Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Dauphiné Libéré
Photo ©: Sirotti

 UCI codes explained

Results and Reports from Singapore

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to Cyclingnews

Singapore Teams Time Trial


Singapore Expo Criterium

April 6, 2003

By Kerrie Crisp

Bright sunny skies and humid conditions marked the Singapore Amateur Cycling Association's (SACA) criterium. The short and winding Singapore Expo circuit was great for spectators and riders alike - the roads smooth, safe and well controlled. Due to the SARS outbreak, junior racing was cancelled, however strong fields in other categories made for some fast and exciting road racing.U

No signs of SARS here!
Photo: © Bob Hwang
Click for larger image

Vets division - Sharman out sprints Holmes

The bunch jumped hard from the gun, with the big Swede, Bo Kratz (ANZASCG) leading out a small breakaway before the first roundabout. The mostly ANZA break eventually fell back to the main bunch, leaving Sharman and Holmes (ANZASCG) to fight it out on the front. Sharman, current Australian masters pursuit champ, had the grunt but was slower round the slightly technical corners. Holmes planned to take advantage of his cornering skills in the final few turns but was caught napping when Sharman surged on the back straight and came into the home stretch clear. Holmes chased but was unable to close the gap in those final few metres.

The bright gold and black jerseys of the ANZA club worked consistently but aimed at blocking for their man in the break. At the final lap, they marshaled themselves to fight out for the minor placings. Holden (ANZASCG) an ex Melbourne trackie, was using his skills to position himself for the kill but in the final 50 metres, pulled a foot to limp home in 5th. The sprint for third was timed beautifully by last months winner, Bernard Chua (Shroders), with Mohammad Nazzeer (Geylang - Cannondale) bursting out of the bunch for 4th place. (Competition leader: Bernard Chua)

Ladies division - Crisp leads throughout

Disappointing numbers meant that the ladies started with the vet men. The early pace called for some hard work and sharp wits, the girls just trying to stay safe but unable to influence any part of the race. Crisp (ANZASCG) led from the start, preferring to work in with the top ten men and stay out of trouble. Lim (Geylang - Cannondale) and Suseanty followed but were content to stay behind and let the race unfold. Crisp was handily placed going into the final corner and was led out by Coghlan (ANZASCG Vet) to take 1st place. Suseanty sprinted home for 2nd with Lim 3rd. (Competition Leader: - Kerrie Crisp)

Mens open - Yang's sprint timed well

It was another fast start with the small gaps being chased down quickly. A break by Swallow was bridged by Seah Teck Wee and Scott Kor (both of Geylang - Cannondale) and the trio worked well together for a number of laps. The strong chase pack reeled them back with half an hour left to race. A crash took some of the impetus out of the pack, and the pace slowed dramatically. A few of the less dangerous riders were allowed to ride off the front, but did not present any concerns and were brought back in after hanging out to dry for a couple of laps.

The final lap saw a charge for position into the final two right hand turns. Swallow led out with competition leader, Samuel Yang (Liquid Element) on his wheel. Swallow ran out of steam and Yang came off the wheel with 50 meters to go to clinch the sprint and consolidate his position as competition leader. Seah Teck Wee, Colin Pearson (ANZASCG) and Per Stromblad figured consistently throughout the race and were handy in the end to take 3rd, 4th and 5th respectively.

Mens sport - Early break stays away

Temperatures were climbing and a strengthening head wind in the back straight greeted the 40 riders in the sport category. Again, the pace was on early with breakaway attempts from the start. Various attempts to stay away by Teams Scott, Ascenders, Absolute and Cycleworx were short lived but served to keep the pace high. Independent rider Kale Buonerba also instigated a number of break attempts however at the half way mark, Rodalink's Mohd Fadzli attacked in the home straight, opening up a useful gap. He was joined by Buonerba, John Clark (Cycleworx), Jeffrey Lee (Cycleworx), Bruce Garretson, Darren (Absolute) and Melvin Sieow (Liquid Elements). The seven worked to increase the gap on the chase bunch.

The bunch called it a day and gave up the medal chase, leaving 6 riders in the breakaway to fight it out. Relentless but unsuccessful attacks by Buonerba, Fadzli and Clark continued until the main field was lapped. Newcomer Sieow attacked in the final back straight, catching the more experience d riders napping. They counted on him blowing up, however, he led into the final corner and sprinted again. Buonerba chased hard but was unable to head off Sieow. Lee sat Clarks wheel until the final few meters and came around for 3rd. Fadzli also jumped around for 4th, with a disappointed Clark 5th. (Competition leader: Kale Buonerba).


Images by Bob Hwang


1 Cas Brentjens
2 Mohd Fadzli
3 Ben Cher
4 Terence Low
5 Mohd Razali
1 Peter Sharman
2 Bradley Holmes
3 Bernard Chua
4 Mohd Nazzeer
5 Brian Holden
Open Women
1 Kerrie Crisp
2 Risa Suseanty
3 Sarah Lim
Open Men
1 Samuel Yang
2 Nick Swallow
3 Seah Teck Wee
4 Colin Pearson
5 Per Stromblad
1 Melvin Sieow
2 Kale Buonerba
3 Jeffrey Lee
4 Mohd Fadzli
5 John Clark