Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Mont Ventoux
Photo ©: Sirotti

 UCI codes explained

Irish Criterium championships - CN

Lurgan, August 16, 2002

Doyle wins Irish criterium championship in Lurgan

By Shane Stokes,

Dubliner Paul Doyle (Tile Choice Deeside) was the unexpected winner of the Irish Criterium Championship last night in Lurgan, outsprinting in-form rider Stephen O'Sullivan at the finale of the 46 lap race.

The two were part of an eight man group which went clear inside the first ten minutes of the hour long contest and combined to fend off the pursuit led by pre-race favourite David McCann, of the professional Volksbank Ideal squad.

As the bunch began to reel in the octet, O'Sullivan jumped away on lap 19 and was joined 12 laps later by Doyle; behind, McCann and Roger Aiken (Banbridge) succeeded in getting clear of the rest of the field but failed to make real inroads into the lead of those up front.

Doyle outsprinted O'Sullivan on the uphill drag to the line, while Aiken was quickest in his final tussle with McCann.

Report by Kay Howard

The All-Ireland Criterium Championship held in Lurgan attracted a quality field which included Irish Professional and former Irish Champion David McCann.

Racing was fast and furious on the 1km circuit right from the drop of the flag, with local rider John Bann Lavery from the promoting Clann Eireann Club setting a blistering pace on the opening lap. He was joined by five more riders and this group held a slim lead for the next 3 laps.

Just as this break was reeled in, a six man group went clear, Stephen 0'Sullivan, Roger Aiken, Simon Whelan, Andy Laythe, Aidan Crowley and Robert Looby, with the main field chasing and some powerful riding being done by McCann.

Then, at the head of affairs 0'Sullivan attacked and went clear on his own. After 10 laps out clear, he was joined by Paul Doyle from the Tile Choice Deeside club. These two riders worked extremely hard together and held off all challenges from behind.

At the finish line Doyle outsprinted 0'Sullivan with the bronze medal going to Roger Aiken (@10 seconds) in 3rd place and McCann claiming 4th place (at 16 seconds).


1 Paul Doyle (Tile Choice Deeside)           1.02.58
2 Stephen O'Sullivan (unattached)               0.01
3 Roger Aiken (Banbridge CC)                    0.10
4 David McCann  (Volksbank Ideal)               0.16
5 Aidan Crowley (Cycleways Lee Strand CC)       0.36
6 Simon Whelan (McNally Swords CC)              0.45
7 Craig Sweetman (Stamullen M Donnelly RC)
8 Paudi 0'Brien (Kanturk Credit Union)
9 K. MacMahon (Earl of Desmond)
10 A. Layhe (Apollo CRT)
11 G. Crory (Total
12 F. McCormack (Newbridge CC)