Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Giro finale
Photo ©: Bettini

 UCI codes explained

Results & reports from the UK

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to Cyclingnews

Untitled Document

Surry league #1
Eddy Soens memorial
Surry league #2
Surry league festival




Ingliston Crit Series #4

May 8, 2003

Oliphant rockets to top of Ingliston Crit Series

By Neil Muir

Scottish Under-23 international Evan Oliphant (Velo Ecosse), fresh from his multi gold-medal performance in the British Student Track Championships, went to the top of the Ingliston Premier League in style, winning not only both sprints and the race, but also taking over as King of the Sprints. On a dry, bright and breezy evening he got the better of his five breakaway companions, leading out the sprint and winning easily by a bike length from Ken Russell (Edinburgh Road Club) and Calum McGregor (GS Modena).

As usual, hostilities started early with Matt Smith (Edinburgh Road Club) and Ray Reidy (Pro Acta Expressa) going clear and opening a 9 second gap on the second lap. Oliphant, and David Lines (Pedal Power) took up the chase on the following lap with Russell in attendance. As the five came together, McGregor spotted the danger and got clear of the bunch with yet another Edinburgh Road Club rider, Richard Garrett. After chasing for over a lap McGregor made contact but Garrett was unable to sustain the pace and dropped back to the chasing bunch. Despite his efforts McGregor had enough in the legs to take second in the first sprint prime behind the flying Oliphant with the bunch at 11 seconds.

Next to attempt to escape the bunch was Gary Macrae (Pro Acta Expressa) with Garrett again trying his hand. Riding strongly together they closed to within 6 seconds of the leaders with the bunch a further 10 seconds in arrears. However with good cohesion in the break, the pair gradually lost time though maintaining their lead on the peloton which had fallen back to 27 seconds behind the leaders.

The pace in the break picked up for the second sprint points which were taken by Oliphant, McGregor and Russell and this injection of speed not only split the break in two but further distanced the chasing duo with the bunch back at 43 seconds. Smith punctured in dramatic fashion in the chasing trio and after taking a lap out for service managed to join the leaders but with 5 laps to go he had dropped back to the chasers at 8 seconds. With four to go Russell attacked from the leading trio but the ever-vigilant Oliphant brought them all back together. No one wanted to take up the lead and as the pace eased the chasing three made contact. This made two Edinburgh Road Club riders in the break and in textbook fashion Smith immediately put in an attack but he was quickly closed down.

After a valiant but futile effort in no man's land Garrett and McCrae were caught by the bunch with only 3 laps to go. The break had time to spare and with everyone watching each other there were no further fireworks until Oliphant lit the blue touch paper coming off the final bend to scorch to a comfortable win. Herbie Hughes (Edinburgh Road Club) led in the bunch some 25 seconds later. Oliphant now leads the table with 136 pints from Russell (113) and McGregor (106).

In the First Division, series leader Shaun Rhodes was absent and this allowed Edinburgh Road Club team-mate Martin Ross to take over as series leader despite his finishing only third in the bunch gallop. Series sponsor Pete Lambie took his second win of the year in the closest of finishes from lively Tony Reidy (Pro Acta Expressa). Ross leads the table with 155 points with Lambie moving up to second spot on 141, and Rhodes holding onto third on 129.


1 Evan Oliphant (Velo Ecosse)
2 Ken Russell (Edinburgh Road Club)
3 Calum McGregor (GS Modena)
4 David Lines (Pedal Power)
5 Ray Reidy (Pro Acta Expressa)
6 Matt Smith (Edinburgh Road Club)           0.01
7 Herbie Hughes (Edinburgh Road Club)        0.25
8 Graham Barclay (Kirkcaldy & District CC)
9 Sean Newington (Edinburgh Road Club)
10 Gary Macrae (Pro Acta Expressa)
First Division
1 Pete Lambie (Kingdom RT)
2 Tony Reidy (Pro Acta Expressa)
3 Martin Ross (Edinburgh road Club)
4 Lewis Oliphant (Wick Wheelers)
5 Simon Peachey (Edinburgh Road Club)
6 Paul Gallagher (Kingdom Rt)
7 Colin Fergus (Unattached)
8 John Grant (Kingdom RT)
9 Chris Paton (Edinburgh RC)
10 Colin Russell (Edinburgh RC)
Women: Kate Cullen (COERC)
Junior: Chris Paton (Edinburgh RC)
Youth: Tony Reidy (Pro Acta Expressa) 

Previous results from the UK