Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Mont Ventoux
Photo ©: Sirotti

 UCI codes explained

Results and Reports from Ireland

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to cyclingnews

Bray GP




Jim Traynor Memorial

Woodgreen circuit, September 16, 2003

Evans set for new 10 mile TT record

Former Irish record-holder Tommy Evans looks set to reclaim his place at the top after a scorching ride in the Jim Traynor Memorial ten-mile time trial tonight. The Lindsay Ford rider stormed the distance at an average speed of over thirty miles per hour to record a time of 19 minutes and 23 seconds, 15 seconds better than the record set two years ago by fellow northern rider David McCann.

Evans' time will have to be ratified by Cycling Ireland before the time is officially confirmed, but it is highly unlikely that there will be any problems. It had been announced beforehand that he was aiming to set a new ten-mile standard and all the officials will have been in place.

The perfect conditions also saw other competitors record fast times. Classic Walls rider Jonathon Dempsey did 20 minutes 46 seconds to take second, while Aaron Deane ( Ford) was third, in a time of 21 minutes and 8 seconds. Four other riders went under the 22 minute mark.

Phoenix CC's Cheryl Fisher won the women's event with a fine 23 minutes 36 seconds, despite being a relative newcomer to racing. Tonight's event was held in memory of race official and journalist Jim Traynor, who passed away suddenly a week and a half ago.

Results, 10 mile ITT

1 Tommy Evans ( Ford)         19.23
2 J. Dempsey (Classic Walls)                           1.23
3 A. Deane ( Ford)             1.45
4 W. Hamilton (East Antrim Audi)                       1.52
5 R. Aiken (Banbridge CC)                              2.10
6 T. McConville (Apollo)                               2.21
7 A. McDermott ( Ford)         2.36
8 M. Holland (McQuaid Tyres Emyvale)                   2.56
9 B. McCourt (Phoenix CC)                              2.57
10 J. Taylor (Apollo)                                  3.21
* new record subject to ratification
First woman: Cheryl Fisher (Phoenix CC) - 23.36 

Previous results from Ireland