Recently on Cyclingnews.com

Mont Ventoux
Photo ©: Sirotti

GP Ouest France-Plouay - 1.HC

France, August 29, 2004

Main Page    Results      Women's Race 

August 29: Men's Elite race

Rous returns in style

Team victory as La Boulangère plays its cards

By Chris Henry

Didier Rous
Photo ©: AFP Photo
Click for larger image

Former French national champion Didier Rous (Brioches La Boulangère) claimed victory in France's revered late-summer classic, the GP Ouest France-Plouay, outsprinting Serge Baguet (Lotto-Domo) and Guido Trentin (Cofidis) and a hard-charging group just seconds behind. Rous, a stage winner in the recent Tour du Limousin, is back to top form after a lacklustre Tour de France and continuing his team's winning ways, after successes in recent months by Jérôme Pineau, Sylvain Chavanel, and above all Thomas Voeckler.

After a series of threatening breakaways, Rous emerged among the leaders in the race finale after 14 laps of the tough Plouay circuit. Following an attack by Trentin on the final climb, it was Baguet first, then Rous who joined the move, creating a small but decisive split ahead of the chasers, led home by Danilo Hondo (Gerolsteiner). Baguet started the sprint but Rous was the man with the most left in his legs, passing for a narrow but triumphant victory.

The early break
Photo ©: AFP Photo
Click for larger image

For Brioches La Boulangère it was very much a team effort, as the team had riders in all the key moves. First it was Maryan Hary going in the first real escape, along with the likes of Christophe Le Mevel and Pierrick Fédrigo (Crédit Agricole), Frédéric Guesdon (FDJeux.com), Sebastian Lang (Gerolsteiner), and David Moncoutié. With little more than a minute in and over the fast-moving field, the junction was made two laps before the halfway mark.

A new group soon emerged, this time building a more substantial advantage. Walter Beneteau was La Boulangère's man of the moment, joining Christophe Agnolutto (Ag2r-Prévoyance), Nicolas Reynaud (RAGT Semences), Nicolas Vogondy (FDJeux.com), and Thomas Ziegler (Gerolsteiner). Their lead quickly reached nearly five minutes before a determined reaction came from the peloton, with Crédit Agricole and Cofidis having missed the move.

Didier Rous (Brioches La Boulangere)
Photo ©: AFP Photo
Click for larger image

Finally when this group was reeled in, the winning move was sparked by Trentin, Rous, Hondo, Vladimir Duma (Landbouwkrediet-Colnago), Nuno Ribeiro (LA-Pecol), and Giulio Tomi (Vini Caldirola). With three laps to go, the move was set, setting a scorching pace around the hilly Bretagne parcours. In the finale, up the final ascent of the Ty Marec, Trentin was first to take his chance. Hondo, the favoured sprinter in the group, hesitated and prompted Rous to make his counter. As Trentin began to fade, Baguet was next to go, but Rous was there immediately to take the sprint and a well-deserved win.


