Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Mt Hood Classic
Photo ©: Swift

 UCI codes explained

Results and Reports from Ireland

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to cyclingnews

Bray GP




All Ireland Veterans Road Race Championship

September 14 2003

Bracken takes national veterans title

By Shane Stokes

Usher IRC rider Sean Bracken took his third consecutive National Veterans Road Race championship title at Nutts Corner today attacking a group containing the other race favourites on the final lap. He extended his lead all the way to the line winning comfortably by 57 seconds from Norman Cambell. St. Finbarr's rider Kevin O'Leary won the six-man sprint which decided the bronze medal. Bracken's Usher IRC team-mate Hugh Davis finished the fifty mile race in tenth place and with Paddy Davis also in the main bunch the Dublin squad took the team prize.

The day's action began with an attack shortly after the drop of the flag which saw local riders Jim Dill (East Antrim Audi) and Vincent Tubridy (Slane Cycles) open a one minute lead over the field. Two chasing groups set out in pursuit and between them closed up to the leaders at the halfway point. Present in this breakaway were Bracken Campbell O'Leary Brendan Graham (Total Cycling) Kenny Boylan (Lakeland CC) Jim McConnell (East Antrim-Audi),Terry Ferris (Dublin Wheelers) Anthony MacMahon (McNally Swords ) and Sean McIlroy (Carrick Cidona) plus Dill and Tubridy. Dill's presence was short lived however as he punctured out of the break and failed to regain contact.

Although this group contained many of the big hitters a furious chase led by the Phoenix squad saw the gap to the main field come down to just twenty seconds. That prompted a response from the break which drew away again before Bracken made his winning move. He coasted to a comfortable victory ahead of Campbell with O'Leary out-kicking Graham Ferris and Tubridy to net bronze.

In addition to their win and team prize award there was further success for the Usher IRC team at the final round of Cycling Ireland's Classic League today. Mick Mulcahy took what was probably his biggest ever win when he triumphed at the end of the Matthew Corcoran memorial in Naas finishing 49 seconds clear of David 0'Loughlin (Ofoto Lombardi) and Crannog Ireland's Conor Murphy at the end of the 80 mile event. These three riders had gone clear with Cycleways Lee Strand's Stephen O'Sullivan with two laps remaining of the 5 lap 80 mile race and opened up a decisive lead. Mulcahy made his move on the final lap racing clear to a fine win with O'Loughlin out-sprinting Murphy. O'Sullivan had slipped back but held on take fourth with Usher IRC team-mates David Peelo and Sean Bracken plus the Dublin Wheelers rider Andrew Donnelan next across the line.

Results, 50 miles

1 Sean Bracken (Usher Irish Road Club)     2.06.17
2 N. Campbell (unattached)                    0.57
3 K. O'Leary (St. Finbars)                    1.20
4 B. Graham (
5 T. Ferris (Dublin Wheelers)
6 V. Tubridy (Slane Cycles)
7 J. McConnell (East Antrim-Audi)
8 K. Boylan (Lakeland CC)
9 S. McIlroy (Cidona Carrick Wheelers)        1.50
10 H. Davis (Usher IRC)                       2.15
Team: Usher Irish Road Club (S.Bracken, H.Davis, S.Davis) 

Previous results from Ireland