Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Bayern Rundfahrt
Photo ©: Schaaf

 UCI codes explained

City-Nacht Rhede - NE

Germany, August 2, 2002


Armstrong wins in Germany

Tour de France winner Lance Armstrong is enjoying a fairly hectic post-Tour criterium schedule, competing in Holland twice this week before racing on Friday night in the City-Nacht in Rhede, Germany. On Saturday he will ride the Karlsruher Versicherungs GP two man time trial with Floyd Landis, before flying out to New York for the New York City Cycling Championship on Sunday. Then it's straight back to Europe to prepare for the Clasica San Sebastian, which he won in 1995.

Tonight he thrilled a crowd of 40,000 fans in Rhede by winning the City Nacht criterium, raced over 70 laps of a 1.35 km course for a total of 96 km. After a very attacking race, Armstrong escaped with Levi Leipheimer (Rabobank), Rolf Aldag and Ralf Grabsch (Telekom), Andreas Beikirch (Team Cologne), Rudi Kemna (Bankgiroloterij) and Andreas Kappes (Team Holland - Südlohn). The seven riders built up a sizeable gap on the peloton, and stayed away to contest the sprint.

Armstrong was the first across the line (of course), followed by Leipheimer and Aldag, with the bunch coming in 10 seconds later led by David Kopp (Telekom).

In the derny race over 35 km, Rolf Aldag and Andreas Kappes combined to win ahead of Swiss pair Bruno Risi/Kurt Betschart and Ralf Grabsch/David Kopp.



Grand Prix Bitburger Bier Essing, 70 laps/96 km

1 Lance Armstrong (US Postal Service)         1.56.56 (49.25 km/h)
2 Levi Leipheimer (Rabobank)
3 Rolf Aldag (Team Deutsche Telekom)
4 Andreas Beikirch (Team Cologne)
5 Rudi Kemna (Bankgiroloterij)
6 Andreas Kappes (Team Hollad - Südlohn)
7 Ralf Grabsch (Team Deutsche Telekom)
8 David Kopp (Team Deutsche Telekom)             0.10
9 Dirk Siebert (Diana Leipzig)
10 Marcel Sieberg (Team Porz)
11 Rafael Chyla (Team BP - Köln)
12 Uwe Nepp (Team BP - Köln)
13 Bart Bouma (OWC Oldenzaal)
14 Frank Kwanten (Bert Story Piels)
15 Mario Bolz (Team Cologne)
16 Christoph von (Kleinsorgen Team Coast)
17 Erik Weispfennig (ERDGAS Team)
18 Rik Reinerink (Bankgiroloterij)
19 Christian Lademann (Wüstenrot)
20 Bruno Risi (Individuell)
21 L Geerdemann (Team Porz)
22 Knees Vermarc (Köln Bonn)
23 Lars Teutenberg (Team BP - Köln)
24 Steven Peters (Bert Story Piels)
25 Dirk Schumann (Team Nürnberger)
26 Carsten Podlesch (Team Wiesenhof)
27 Jason Phillips (VERMARC Köln Bonn)
28 Richard Faltus (AC Sparta Prag - Team BORGERS CS)
29 Martin Pacanka (AC Sparta Prag - Team BORGERS CS)
30 Kurt Betschard (Individuell)
31 Armin Kröniger (Team Nürnberger)
32 Vaclav Jelinek (AC Sparta Prag - Team BORGERS CS)
33 Roy Reuver (OWC Oldenzaal)

Derny Race

Grand-Prix Bauunternehmung Bernhard Resing, 25 laps/35 km

1 Rolf Aldag/Andreas Kappes                     44.23 (47.31 km/h)
2 Bruno Risi/Kurt Betschard
3 Ralf Grabsch/David Kopp
4 Rudi Kemna/Rik Reinerink
5 Wolfgang Oschwald/Lars Teutenberg
6 Christopher von Kleinsorgen/Christian Lademann
7 Steven Peters/Mathijs Loohuis
8 Bart Bouma/Peter Olde Dubbelink
9 Henry Rademakers/Arjan Ribbers

Junior U15

Grand Prix Kreissparkasse, 13 laps/18 km

1 Leon Schachter (Büttgen)                      25.04 (43.08 km/h)
2 Viktor Klass (Schwerte)
3 Jens Grewe (Münster)
4 Tim Gajewiak (Stadtlohn)
5 Ivo Dominick TV Attendorn
6 Tobias Wächter (Büttgen)
7 Sebastian Sydlik (Wuppertal)
8 Mark Kober (Dortmund - Brackel)
9 Dennis Klemme (Bielefeld)
10 Tomasz Miroslaw (Quadtrath)

Courtesy of Rene Penno