Recently on Cyclingnews.com

Mont Ventoux
Photo ©: Sirotti

GP Ouest France-Plouay - CDM & ProT

France, August 27-28, 2005

Strong line-up for Plouay

2004 winner Didier Rous
Photo ©: AFP Photo
Click for larger image

The next one day ProTour race will be the GP Ouest France in Plouay on August 28, a "new" entry into the late season classics program. Although it clashes with the start of the Vuelta a España, a strong line-up is predicted for the race, including ProTour leader Danilo Di Luca (Liquigas), Jan Ullrich and Alexandre Vinokourov (T-Mobile), and George Hincapie (Discovery Channel).

The 20 ProTour teams will be present, along with five invited squads: Ag2r-Prevoyance, Agritubel, RAGT, Naturino-Sapore di Mare, and Lanbouwkrediet-Colnago.

As well as the ProTour race, Plouay will also host a round of the women's World Cup on August 27.

Baguet out of Plouay

Belgian champion Serge Baguet will not race in the GP Ouest France in Plouay after injuring himself at home a week ago. "The race comes a bit too early for my heavily stitched shin, a souvenir of a fall from a stair on Saturday," he told Sportwereld.be. "On Tuesday, I'll start in the Schaal Sels in Merksem."

Fassa and Landbouwkrediet line-up for Plouay

Italian team Fassa Bortolo has announced its roster for the French GP Ouest-France-Plouay on August 28, 2005. The following riders will compete at the event: Paolo Bossoni, Massimo Codol, Claudio Corioni, Massimo Giunti, Andrej Hauptman, Kim Kirchen, Vincenzo Nibali and Kanstantsin Siutsou.

Belgian team Landbouwkrediet-Colnago has named the following riders for Plouay: Maxime Monfort, Steve Cummings, Gregory Habeaux, Jean-Paul Simon, Jurgen Van Loocke, Sven Renders, Ludovic Capelle, and Glenn D'hollander

Gerolsteiner for Plouay

German team Gerolsteiner has announced its line-up for the GP Plouay on Sunday. "Our focus lies on Davide (Rebellin) and Fabian (Wegmann)," said manager Hans-Michael Holczer before the race. "Marcus Zberg has been good in Plouay before, too," he added.

The following Gerolsteiner riders will start in Plouay on Sunday: Markus Fothen, Sven Krauss, Andrea Moletta, Davide Rebellin, Fabian Wegmann, Peter Wrolich, Beat and Markus Zberg.

Last-minute changes to Plouay line-up

The organisers have announced that Quick.Step's Filippo Pozzato will not be participating in the Grand Prix Ouest-France in Plouay, Brittany, on Sunday. German Patrik Sinkewitz will take the Italian's place.

Also not starting will be Bobby Julich (CSC), according to German website Radsportnews. The winner of Paris-Nice and Tour of Benelux did not give any reasons for his withdrawal.