Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Dauphiné Libéré
Photo ©: Sirotti

 UCI codes explained

Results & reports from the UK

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to Cyclingnews

Untitled Document

Surry league #1
Eddy Soens memorial
Surry league #2
Surry league festival




Kingston Wheelers Cycling Club

Gil Jessop Memorial Time Trial - Surrey, UK, February 13, 2005

Hail and heavy rain just minutes prior to the first rider setting off made riding conditions difficult for the Gil Jessop Memorial time trial. The event was promoted by Kingston Wheelers CC in association with After a brief snow shower conditions settled, however, and two laps of the 6.5 mile Hungry Hill course (GS/292) near Ripley in Surrey still proved a tough test with a long false flat from the start.

Last man off, Ben Instone (a3crg/Bikedoc), recorded a time of 32.09 to win the event. Sixth in the 2004 event, Instone showed excellent form to win by over 1.5 minutes from Stewart Jardine (21st Century Airports RT). "This is the first year I have done any training," said Instone afterwards "and with the help of my coach Aurial Forester I hope this will be a great year for me." Second place rider Jardine (33.43 minutes) improved on his fourth spot last year and was pleased to be back on the podium. "I felt good on the first lap but on the second lap I started to get cold and lost a bit of momentum" said Jardine, who rode to the event as a warm-up.

Stephen Emmerson (Epsom CC) claimed the final podium spot in a time of 33.54, just 11 seconds behind second place. Tim Bayley (Arctic Shorter RT) claimed fourth spot in 33.58, but was hampered by an early start time. Reg Smith (Team Chevin Cycles) finished in joint sixth place and took the veteran's prize in 35.15. Four entrants competed for the ladies prize, taken by Tamar Collis of Addiscombe CC in 40.48. Hounslow & District Wheelers, despite not registering a top ten individual rider, rode consistently to beat eight other teams to the team prize in a combined time of 1:49.03.

Event organiser Peter Anderson was impressed by Instone's winning time of 32.09. The last time the event was held on the Hungry Hill course the event was won by hill-climb supremo Jim Henderson in a time of 33.11, albeit on a course that was 200 yards longer. Anderson also acknowledged the continuing support of OTM in helping to make the event a popular season-opener for many riders in the South-East.


1 Ben Instone (A3CRG)                          32.09
2 Stewart Jardine (21st Century Airports RT)    1.34
3 Stephen Emmerson (Epsom CC)                   1.44
4 Tim Bayley (Arctic Shorter RT)                1.49
5 Lee Chaplin (Twickenham CC/Evans)             2.16
6 Reg Smith (Team Chevin Cycles)                3.06
6 Frederick Schwarz (Addiscombe CC)                 
8 Russell Painter (Norwood Paragon)             3.13
9 Duncan Murdoch (Redmon CC)                    3.16
10 James Beaumont (Kingston Wheelers)           3.29

Local results 2004