Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Mont Ventoux
Photo ©: Sirotti

 UCI codes explained

Surrey League Revolutions Five Day - NE

Britain, August 16-20, 2002

Main Page     Results     Next Stage    

Stage 1 - August 16: Herstmonceux, 100.3 miles

Newton wins stage one

By Glyn Durrant

Chris Newton (GB 'B' Team) won the first stage of the Revolutions 5-Day race in Sussex with an explosive sprint finish.

In temperatures approaching the 90's, the field had eventually split into a number of groups on the road.

Newton was one of seven riders that had built a significant lead over the nearest chase group. The 'A' and 'B' British squads had been part of every breakaway attempt right from the first lap.

With three laps of a small circuit to go, the attempt by Rob Hurd (Peleton RT) to take maximum sprint points from Emile Abraham (Stoelmakerke), saw them gain a small advantage with Newton jumping across to the duo to build an unassailable lead over the break remnants policed by surprise entry Brad Wiggins (GB)

Last year's winner Paddy Moriarty (London Irish-JBC/The Vet. Centre) was cursed with the race number one and seemingly no assistance was given to the Dubliner when he was eventually caught in a group over three minutes down.

In the final sprint for the line, Newton crossed first to claim the Evans Cycles Leaders jersey. Hurd had won both KOM and Points jerseys and elected to wear the KOM version. Abraham wears the points jersey by virtue of his second position in the competition.


1 Chris Newton (GB 'B' Team)               4.12.20
2 Emile Abraham (stoelmakerke)
3 Rob Hurd (Peleton RT)
4 Bradley Wiggins (                   1.15
5 Andy Lyons (Parrot Print Stilton RT)
6 Rory Wyley (London Irish)
7 Rowan Horner (VC St Raphael)
8 Kristian House (GB 'A' Team)                2.18
9 Steve Cummings (GB 'B' Team)
10 Vincent Gleeson (Team Munster)             6.19
11 Roger Morgan (Liphook Cycles)
12 Martin O'Loughlin (Team Munster)
13 Sam Gardner (Evans RT)
14 James Williamson (Fastrack RT)
15 John Veness (Twickenham)
16 Tom Southam (GB 'A' Team)                  6.32
17 Jon Johnson (           6.58
18 Gary Dodd (Sigma Sport)                    8.36
19 Steve Gowar (Festival)
20 John Dempsey (Team Munster)
21 Sean Lacey (Team Munster)                  8.50
22 Dave Worthington (Prestige VC)
23 Matt Melville (VC St Raphael)
24 Simon Brooks (VC St Raphael)
25 Mark Kiernan (London Irish)
26 Bryan Steel (GB 'B' Team)
27 Richard Cartland (
28 Tony Gibb (GB 'A' Team)
29 Shaun Reed (Eastbourne)
30 Jez Cox (
32 Gavin Poupart (Parrot Print Stilton RT)
33 Bryan Rusche (Sigma Sport)
34 Marcus Brueton (Norwood Paragon)
35 Mark Scoular (Liphook Cycles)
36 Giles Henry Stogdon (Pearson Cycles)
37 Tim Buckle (GB 'B' Team)
38 Chris Spence (Caesarean Jersey)
39 Oscar Challis (Dulwich)
40 James Scoular (BCF PM)
41 Paddy Moriarty (London Irish)
42 Peter Murdoch (Avenir Cyclisme 23)
43 Paul Allen (Caesarean Jersey)             24.11
43 Dave Jardine (Caesarean Jersey)
43 Andrew Kitchen (Durham University)
43 Paul Crabbe (Deeside)
43 Phil West (GB 'A' Team)
43 Ben Clarke (GB 'A' Team)
43 Owyn Wallace (GB 'A' Team)
43 James Louter (In Gear RT)
43 Danny Axford (Parrot Print Stilton RT)
43 Steve Dring (Parrot Print Stilton RT)
43 Dean Shannon (Parrot Print Stilton RT)
43 Matt Starey (Pearson Cycles)
43 James Davies (Ribble Valley)
43 Dave Berkeley (Sigma Sport)
43 Timmy Barry (Team Munster)
43 Dan Mcewan (Twickenham)
43 Simon Mcnamara (
43 Mike Kiss (Somer Valley)
43 Richard Lewis (Peleton RT)
62 John Horgan (London Irish)                28.04
63 Nick Cheetham (Dulwich)                   29.34
64 Stuart Fahey (Brighton Mitre)             37.11
65 John Marion (Lea Valley)                  15.34
dnf Warrick Spence (Bikepark)
dnf Alistair Cann (Caesarean Jersey)
dnf John Wood (Finsbury Park)
dnf Paul Manning (GB 'B' Team)
1 Rob Hurd (Peleton RT)                         26
2 Emile Abraham (stoelmakerke)                  24
3 Chris Newton (GB 'B' Team)                    17
4 Andy Lyons (Parrot Print Stilton RT)           9
5 Bradley Wiggins (                      8
5 Tom Southam (GB 'A' Team)                      8
7 Rory Wyley (London Irish)                      6
8 Rowan Horner (VC St Raphael)                   5
9 Kristian House (GB 'A' Team)                   3
10 Steve Cummings (GB 'B' Team)                  2
11 Vincent Gleeson (Team Munster)                1
11 Roger Morgan (Liphook Cycles)                 1
1 Rob Hurd (Peleton RT)                         18
2 Andy Lyons (Parrot Print Stilton RT)          12
3 Tom Southam (GB 'A' Team)                     10
4 Bradley Wiggins (                      6
4 Roger Morgan (Liphook Cycles)                  6
6 Chris Newton (GB 'B' Team)                     4
6 Emile Abraham (stoelmakerke)                   4
6 Richard Cartland (              4
9 Peter Murdoch (Avenir Cyclisme 23)             3
10 John Veness (Twickenham)                      2
11 Rory Wyley (London Irish)                     1
11 Paddy Moriarty (London Irish)                 1