Images by Valery Hache/AFP Photo

Images by Régis Garnier/www.velofotopro.fr.st

Results - 198 km

1 Didier Rous (Fra) Brioches La Boulangere                     4.31.27
2 Serge Baguet (Bel) Lotto-Domo
3 Guido Trentin (Ita) Cofidis                                     0.02
4 Danilo Hondo (Ger) Gerolsteiner
5 Giulio Tomi (Ita) Vini Caldirola-Nobili Rubinetterie
6 Vladimir Duma (Ukr) Landbouwkrediet-Colnago
7 Patrick Calcagni (Swi) Vini Caldirola-Nobili Rubinetterie
8 Cédric Vasseur (Fra) Cofidis
9 Sergio Barbero (Ita) Lampre
10 Fabian Wegmann (Ger) Gerolsteiner
11 Jean-Cyril Robin (Fra) FDJeux.com
12 David Moncoutie (Fra) Cofidis
13 Florent Brard (Fra) Chocolade Jacques-Wincor Nixdorf           0.04
14 Nuno Ribeiro (Por) LA-Pecol                                    0.05
15 Roman Luhovyy (Ukr) RAGT Semences-MG Rover                     0.11
16 Jeremy Hunt (GBr) MrBookmaker.com-Palmans
17 Romans Vainsteins (Lat) Lampre
18 Geoffroy Lequatre (Fra) Credit Agricole
19 Paolo Bossoni (Ita) Lampre
20 Jérôme Pineau (Fra) Brioches La Boulangere
21 Paolo Longo Borghini (Ita) Vini Caldirola-Nobili Rubinetterie
22 Philippe Gilbert (Bel) FDJeux.com
23 Marco Cavallari (Ita) Vini Caldirola-Nobili Rubinetterie
24 Kevin Van Impe (Bel) Lotto-Domo
25 Christophe Mengin (Fra) FDJeux.com
26 Nicola Loda (Ita) Tenax
27 Pavel Brutt (Rus) Lokomotiv
28 Patrice Halgand (Fra) Credit Agricole
29 Giampaolo Cheula (Ita) Vini Caldirola-Nobili Rubinetterie
30 Zbigniew Piatek (Pol) Chocolade Jacques-Wincor Nixdorf
31 Walter Beneteau (Fra) Brioches La Boulangere
32 Unai Etxebarria (Ven) Euskaltel-Euskadi
33 Christophe Agnolutto (Fra) Ag2r-Prevoyance
34 Denys Kostyuk (Ukr) Chocolade Jacques-Wincor Nixdorf
35 Thomas Lövkvist (Swe) FDJeux.com
36 David Garcia Dapena (Spa) LA-Pecol
37 Christophe Rinero (Fra) RAGT Semences-MG Rover
38 Laurent Brochard (Fra) Ag2r-Prevoyance
39 Luis Pinheiro (Por) LA-Pecol
40 Yon Bru Pascal (Spa) LA-Pecol
41 Ruben Oarbeascoa (Spa) LA-Pecol
42 David Arroyo Duran (Spa) LA-Pecol
43 Mauricio Ardila (Col) Chocolade Jacques-Wincor Nixdorf
44 Anthony Geslin (Fra) Brioches La Boulangere
45 Johan Coenen (Bel) MrBookmaker.com-Palmans
46 Unaï Yus Kerejeta (Spa) Brioches La Boulangere
47 Sandy Casar (Fra) FDJeux.com
48 Giancarlo Ginestri (Ita) Tenax
49 Stéphane Goubert (Fra) Ag2r-Prevoyance
50 Maryan Hary (Fra) Brioches La Boulangere
51 Benoit Salmon (Fra) Credit Agricole
52 John Gadret (Fra) Chocolade Jacques-Wincor Nixdorf
53 Gianluca Bortolami (Ita) Lampre
54 Dmitriy Fofonov (Kaz) Cofidis
55 Lorenzo Bernucci (Ita) Landbouwkrediet-Colnago
56 Arnaud Coyot (Fra) Cofidis                                     0.39
57 Gabriele Bosisio (Ita) Tenax                                   0.44
58 Gianluca Tonetti (Ita) Tenax                                   0.47
59 Matthew White (Aus) Cofidis
60 Gorka Verdugo (Spa) Euskaltel-Euskadi
61 Pedro Andrade (Por) LA-Pecol
62 Franck Renier (Fra) Brioches La Boulangere
63 Alessandro Cortinovis (Ita) Lampre
64 Hans De Clercq (Bel) Lotto-Domo
65 Geert Verheyen (Bel) Chocolade Jacques-Wincor Nixdorf
66 Christophe Detilloux (Bel) Lotto-Domo
67 Christophe Oriol (Fra) Ag2r-Prevoyance
68 Andy Flickinger (Fra) Ag2r-Prevoyance
69 Inigo Landaluze (Spa) Euskaltel-Euskadi
70 Sébastien Joly (Fra) Credit Agricole
71 Mauro Zinetti (Ita) Vini Caldirola-Nobili Rubinetterie         1.31
72 Daniele Pietropolli (Ita) Tenax
73 David Mcpartland (Aus) Tenax
74 Volodymyr Bileka (Ukr) Landbouwkrediet-Colnago
75 Dmitriy Muravyev (Kaz) Credit Agricole
76 Nicolas Vogondy (Fra) FDJeux.com                               2.19
77 Peter Wrolich (Aut) Gerolsteiner                               2.55
78 Frédéric Gabriel (Fra) MrBookmaker.com-Palmans                 3.09
79 Björn Leukemans (Bel) MrBookmaker.com-Palmans
80 Kurt Van De Wouwer (Bel) MrBookmaker.com-Palmans
81 David Etxebarria (Spa) Euskaltel-Euskadi
82 Egoi Martinez (Spa) Euskaltel-Euskadi
83 Angel Castresana (Spa) MrBookmaker.com-Palmans                 9.26
84 Gorka Arrizabalaga (Spa) Euskaltel-Euskadi
85 Jens Renders (Bel) MrBookmaker.com-Palmans
86 Ief Verbrugghe (Bel) Lotto-Domo
87 Yuriy Krivtsov (Ukr) Ag2r-Prevoyance
88 Eric Berthou (Fra) RAGT Semences-MG Rover

Back to top