15,'min'=>10, 'refresh'=>500); // IN GMT $refresh[2]=array('hr'=>18,'min'=>00, 'refresh'=>400); // IN GMT $refresh[3]=array('hr'=>22,'min'=>00, 'refresh'=>0); // IN GMT //add new $refresh rows as you like in chronological order. Set refresh => 0 for no refresh line // foreach (array_keys($refresh) as $r) { // foreach not available in PHP3! Have to do it like this reset ($refresh); while (list(, $r) = each ($refresh)) { if (time() > gmmktime($r[hr], $r[min], 0, $m, $d, $y)) $delay=$r[refresh]; }; if ($delay) { return ("\n"); } else { return(''); }; }; ?>
Home  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   Cyclocross   Track   News   Photos    Feedback 

3rd Saturn Cycling Classic - NE

Boulder, USA, August 10, 2002

2001 Results     Preview    Course Map    Live coverage    Results    Start List     Past winners


Jonathan Vaughters primed to defend Saturn Cycling Classic title

Defending Saturn Cycling Classic champion Jonathan Vaughters has the chance to repeat the feat this Saturday, August 10, when more than 150 riders compete in the rugged 140 mile cycling endurance test from Boulder to the Rocky Mountain resort town of Breckenridge.

Vaughters, who will again be riding for The Handle Bar & Grill, will be racing against the likes of 2000 winner Scott Moninger (Mercury), National U23 Road Race Champion Will Frischkorn and Trent Klasna (Saturn), Kevin Livingston (George's/Lost River Cycling), John Lieswyn (7UP/Jittery Joe's), Danny Pate (Prime Alliance), and Polish climber Dariusz Wojciechowski (Sierra Nevada). Last year's runner up Chris Horner will not be competing due to a collarbone breakage.

"With Jonathan returning along with Will (Frischkorn) and Scott (Moninger), we should have another excellent race with several interesting duels over Guanella and Hoosier Passes," said Len Pettyjohn, race director. "Last year, Vaughters used his experience to catch the leaders on Guanella Pass and battled Horner all the way into Breckenridge. We expect the same level of competition this year."

Three-time Tour de France winner Greg LeMond will be the official starter for the Saturn Cycling Classic. LeMond, the first American to win the Tour de France and the World Cycling Championships, will lead the peloton from the starting line in Boulder at 9:20 am to the finish line in Breckenridge, Colorado at approximately 4:00 pm.

The Saturn Cycling Classic from Boulder to Breckenridge will negotiate seven mountain passes, reaching altitudes over 11,500 feet. Racing starts at 9:20am local time (11:20 EDT/17:20 CEST (Europe)/01:20 EST (Australia East)), and will be covered live on Cyclingnews.com from start to finish.

More information: www.saturncyclingclassic.com

Start list

Handle Bar & Grill                    Mercury
1 Jonathan Vaughters (USA)            11 Scott Moninger (USA)
2 Rishi Grewal (USA)                  12 Chris Wherry (USA)
3 Tinker Juarez (USA)                 13 Tom Danielson (USA)
4 Tomas Adamac (USA)                  14 Jesus Zarate (Mex)
5 Jose Adrian Bonilla (CRc)           15 Henk Vogels (Aus)
6 Michael Brown (USA)                 16 Plamen Stoyanov (Bul)
7 Mike Carter (USA)                   17 Phil Zajicek (USA)
8 Adam Craig (USA)
9 Nick Waite (USA)
10 Driber Esquivel (CRc)
Prime Alliance                        Saturn Cycling Team
21 Danny Pate (USA)                   31 Damon Kluck (USA)
22 Michael Creed (USA)                32 Will Frischkorn (USA)
23 Matt DeCanio (USA)                 33 Christopher Fisher (USA)
24 Alex Candelario (USA)              34 Tim Johnson (USA)
25 Russell Stevenson (USA)            35 Soren Peterson (Den)
26 John Peters (USA)                  36 Trent Klasna (USA)
                                      37 Harm Jansen (Ned)
Tokyo Joe's                           Jittery Joe's/7-UP
41 Jeremy Horgan-Kobelski (USA)       51 Dirk Friel (USA)
42 Carl Swenson (USA)                 52 Mike Ley (USA)
43 Walker Ferguson (USA)              53 Cesaar Grajales Calle (Col)
44 Skyler Reeves (USA)                54 Jacob Rosenbarger (USA)
45 Mike Janelle (USA)                 55 Clark Sheehan (USA)
46 Jimi Mortenson (USA)               56 John Lieswyn (USA)
47 Marc Gullickson (USA)              57 Chuck Coyle (USA)
48 Todd Wells (USA)
49 Matt Pachoka (USA)
Navigators                            Trek/Volkswagon - New Belgium
61 Burke Swindlehurst (USA)           71 Travis Brown (USA)
62 Chris Baldwin (USA)                72 Dave Aschwanden (USA)
63 Glen Mitchell (NZl)                73 Chris Brennan (USA)
64 Ed Beamon (USA)                    74 Nathan Busch (USA)
65 Ryan Guay (USA)                    75 Jeff Hartmann (USA)
                                      76 Andrew Miller (USA)
                                      77 Jeff Pink (USA)
                                      78 Evan Ruzanski (USA)
                                      79 Mark Southard (USA)
                                      80 Jon Stierwalt (USA)
Sierra Nevada                         Excel Sports
81 Eddy Gragus (USA)                  91 Gregory Ask (USA)
82 Dariuz Wojciechowski (Pol)         92 Andrew Bajadali (USA)
83 Andy Jacques-Maynes (USA)          93 Fred Gluck (USA)
84 Ben Jacques-Maynes (USA)           94 Charlie Hayes (USA)
85 Troy White (USA)                   95 Billy Masterson (USA)
86 Chris McGovern (USA)               96 Mark Schwab (USA)
George's/Lost River Cycling           Schwab Cycles/Torelli
101 Kevin Livingston (USA)            111 Cameron Hughes (Aus)
102 Richard Rodriguez (USA)           112 Karl Kiester (USA)
103 Joby Siciliano (USA)              113 Robbie King (USA)
104 Matson Tew (USA)                  114 Derrick Nickel (USA)
105 Michael Tobin (USA)               115 Lew Perna (USA)
106 Zachery Vestal (USA)              116 Hugo Pradoneto (USA)
107 Cody Waite (USA)                  117 Ian Prichard (USA)
                                      118 Barkley Robinson (USA)
                                      119 Ang Sheldrake (USA)
Vitamin Cottage/Morgal Bismark        Al's Barber Shop/Hinds
121 Steve Crowley (USA)               131 Frank Overton (USA)
122 Joey Pinkerton (USA)              132 Jim Mohan (USA)
123 Mason Rickard (USA)               133 Eric Nussbaumer (USA)
124 Mike Rosaasen (USA)               134 Jeff Wardell (USA)
125 Brian Todeschini (USA)            135 Patrick Sullivan (USA)
126 Jon Tarkington (USA)              136 Jan Neal (USA)
PedalHome.com/Rogue Wheels            Rio Grande
141 Danny Sullivan (USA)              151 Kevin Nicol (USA)
142 Dan DePaemelaere (USA)            152 Micah Martin (USA)
143 Aaron Small (USA)                 153 Thad Stocker (USA)
144 Mike Kingery (USA)
145 Mitch Moreman (USA)

Past winners


2001 Jonathan Vaughters (USA) Handle Bar & Grill 
2000 Scott Moninger (USA) Mercury


2001 Dede Demet-Barry (USA) Energy Bar/Olbas
2000 Nicole Reinhart (USA) Saturn