113 Diego Nosotti (Ita) Vellutex Zoccorinese
114 Konstantin Schubert (Ger) Optik Delker Udo Bölts
115 Jürgen Fraer (Ger) Hofbräuradler Stuttgart
116 Timo Honstein (Ger) Landesverband Berlin
117 Andreas Dotzauer (Ger) RG Giant Frankfurt/M
118 Michael Schweitzer (Ger) Vermarc Sportswear Köln-Porz
119 Johannes Sickmüller (Ger) German MTB Team
120 André Greipel (Ger) TEAG Team Köstritzer

General classification after stage 2

1 Christian Knees (Ger) Vermarc Sportswear Köln-Porz    5.59.12
2 Bas Giling (Ned) Rabobank Espoirs                        0.02
3 Mickail Timochin (Rus) Vellutex Zoccorinese              0.04
4 Pieter Weening (Ned) Rabobank Espoirs                    0.06
5 Tilo Schüler (Ger) RG GiantFrankfurt/M                   0.10
6 Theo Eltink (Ned) Rabobank Espoirs
7 Martin Schmid (Ger) Mapei Bayern
8 Thomas Ziegler (Ger) TEAG Team Köstritzer
9 Bernhard Kohl (Aut) Austrian National Team
10 Jonathan McCarty (USA) US National Team
11 William Frischkorn (USA) US National Team
12 Steffen Lockan (Ger) ISPO Lotusan Cottbus               0.31
13 Gregory Rast (Swi) Swiss National Team                  0.39
14 Jan Hollitzer (Ger) Optik Delker Udo Bölts              0.40
15 Daniel Musiol (Ger) Landesverband Berlin